Conversation

When Do Stories Cure?

With Dieu Hao Do, Lamin Leroy Gibba, Karina Griffith and Raquel Kishori Dukpa

Storytelling has the power to reveal the human condition. This panel discussion focuses on Germany’s cultural landscape. It uses an intersectional approach to explore the art of storytelling and its potential to heal and cure by acknowledging a spectrum of identities.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In German

Past Dates

This panel considers why certain bodies are connected to specific narratives. It asks how the human condition can be revealed by overturning the white patriarchal gaze, making visible a broad spectrum of identities and stories. The speakers have backgrounds in disciplines ranging from fine arts to theatre and screenwriting. Together they confront the art of storytelling in relation to Germany’s cultural landscape. With an emphasis on intersectionality, both in terms of thinking and actively doing, this panel looks at the creative industry, from writing to acting to production, asking whether narratives and stories can be healing and curative.

Dieu Hao Do is a German artist and filmmaker. His films explore postcolonial perspectives on the historical memory of the Vietnam War and focus on the global Asian diaspora. He is currently in the post-production of his feature documentary Hao are you (working title), having also directed the films The garden of Mr. Vong and At the end of the world.

Lamin Leroy Gibba is an actor, writer and filmmaker. He grew up in Hamburg and studied at The New School in New York. He has appeared in national and international theater and film productions including, most recently, Courageux! Furchtlos! at Ballhaus Naunynstraße.

Karina Griffith is a curator, filmmaker, artist and academic currently completing a PhD on Black authorship in German cinema. Her installation and performance work WE CALL IT LOVE: AN OPPOSITIONAL SCREENING was presented at District Berlin and HAU Hebbel am Ufer in 2018. She is part of the curatorial team of the 2022 Berlinale Forum Expanded Exhibition.

Raquel Kishori Dukpa (moderator) grew up in Berlin. She studied in Hildesheim with a focus on film, queer-feminist theory and popular culture. She was a writer for the sixth season of the youth series DRUCK. Since 2016, she has been part of the film collective JÜNGLINGE, participating as a casting director in the production and research of their debut film FUTUR DREI.

Gespräch

Können Geschichten heilen?

Mit Dieu Hao Do, Lamin Leroy Gibba, Karina Griffith und Raquel Kishori Dukpa

Geschichten sind in der Lage, uns dem Menschsein näherzubringen. Diese Gesprächsrunde blickt aus intersektionaler Perspektive auf die kulturelle Landschaft in Deutschland und die Kunst des Storytellings. Die Teilnehmenden diskutieren dabei, inwiefern die Anerkennung vielfältiger Identitäten heilsam sein kann.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Diese Gesprächsrunde fragt danach, was bestimmte Körper mit spezifischen Erzählweisen verbindet. Können wir uns dem Menschsein nähern, indem wir den weißen patriarchalen Blick überwinden und dadurch eine Fülle von Identitäten und Geschichten freilegen? Die Teilnehmenden sind in unterschiedlichen Bereichen wie der bildenden Kunst, dem Theater und dem Drehbuchschreiben tätig. Gemeinsam sprechen sie darüber, welche Rolle das Storytelling in der kulturellen Landschaft in Deutschland spielen kann. Aus einer intersektionalen Perspektive wird diskutiert, wie das Zusammenwirken von Diskriminierungsformen das Denken und Handeln der Kreativwirtschaft bestimmt. Mit Fokus auf Arbeitsfeldern wie Schreiben, Schauspielerei und Produktion steht die Frage im Mittelpunkt, ob das Erzählen von Geschichten heilend sein kann.

Dieu Hao Do ist ein deutscher Künstler und Filmemacher. In seinen Filmen erkundet er aus postkolonialer Perspektive die historische Erinnerung an den Vietnamkrieg und nimmt dabei die weltweite asiatische Diaspora in den Blick. Er führte Regie bei den Filmen Der Garten des Herrn Vong und At the End of the World (Am Ende der Welt). Gerade arbeitet er an der Fertigstellung seines Dokumentarfilms Hao are you (Arbeitstitel).

Lamin Leroy Gibba ist Schauspieler, Autor und Filmemacher. Er ist in Hamburg aufgewachsen und studierte an der New School in New York. Er hat in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Theater- und Filmproduktionen mitgewirkt, zuletzt in Courageux! Furchtlos! im Ballhaus Naunynstraße.

Karina Griffith ist Kuratorin, Filmemacherin, Künstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin. Derzeit promoviert sie zu Schwarzer Autor*innenschaft im deutschen Kino. Ihre Arbeit WE CALL IT LOVE: AN OPPOSITIONAL SCREENING (Wir nennen es Liebe: eine gegensätzliche Vorführung) ist eine Installation und Performance, die 2018 bei District Berlin und im HAU Hebbel am Ufer gezeigt wurde. Sie ist Teil des kuratorischen Teams der Berlinale Forum Expanded Ausstellung 2022.

Raquel Kishori Dukpa (Moderation) ist in Berlin aufgewachsen. Sie studierte in Hildesheim mit den Schwerpunkten Film, queer-feministische Theorie und Populärkultur. Als Drehbuchautorin schrieb sie für die sechste Staffel der Jugendserie DRUCK. Seit 2016 gehört sie dem Filmkollektiv JÜNGLINGE an. Bei der Produktion und Recherche für FUTUR DREI, dem Debütfilm des Kollektivs, leitete sie das Casting.