Talk and Conversation

YOYI

With Pedro Wonaeamirri and Brook Andrew

This exchange between artists Pedro Wonaeamirri and Brook Andrew tackles the importance of ”YOYI”, the term for ceremonial song and dance that enacts “repair” in Tiwi culture in Australia’s Northern Territory. Both discuss why the medium of film helps navigate this term.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In English; Speech-to-text

Past Dates

YOYI is the name for the ceremonial song and dance that is central to Tiwi culture in northern Australia. It is indicative of repair, with the practice being passed down through generations. The gestures, calls, ceremonial objects and body paint that comprise YOYI make up one of the strongest living creative practices, which seeks to constantly repair. Wonaeamirri‘s work draws on performance, using film to bring dance, language and vision of country into the institution, as well as framing an experience of Jilamara artists’ ochre paintings, ironwood carvings and screened fabrics. YOYI in this context expresses self-control, keeping the Tiwi culture close and controlling the dissemination of their own images, rather than being represented by outside people.

Pedro Wonaeamirri will join the conversation digitally.

Pedro Wonaeamirri is an artist who grew up in Pirlangimpi (Pularumpi) on Melville Island, Australia. Wonaeamirri is a senior cultural leader on the Tiwi Islands. He has significant knowledge of the Tiwi language and culture. His work has been presented internationally, most recently as part of NIRIN the 22nd Biennale of Sydney (2020).

Pedro Wonaeamirri will join the conversation digitally

Brook Garru Andrew (moderator) is an Australian Wiradjuri artist, curator and scholar. His practice imagines alternative futures and challenges limitations imposed by ongoing colonial actions to re-centre Indigenous ways of being. He is co-curator of a group show on caring, repairing and healing which will be presented at the Gropius Bau in 2022.

Vortrag und Gespräch

YOYI

Mit Pedro Wonaeamirri und Brook Andrew

Dieses Gespräch zwischen den Künstlern Pedro Wonaeamirri und Brook Andrew dreht sich um „YOYI“ – eine Form von Gesang und Tanz, die in der Kultur der Tiwi im australischen Northern Territory eine Methode der „Reparatur“ darstellt. Dabei geht es auch um die Frage, warum das Medium Film hilfreich ist, um sich diesem Begriff anzunähern.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung
  • In englischer Sprache, EN live ÜT

YOYI ist der Name einer zeremoniellen Form von Gesang und Tanz, die von zentraler Bedeutung für die Kultur der Tiwi in Nordaustralien ist. Sie ist eine Praktik, die für Reparatur steht und von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben wird. YOYI umfasst Gesten, Rufe, zeremonielle Objekte und Körperbemalung. All das macht YOYI zu einer der lebendigsten kreativen Praktiken, die sich um fortlaufende Reparatur bemüht. In seiner Arbeit nutzt Pedro Wonaeamirri Performance und Film, um Tanz, Sprache und die Bedeutung von Landschaft in Institutionen hineinzutragen. Dadurch gibt er auch Einblicke in von Jilamara-Künstler*innen angefertigten Ockermalereien, Eisenholz-Schnitzereien und Textilarbeiten. YOYI versteht Pedro Wonaeamirri als Selbstbestimmung: Es geht darum, der Kultur der Tiwi nah zu bleiben und die Verbreitung der eigenen Bilder zu kontrollieren, anstatt von Außenstehenden vertreten zu werden.

Pedro Wonaeamirri wird digital an dem Gespräch teilnehmen.

Pedro Wonaeamirri ist ein Künstler, der in Pirlangimpi (Pularumpi) auf Melville Island in Australien aufwuchs. Er lebt als Senior Cultural Leader auf den Tiwi-Inseln. Er verfügt über ein bedeutendes Wissen der Tiwi-Sprache und der für die Kultur der Tiwi wichtigen Lieder und Tänze. Seine Arbeiten wurden in internationalen Ausstellungen gezeigt, zuletzt im Rahmen von NIRIN, der 22. Biennale von Sydney.

Brook Andrew ist ein australischer Künstler, Kurator und Forscher, der den Wiradjuri angehört. In seiner Arbeit entwirft er alternative Zukunftsvisionen, die anhaltende koloniale Praktiken hinterfragen und Indigene Lebensweisen in den Vordergrund stellen. Er ist Ko-Kurator einer für 2022 geplanten Gruppenausstellung über Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung im Gropius Bau.