Speed Dating

Radical Attention

Embodied Exchange in the Moment

This event creates choreographed encounters that bring together strangers from different contexts and perspectives. Shaped by Julia Grosse and Pablo Santacana López, they invite participants to pay radical attention to each other through several one-to-one conversations.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In German and English

Past Dates

What happens when we talk to strangers? Julia Bell’s 2020 book Radical Attention states, “thanks to the effects of the climate crisis and the coronavirus pandemic, we are remembering, that we are primarily bodies in an organic world.” Taking this idea as a starting point, this session protests against the virtualisation of our bodies to ask how art institutions like the Gropius Bau can be spaces in which we feel invited to pay radical attention to each other. It acknowledges the limited social interactions that have resulted from the COVID-19 pandemic, narrowing our radius of life. The session dissolves hierarchies to foster conversations between people from different contexts with different perspectives, enabling embodied exchange in the moment: How are you? How are we?

Radical Attention was developed by Julia Grosse and Pablo Santacana López.

Julia Grosse (moderator) is co-founder and artistic director of Contemporary And (C&) and Associate Curator at the Gropius Bau. She is a lecturer at the Institute for Art in Context at the University of the Arts in Berlin. In 2020 (together with Yvette Mutumba) she was winner of the prize “European Cultural Manager of the Year”.

Pablo Santacana López is an independent artist and researcher based between Berlin and Madrid, and a co-founder of the art collective Vendedores de Humo. He is currently writing his dissertation as part of the DFG Research Group “Identity and Heritage” in Weimar.

Speed Dating

Radikale Aufmerksamkeit

Verkörperter Austausch im Moment

Bei dieser Veranstaltung treffen Menschen aus verschiedenen Bereichen und mit unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln aufeinander. Julia Grosse und Pablo Santacana López laden die Teilnehmende, die sich nicht kennen, dazu ein, sich in Zweiergesprächen radikale Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung
  • In deutscher und englischer Sprache

Was passiert, wenn wir mit Menschen sprechen, die wir nicht kennen? In ihrem Buch Radical Attention (2020) schreibt Julia Bell: „[...] durch die Folgen der Klimakrise und der Corona-Pandemie erinnern wir uns wieder, dass wir in erster Linie Körper in einer organischen Welt sind.“ Daran anknüpfend ist diese Veranstaltung ein Protest dagegen, dass wir uns zunehmend im digitalen Raum begegnen. Dabei steht zur Diskussion, wie Kunstinstitutionen wie der Gropius Bau zu Orten werden können, die uns dazu einladen einander radikale Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken. Wir wollen uns vor Augen führen, wie die COVID-19-Pandemie unsere sozialen Kontakte beschränkt und unser Leben eingeengt hat. Wir lösen Hierarchien auf und ermöglichen Gespräche zwischen Menschen aus verschiedenen Kontexten und mit unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln. Dadurch entfaltet sich ein Austausch im Augenblick: Wie geht es dir? Wie geht es uns?

Radikale Aufmerksamkeit wurde von Julia Grosse und Pablo Santacana López entwickelt.

Julia Grosse (Moderation) ist Mitbegründerin und künstlerische Leiterin von Contemporary And (C&) und assoziierte Kuratorin im Gropius Bau. Sie arbeitet als Dozentin am Institut für Kunst im Kontext an der Universität der Künste Berlin. 2020 erhielt sie (zusammen mit Yvette Mutumba) den Preis „European Cultural Manager of the Year“.

Pablo Santacana López ist freier Künstler und Forscher, der in Berlin und Madrid lebt. Er ist Mitbegründer des Kunstkollektivs Vendedores de Humo. Er promoviert derzeit im Rahmen des DFG-Graduiertenkollegs „Identität und Erbe“ in Weimar.