Resonance Room

The Resonance Room is a room for reflection. It invites us to pause, to think, work through, repeat in order to digest and expand upon the questions raised within Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing. The Resonance Room gives first insights into processes of ongoing research on care, repair, and healing in the Gropius Bau.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing

Past Dates

The Resonance Room features a library in which curators and artists put their references and notes to discussion. Impressions of the growing relationships between the Gropius Bau and its neighbourhood will be shared. We will provide insight into the Gropius Bau’s archive and its fragmented history in the making. Visitors are invited to contribute to the institution’s ambivalent histories and presents. The Resonance Room thus translates multi-faceted knowledge and experiences into the exhibition space, stemming from the creative intersections of research, activism, policy and community engagement. The Resonance Room is itself a process, and will grow throughout 2022 to open in an expanded form in the follow-up exhibition.

The Resonance Room is developed by anthropologist and curator Margareta von Oswald in collaboration with Diana Mammana, cultural scientist and lead of Gropius Bau Education Neighborhood Exchange, and Mindscapes, Wellcome’s International Cultural Programme about mental health.

Resonanzraum

Der Resonanzraum regt dazu an, das unmittelbare Äußere des Gropius Bau – seine Nachbarschaft – und das Innere – die vielschichtige Geschichte der Institution – in den Mauern des Ausstellungshauses widerhallen zu lassen.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Der Resonanzraum ist ein Raum für Reflexion. Dort können Besucher*innen innehalten und ihre Fragen und Gedanken, die aus Amà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge und Heilung entstanden sind, nachklingen lassen. Der Raum gibt Einblicke in die laufenden Recherchen zum Thema Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung am Gropius Bau. Dazu gehört eine Bibliothek, in der Kurator*innen und Künstler*innen ihre Quellen und Notizen zur Diskussion stellen. Thema sind auch die wachsenden Beziehungen zwischen dem Gropius Bau und seiner Nachbarschaft. Der Raum ermöglicht zudem erste Einblicke in das Archiv und die fragmentierte Geschichte des Gropius Bau. Besucher*innen sind eingeladen, zu den vielschichtigen Geschichten und Gegenwart dieser Kunstinstitution beizutragen. Der Resonanzraum überträgt eine Fülle an Wissen und Erfahrungen in das Ausstellungshaus und bildet eine Schnittstelle für Forschung, Aktivismus sowie politisches und gemeinschaftliches Engagement. Der Raum selbst ist als Prozess zu verstehen und wird weiter wachsen, bis er 2022 in die Folgeausstellung übergeht.

Der Resonanzraum wurde von der Anthropologin und Kuratorin Margareta von Oswald gemeinsam mit Diana Mammana, Kulturwissenschaftlerin und der Leiterin des Nachbarschaftsaustausches am Gropius Bau, und Mindscapes, dem internationalen Kulturprogramm zum Thema psychische Gesundheit von Wellcome, entwickelt.