Conversation

Is Climate Colonial?

With Tatu Hey, Jeff Kwasi Klein, Nene Opoku and Sophya Kallista Frohberg

This panel discussion tackles the pressing question of how climate change and colonialism are interrelated, considering why debates often exclude this perspective.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In German

Past Dates

This panel discussion takes colonialism as the origin of climate change. It contextualises the relationship between racism and the climate crisis, looking at how environmental injustices disproportionately burden marginalised communities, especially women, trans* and inter-positioned people in the so-called Global South. Representatives from the Berlin-based organisation Black Earth Collective and activist Jeff Kwasi Klein, together with the Gropius Bau’s Outreach Coordinator Sophya Kallista Frohberg, discuss an intersectional approach to draft counter-proposals that might prevent further social injustices that are caused by climate change.

The Black Earth Collective is a BIPOC group in Berlin primarily represented by female identifying, lesbian, non binary and trans* people. It understands anthropogenic climate change as a historical development, starting with slavery and colonialism and as a prerequisite for European industrialisation. The collective advocates for an intersectional climate movement, with decolonial, queer-feminist and ecological perspectives.

Tatu Hey is a member of the Black Earth Collective. Next to climate justice, an interest of hers is to take on a critical perspective on “development aid”. She seeks to highlight the actual impact that this industry has on BIPOC and marginalised people, the environment and climate.

Nene Opoku was born in Berlin and is a member of the Black Earth Collective. Her interests include postcolonial theory and anti-Semitism research. She also examines constructions of inequality from historically comparative perspectives.

Jeff Kwasi Klein is a project manager at Each One Teach One e.V. and board member of the migrant council Berlin, where he represents a variety of (post-) migrant organisations. At that, he is a member of Germany’s Green Party, where he is also a board member of Berlin-Mitte’s district chapter.

Sophya Kallista Frohberg is Outreach Coordinator at the Gropius Bau, where she is currently coordinating the public programme for the upcoming Zanele Muholi exhibition. Her practice centres on the visibility of Black and queer contemporary art, as well as decolonial practices and climate justice in institutions.

The event is part of Berlin Science Week.

Gespräch

Was hat Klima mit Kolonialismus zu tun?

Mit Tatu Hey, Jeff Kwasi Klein, Nene Opoku und Sophya Kallista Frohberg

Diese Gesprächsrunde behandelt die dringende Frage, wie Klimawandel und Kolonialismus zusammenhängen. Die Teilnehmenden werden auch darüber sprechen, wieso dieser Blickwinkel in Diskussionen oft ausgeblendet wird.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung
  • In deutscher Sprache, DGS

Diese Gesprächsrunde befasst sich mit dem Kolonialismus als Ursache des Klimawandels. Mit Blick auf den Zusammenhang von Rassismus und Klimakrise wird gezeigt, dass Umweltbelastungen häufig marginalisierte Gruppen treffen: Vor allem handelt es sich dabei um Frauen und inter* sowie trans* Menschen im sogenannten Globalen Süden. Mitglieder der Berliner Organisation Black Earth Kollektiv und der Aktivist Jeff Kwasi Klein diskutieren über intersektionale Perspektiven auf dieses Problem. Dabei möchten sie Gegenvorschläge entwerfen, die weitere soziale Ungerechtigkeiten durch den Klimawandel verhindern könnten.

Das Black Earth Kollektiv ist ein BIPoC-, mehrheitlich mehrheitlich FLINT*-Kollektiv. Die Mitglieder betrachten den menschengemachten Klimawandel als historische Entwicklung, die mit der Sklaverei und dem Kolonialismus einsetzte und Voraussetzung für die Industrialisierung Europas war. Das Kollektiv setzt sich für eine intersektionale Klimabewegung ein, die dekoloniale, queer-feministische und ökologische Perspektiven einbezieht. https://blackearthkollektiv.org/

Tatu Hey ist Mitglied des Black Earth Kollektiv. Hey setzt sich mit Klimagerechtigkeit und kritisch mit „Entwicklungshilfe“ auseinander. Sie geht der Frage nach, wie sich solche Formen der „Unterstützung“ auf BIPoC und marginalisierte Menschen sowie auf Natur- und Umweltbedingungen auswirken.

Nene Opoku ist gebürtige Berlinerin und Mitglied des Black Earth Kollektiv. Zu ihren Interessengebieten gehören postkoloniale Theorie und Antisemitismusforschung. Zudem untersucht sie Konstruktionen von Ungleichheit aus historisch-vergleichender Perspektive.

Jeff Kwasi Klein ist Projektleiter bei Each One Teach One e.V. und Vorstandsmitglied des Migrationsrats Berlin. Dort vertritt er eine Reihe von (post-)migrantischen Organisationen. Außerdem ist er Mitglied bei Bündnis 90/Die Grünen und Vorstandsmitglied des Kreisverbands Berlin-Mitte.

Sophya Kallista Frohberg (Moderation) ist Koordinatorin für Outreach im Gropius Bau, wo sie derzeit das öffentliche Programm für die kommende Ausstellung von Zanele Muholi organisiert. Ihre Praxis konzentriert sich auf die Sichtbarkeit von Schwarzer und queerer zeitgenössischer Kunst sowie auf dekoloniale Praktiken und Klimagerechtigkeit in Institutionen.