Talk and Conversation

O Barco | The Boat

With Grada Kilomba and Magnus Elias Rosengarten

Artist Grada Kilomba discusses her latest installation work O Barco | The Boat (2021) with Magnus Elias Rosengarten, examining the archaeology of trauma.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In English; Speech-to-text

Past Dates

Artist Grada Kilomba discusses her latest work O Barco | The Boat (2021), a large-scale installation, performance and film that carefully draws from the archaeology of trauma. Kilomba interrupts the collective imaginary and exposes the horrors of slavery. The themes of memory, forgetting and erasing are explored in a process of remembering and rewriting in order to contemplate the future. As the artist states: “Retelling history anew and properly is a necessary ceremony, a political act. Otherwise, history becomes haunted. It repeats itself. It returns intrusively, as fragmented knowledge, interrupting and assaulting our present lives.”

Grada Kilomba is an artist whose work draws on memory, trauma and postcolonialism. Best known for her unique practice of storytelling, Kilomba uses performance, staged reading, video, installation and photography, and also makes publications. Her work has been presented at the documenta 14, Kassel and 32nd Bienal de São Paulo, among others.

Magnus Elias Rosengarten (moderator) is a writer, artist and co-curator of Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing. He has written for ContemporaryAnd Magazine (C&), Artforum and Berlin Biennale as well as presenting work at the Kraine Theatre, New York City (2016) and the California African American Museum, Los Angeles (2018).

The event is part of Berlin Science Week.

Vortrag und Gespräch

O Barco | The Boat

Mit Grada Kilomba und Magnus Elias Rosengarten

Die Künstlerin Grada Kilomba stellt ihre jüngste Installation O Barco | The Boat (2021) vor und diskutiert mit Magnus Elias Rosengarten über die Archäologie des Traumas.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung
  • In englischer Sprache, EN live ÜT

Die Künstlerin Grada Kilomba spricht über ihr neues Werk O Barco | The Boat (2021). Die Arbeit umfasst Installation, Performance und Film und widmet sich der Archäologie des Traumas. Kilomba unterbricht kollektive Vorstellungen und offenbart die Gräuel der Sklaverei. Sie erforscht Themen wie Erinnerung, Vergessen und Auslöschung, indem sie sich immer wieder erinnert und Geschichte umschreibt. Dies ist für sie eine Möglichkeit, über die Zukunft nachzudenken: „Die Geschichte neu und richtig zu erzählen, ist eine notwendige Zeremonie, ein politischer Akt. Anderenfalls wird die Geschichte zu einem Ort der Heimsuchung. Sie wiederholt sich dann. Sie kehrt als Eindringling zurück, als fragmentiertes Wissen, das in unser heutiges Leben eindringt und es angreift.“

Grada Kilomba ist eine Künstlerin, die sich mit den Themen Erinnerung, Trauma und Postkolonialismus auseinandersetzt. Kilomba ist bekannt für ihre einzigartige Form des Geschichtenerzählens, die sie in Performances, szenische Lesungen, Videos, Installationen, Fotografien und Bücher einbezieht. Ihre Werke wurden unter anderem bei der documenta 14 in Kassel und der 32. Biennale von São Paulo gezeigt.

Magnus Elias Rosengarten (Moderation) ist Schriftsteller, Künstler und Ko-Kurator von Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung. Er hat für ContemporaryAnd Magazine (C&), Artforum und die Berlin Biennale geschrieben und seine Arbeiten im Kraine Theatre, New York City (2016) und im California African American Museum, Los Angeles (2018) präsentiert.

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil der Berlin Science Week.