Conversation

Repairing the Social Fabric Amid the Burden of History

With Marcia Langton and Brook Andrew

Indigenous Australians face an ongoing struggle for political representation in terms of voice, legislation and government. This talk is about the complexity of meaningfully recognising Indigenous Australians.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In English; Speech-to-text

Past Dates

When Australia became a federated country in 1901, Indigenous Australians were excluded from the new national constitution. It was not until 1967 that two racist clauses were even removed from it. A series of experiments to give Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples a voice has failed, mostly because of government abolition. Indigenous Australians are still demanding a voice to parliament and a voice to the government. This talk brings together Brook Andrew and Marcia Langton to discuss the complexity of how to meaningfully recognise Indigenous Australians. They share their own experiences and the impactful stories of how this history has affected their families.

Marcia Langton will join the conversation digitally.

Marcia Langton is a descendant of the Yiman people of Queensland and holds the Foundation Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies at the University of Melbourne. She has produced a large body of knowledge in the areas of political and legal anthropology, and Aboriginal arts and culture.

Brook Andrew (moderator) is an Australian Wiradjuri artist, curator and scholar. His practice imagines alternative futures and challenges limitations imposed by ongoing colonial actions to re-centre Indigenous ways of being. He is co-curator of a group show on caring, repairing and healing which will be presented at the Gropius Bau in 2022.

The event is part of Berlin Science Week.

Gespräch

Die Heilung sozialer Gefüge unter der Last der Geschichte

Mit Brook Andrew und Marcia Langton

Die Indigene Bevölkerung Australiens kämpft seit Langem um ihre politische Vertretung und Beteiligung. In diesem Gespräch geht es um die Schwierigkeiten bei der wirksamen Anerkennung von Indigenen Australier*innen.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung
  • In englischer Sprache, EN live ÜT

Als 1901 der australische Staat gegründet wurde, erkannte die Verfassung die Indigene Bevölkerung nicht an. Erst 1967 wurden zwei rassistische Paragrafen aus der Verfassung gestrichen. Mehrere Versuche, den Indigenen Menschen in Australien und auf den Torres-Strait-Inseln eine politische Stimme zu geben, scheiterten an der Verweigerung der Regierung. Indigene Australier*innen fordern weiterhin parlamentarische und staatliche Teilhabe. In diesem Gespräch diskutieren Brook Andrew und Marcia Langton über die Schwierigkeiten bei der Anerkennung von Indigenen Australier*innen. Beide teilen ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen mit diesem Thema und erzählen, wie die Staatsgeschichte Australiens auch ihre eigene Familiengeschichte geprägt hat.

Marcia Langton wird digital an dem Gespräch teilnehmen

Marcia Langton ist Nachfahrin der Yiman in Queensland und Inhaberin des Foundation Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies an der University of Melbourne. Sie hat zahlreiche Arbeiten im Bereich politische Anthropologie und Rechtsanthropologie sowie über die Kunst und Kultur der Aborigines verfasst.

Brook Andrew ist ein australischer Künstler, Kurator und Forscher, der den Wiradjuri angehört. In seiner Arbeit entwirft er alternative Zukunftsvisionen, die anhaltende koloniale Praktiken hinterfragen und Indigene Lebensweisen in den Vordergrund stellen. Er ist Ko-Kurator einer für 2022 geplanten Gruppenausstellung über Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung im Gropius Bau.

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil der Berlin Science Week.