Digital Talk and Conversation

Architecture in the Age of Pandemics. From Tuberculosis to COVID-19

With Beatriz Colomina and Edna Bonhomme

Drawing upon the history of architecture from modernism to today, this digital talk and conversation explores how pandemics shape the ways in which we live and build.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In English; Speech-to-text

Past Dates

Architecture is an ever-changing entity. Beatriz Colomina’s digital lecture explores how architecture and medicine have always been connected. The discovery of bacterial diseases, particularly tuberculosis, gave birth to modern architecture, to white buildings detached from the “humid ground where disease breeds”, as the architect Le Corbusier put it. In the postwar years, attention shifted from physical to psychological problems; the 21st Century has seen the rise of neurological disorders including depression, and yet pandemics too have returned. COVID-19 has reshaped architecture and urbanism and once again disease is exposing the structural inequities of race, class and gender. Will architectural discourse and practice likewise reshape itself? The lecture is followed by a digital conversation between Beatriz Colomina and Edna Bonhomme.

Beatriz Colomina will join the event digitally.

Beatriz Colomina is the Howard Crosby Butler Professor of the History of Architecture and the Founding Director of the Program in Media and Modernity at Princeton University. She writes and curates on questions of design, art, sexuality and media. Her latest book X-Ray Architecture was published in 2019 by Lars Müller Publishers.

Edna Bonhomme is a historian of science, interdisciplinary artist and writer. They earned a PhD in the history of science from Princeton University. Their dissertation Plagued Bodies and Spaces examined the commercial and geopolitical trajectory of epidemics in North Africa. Bonhomme has written for Al Jazeera, Esquire, The Guardian and more.

The event is part of Berlin Science Week.

Vortrag und Gespräch

Architektur in Zeiten der Pandemie: Von Tuberkulose bis COVID-19

Mit Beatriz Colomina und Edna Bonhomme

In diesem digitalen Vortrag untersucht Beatriz Colomina, wie Pandemien uns und die Art, wie wir leben und bauen, beeinflussen. Dabei betrachtet sie die Geschichte der Architektur von der Moderne bis heute.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung
  • In englischer Sprache, EN live ÜT

Architektur ist eine sich ständig wandelnde Einheit. Der digitale Vortrag von Beatriz Colomina untersucht, wie Architektur und Medizin schon immer miteinander verbunden waren. Die Entdeckung bakterieller Krankheiten, vor allem Tuberkulose, war der Ausgangspunkt der modernen Architektur. Weiße Gebäude, losgelöst von dem „feuchten Boden, auf dem sich Krankheiten ausbreiten“, wie es der Architekt Le Corbusier ausdrückte. In den Jahren nach dem Krieg verlagerte sich die Aufmerksamkeit von körperlichen auf psychische Probleme. Im 21. Jahrhundert haben neurologische Erkrankungen wie Depressionen zugenommen, und auch Pandemien sind zurückgekehrt. COVID-19 hat Architektur und Städtebau neu gestaltet. Wieder einmal legt eine Krankheit die strukturellen Ungleichheiten von race, Klasse und Gender offen. Werden sich architektonische Diskurse und Praxen auch verändern? Im Anschluss an den Vortrag findet ein Gespräch zwischen Beatriz Colomina und Edna Bonhomme statt.

Beatriz Colomina wird digital an der Veranstaltung teilnehmen.

Beatriz Colomina ist Howard Crosby Butler Professorin für Architekturgeschichte und Gründungsdirektorin des Program in Media and Modernity an der Princeton University. Sie schreibt und kuratiert zu Fragen von Design, Kunst, Sexualität und Medien. Ihr neuestes Buch X-Ray Architecture (Röntgen-Architektur) ist 2019 bei Lars Müller Publishers erschienen.

Edna Bonhomme ist Wissenschaftshistoriker*in, interdisziplinäre Künstler*in und Autor*in. Bonhomme promovierte in Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der Princeton University; der Titel der Dissertation lautet Plague Bodies and Spaces. Bonhomme hat unter anderem für Al Jazeera, Esquire und The Guardian geschrieben.

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil der Berlin Science Week.