Talk and Conversation

I Don’t Understand You. About the Impossibility of Decolonisation

With Francisco Godoy Vega and Brook Andrew

Decolonisation has become a buzzword. In this talk, researcher Francisco Godoy Vega takes a personal approach to this concept and recounts his childhood in Chile’s post-dictatorship years from 1990 onwards.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In English; Speech-to-text

Past Dates

“When I was a little boy, my father would not cross the landmark of Plaza Italia uptown. It represented an invisible border in the urban area of Santiago. I, in my aspirational adolescence during Chile’s post-dictatorship era, just wanted to go uptown past Plaza Italia. Plaza Italia and above is where the wealthy white Spanish/European colonial descendants live; below that landmark the racialised and impoverished live. In this local example we find the world’s foundational racial and economic dividing line reproduced, which forms the basis of Eurocentric modernity.” — Francisco Godoy Vega

Francisco Godoy Vega reflects on the decolonial and the survival of the non-heteronormative, non-white and non-Christian bodies, from the context of his childhood memories and where he finds the world today. He touches upon questions including, is it really possible to decolonise the self, the common, the institutions, the nation-states? Who is decolonising whom? Who needs to understand whom? Is it possible to decolonise without violence? Which memories are alive today to reconnect with the processes of decolonisation? Who is hurt by decolonisation and who is freed?

Francisco Godoy Vega is a QPOC writer, artist and curator based in Madrid. He has a PhD in Art History and Visual Culture and is member of Colectivo Ayllu. He has published books including Exhibition as Recolonization (2018) and has curated exhibitions such as All Shades of Anger at Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León, Spain (2018).

Brook Garru Andrew (moderator) is an Australian Wiradjuri artist, curator and scholar. His practice imagines alternative futures and challenges limitations imposed by ongoing colonial actions to re-centre Indigenous ways of being. He is co-curator of a group show on caring, repairing and healing which will be presented at the Gropius Bau in 2022.

Vortrag und Gespräch

Ich verstehe dich nicht. Über die Unmöglichkeit der Dekolonisation

Mit Francisco Godoy Vega und Brook Andrew

Dekolonisation ist zum Schlagwort geworden. In diesem Vortrag nähert sich der Forscher Francisco Godoy Vega diesem Thema über persönliche Erfahrungen. Er erzählt von seiner Kindheit in Chile in der Zeit nach der Diktatur während der 1990er Jahre.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

„Als ich ein kleiner Junge war, wollte mein Vater nie den Plaza Italia zum Nordteil der Stadt überqueren. Es war eine unsichtbare Grenze mitten in Santiago. In meinem jugendlichen Übermut wollte ich nichts anderes, als über den Plaza Italia nach Norden zu gehen. Am Plaza Italia und nördlich davon leben die reichen Nachkommen der weißen spanisch-europäischen Kolonialelite; südlich davon leben die Rassifizierten und Verarmten. Dieses lokale Beispiel steht für die globale ökonomische und rassifizierte Grenze, die die Grundlage der eurozentrischen Moderne bildet.“ — Francisco Godoy Vega

Francisco Godoy Vega spricht über den Begriff des Dekolonialen und das Überleben von nicht-heteronormativen, nicht-weißen und nicht-christlichen Körpern. Dafür blickt er von seinen Kindheitserinnerungen aus auf die Welt, in der er sich heute befindet. Er fragt: Ist es wirklich möglich, das Selbst, die Allgemeinheit, die Institutionen und die Nationalstaaten zu dekolonisieren? Wer dekolonisiert wen? Wer muss wen verstehen? Ist es möglich, gewaltfrei zu dekolonisieren? Welche Erinnerungen sind heute noch lebendig und können zu Prozessen der Dekolonisation beitragen? Wen verletzt die Dekolonisation und wen befreit sie?

Francisco Godoy Vega ist QPOC, Autor, Künstler und Kurator und lebt in Madrid. Er promovierte in Kunstgeschichte und Visueller Kultur und ist Mitglied des Colectivo Ayllu. Er verfasste unter anderem das Buch Exhibitions as Recolonization (Ausstellungen als Rekolonisierung) (2018) und kuratierte die Ausstellung All Shades of Anger (Alle Schattierungen der Wut) im Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León in Spanien (2018).

Brook Andrew ist ein australischer Künstler, Kurator und Forscher, der den Wiradjuri angehört. In seiner Arbeit entwirft er alternative Zukunftsvisionen, die anhaltende koloniale Praktiken hinterfragen und Indigene Lebensweisen in den Vordergrund stellen. Er ist Ko-Kurator einer für 2022 geplanten Gruppenausstellung über Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung im Gropius Bau.