Workshop for Women

The Singing Project. The Tao of the Voice

By Ayumi Paul

Ayumi Paul invites participants to come together to practice breathing and singing techniques. Following the workshop, the voices of the participants merge into one singing sculpture that is presented in the Gropius Bau atrium, which the public are invited to join in with.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In German or English

Past Dates

This workshop is open to all women.

The workshop focuses on the Tao of the voice. Through joint unlearning, learning and the practicing of being in relationship with one another, new sound worlds emerge.

The Singing Project is an ever-changing singing sculpture that has been unfolding in the Gropius Bau since August 2021, becoming a singing network across space and time. In preparation for The Singing Project, Ayumi Paul studied singing traditions ranging from opera, the Tao of voice and polyphonic overtones to healing techniques and historical and mythological approaches to passing down ritual songs. By combining what she learns and weaving it together with her own intuitive practice, she generates a flexible singing method rooted in the female voice and in collective learning processes.

The workshop was developed by Ayumi Paul in collaboration with Tao practitioner Canan Kınalı.

Ayumi Paul is a Berlin-based artist, who works with composition, performance and installation. She studied classical violin at the Hanns Eisler School of Music in Berlin and Indiana University in the United States. In 2021 she was granted a residency at Villa Massimo in Rome.

Canan Kınalı is a Berlin-based Tao instructor and Reiki practitioner. She has trained internationally in several aspects of this field. In her workshops she focuses on the connection between spirituality and nature.

Workshop für Frauen

The Singing Project. Das Tao der Stimme

Von Ayumi Paul

Ayumi Paul lädt zum gemeinsamen Üben von Atem- und Gesangstechniken ein. Im Anschluss an den Workshop bilden die Stimmen der Teilnehmerinnen eine singende Skulptur im Lichthof des Gropius Bau. Das Publikum ist eingeladen, sich der Performance anzuschließen. Der Workshop ist offen für alle Frauen.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Dieser Workshop ist offen für alle Frauen.

Dieser Workshop erkundet das Tao der Stimme. Durch das gemeinsame Verlernen, Lernen und Üben des Miteinanders entstehen neue Klangwelten.

The Singing Project ist eine sich ständig neu formende singende Skulptur, die sich seit August 2021 im Gropius Bau entfaltet. Sie wird dadurch zu einem raum- und zeitübergreifenden singenden Netzwerk. Als Vorbereitung zu The Singing Project befasste sich Ayumi Paul mit verschiedenen Gesangstraditionen – vom Operngesang, über das Tao der Stimme und Obertongesänge bis hin zu Heilungsmethoden und historisch-mythologischen Überlieferungen von Gesangsritualen. Das Gelernte verwebt sie mit ihrer eigenen intuitiven Praxis. Dabei entsteht eine Gesangsmethode, die in Bewegung bleibt und die in der weiblichen Stimme und kollektiven Lernprozessen verwurzelt ist.

Der Workshop wurde von Ayumi Paul in Zusammenarbeit mit der Tao-Praktizierenden Canan Kınalı konzipiert.

Ayumi Paul ist bildende Künstlerin und arbeitet in den Bereichen Komposition, Performance und Installation. Sie wurde an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin und an der Indiana University in den USA als klassische Violinistin ausgebildet. 2021 ist sie Stipendiatin an der Villa Massimo in Rom.

Canan Kınalı ist eine Berliner Tao-Lehrerin und Reiki-Meisterin. Sie wurde in verschiedenen Bereichen dieses Felds international ausgebildet. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Workshops ist die Verbindung von Spiritualität und Natur.