Conversation

After the Crisis as Before the (Next) Crisis?

With Marylyn Martina Addo, Mohamed Amjahid, María do Mar Castro Varela and Julia Grosse

This talk focuses on societal inequalities and the structural discrimination that the COVID-19 pandemic has spotlighted, considering how this imbalance could be redressed in the future.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In German

Past Dates

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic over the past year and a half has had far-reaching effects on everyday realities of life and daily routines, relationships and needs. The pandemic has magnified existing inequalities and structural discrimination. Experiences of solidarity and isolation, of calm and nervousness, of exclusion and support were unequally distributed in society. Also contributing to growing discrepancies within societies is the fact our daily lives have been heavily shaped by the accelerated digital transformation. This talk brings together Marylyn Martina Addo, Mohamed Amjahid, María do Mar Castro Varela and Julia Grosse to discuss these issues with a view to the future and the conditions needed to redress the balance.

Marylyn Martina Addo is a Professor in Medicine, an Infectious Diseases Specialist and researcher. She heads the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf and is a scientist at the German Center for Infection Research. Her research focuses on the development of vaccines against emerging viral diseases, currently with a particular focus on the study of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus.

Mohamed Amjahid is a freelance journalist based in Berlin. He focuses anthropologically and journalistically on topics such as human rights, equality and upheavals in the United States, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Amjahid is the author of a number of books including Der weiße Fleck: Eine Anleitung zu antirassistischem Denken (2021).

María do Mar Castro Varela is a graduate psychologist, graduate pedagogue and doctor of political science, as well as professor of general education and social work at the Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Her work focuses on gender and queer studies, postcolonial theory, critical migration studies and education studies, conspiracy theories and trauma studies.

Julia Grosse (moderator) is co-founder and artistic director of Contemporary And (C&) and Associate Curator at the Gropius Bau. She is a lecturer at the Institute for Art in Context at the University of the Arts in Berlin. In 2020 (together with Yvette Mutumba) she was winner of the prize “European Cultural Manager of the Year”.

The event is part of Berlin Science Week.

Gespräch

Nach der Krise ist vor der Krise?

Mit Marylyn Martina Addo, Mohamed Amjahid, María do Mar Castro Varela und Julia Grosse

Diese Gesprächsrunde befasst sich mit sozialen Ungleichheiten und struktureller Diskriminierung, die durch die COVID-19-Pandemie sichtbarer geworden sind. Dabei geht es auch um die Frage, wie diese Missstände überwunden werden können.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Die COVID-19-Pandemie hatte in den letzten anderthalb Jahren weitreichende Folgen für unseren Alltag, unsere Routinen, Beziehungen und Bedürfnisse. Bestehende Ungleichheiten und strukturelle Diskriminierung sind dabei besonders deutlich geworden. Erfahrungen von Solidarität und Isolation, Ruhe und Nervosität, Ausschluss und Unterstützung waren gesellschaftlich ungleich verteilt. Der beschleunigte digitale Wandel prägte unseren Alltag mehr denn je. In diesem Gespräch diskutieren Marylyn Martina Addo, Mohamed Amjahid, María do Mar Castro Varela und Julia Grosse darüber, welche Bedingungen für die Zukunft geschaffen werden müssen, um diese Missstände zu überwinden.

Marylyn Martina Addo ist Infektiologin und Forscherin. Sie leitet die Sektion Infektiologie am Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf und ist stellvertretende Koordinatorin am Deutschen Zentrum für Infektionsforschung. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Entwicklung von Impfstoffen gegen Viruserkrankungen. Derzeit arbeitet sie vor allem an der Erforschung des Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2.

Mohamed Amjahid ist freier Journalist in Berlin. Er arbeitet anthropologisch und journalistisch zu Themen wie Menschenrechte, Gleichstellung und Aufstände in den USA, Europa, dem Nahen Osten und Nordafrika. Amjahid ist Autor mehrerer Bücher, darunter Der weiße Fleck: Eine Anleitung zu antirassistischem Denken (2021).

María do Mar Castro Varela ist Diplom-Psychologin, Diplom-Pädagogin, promovierte Politikwissenschaftlerin und Professorin für Soziale Arbeit und Allgemeine Pädagogik an der Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Sie forscht in den Bereichen Gender und Queer Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Critical Migration Studies und Bildungsforschung, Verschwörungstheorien und Trauma Studies.

Julia Grosse (Moderation) ist Mitbegründerin und künstlerische Leiterin von Contemporary And (C&) und Assoziierte Kuratorin im Gropius Bau. Sie arbeitet als Dozentin am Institut für Kunst im Kontext an der Universität der Künste Berlin. 2020 erhielt sie (zusammen mit Yvette Mutumba) den Preis „European Cultural Manager of the Year“.

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil der Berlin Science Week.