Workshop

Healing the City. Know-How Transfer From the Global South

With Mandu dos Santos Pinto, Andreas Lechthaler and Diana Mammana

Mandu dos Santos Pinto presents projects on sustainable design and development in some of Africa’s metropolises. An interactive workshop follows, in which dos Santos Pinto discusses with Andreas Lechthaler, Diana Mammana and participants how such knowledge is transferable to the Gropius Bau’s immediate neighbourhood.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In German

Past Dates

Most metropolises in Africa have been significantly shaped by two factors: the effects of colonial history, which have resulted in social inequality, and climate change. Cities are often kept alive by the informal activities of poor people in urban areas, providing jobs and food. Working on projects in collaboration with local residents – the experts – Mandu dos Santos Pinto initiates the transformation and healing processes of urban districts. He presents a range of projects, after which there is an interactive workshop and discussion about sustainable strategies for the Gropius Bau’s immediate neighbourhood. The discussion includes Diana Mammana, lead of the Gropius Bau’s Community Projects, and architect Andreas Lechthaler, who has been involved in the Gropius Bau’s programme and transformation towards sustainability since 2017.

Mandu dos Santos Pinto is an architect and urban planner who develops projects and sustainable solutions for cities of the Global South. He currently leads an innovative mobility project in Dakar, EcoCar Solaire, which aims to transform up to 20 percent of air-polluting vehicles into solar-powered public transport.

Andreas Lechthaler is the director of Andreas Lechthaler Architecture, a multi-disciplinary studio specialising in art led exhibitions and permanent projects, within museums and galleries as well as in public space. This work involves the transformation of spaces and working practices with the aim of developing a more inclusive and sustainable environment.

Diana Mammana is a cultural scientist and lead of the Gropius Bau’s Community Projects focusing on encounters with actors of social initiatives and organisations in the immediate surroundings of the Gropius Bau.

Workshop

Die Stadt heilen. Wissenstransfer aus dem Globalen Süden

Mit Mandu dos Santos Pinto, Andreas Lechthaler und Diana Mammana

Mandu dos Santos Pinto präsentiert Projekte zur nachhaltigen Gestaltung und Entwicklung in einigen afrikanischen Metropolen. Darauf folgt ein interaktiver Workshop. Dos Santos Pinto diskutiert mit Andreas Lechthaler, Diana Mammana und den Teilnehmenden darüber, wie sich dieses Wissen auf die unmittelbare Umgebung des Gropius Bau übertragen lässt.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Die meisten Metropolen in Afrika wurden maßgeblich von zwei Faktoren geprägt: den Auswirkungen der Kolonialgeschichte, die zu sozialer Ungleichheit geführt haben, und dem Klimawandel. Die Städte werden oft durch die informellen Tätigkeiten armer Menschen in städtischen Gebieten am Leben erhalten. Von ihnen werden Arbeitsplätze und Nahrungsmittel zur Verfügung gestellt. Mandu dos Santos Pinto arbeitet an Projekten in Zusammenarbeit mit den Bewohner*innen vor Ort – den lokalen Expert*innen. Dadurch initiiert er heilsame Veränderungen von Stadtvierteln. Zu Beginn des Workshops stellt Mandu dos Santos Pinto eine Reihe von Projekten vor. Anschließend gibt es einen interaktiven Workshop und eine Diskussion. Dabei geht es um nachhaltige Strategien für die unmittelbare Umgebung des Gropius Bau. An der Diskussion beteiligt sich Diana Mammana, die den Nachbarschaftsaustausch am Gropius Bau leitet. Der Architekt Andreas Lechthaler wird ebenfalls anwesend sein. Lechthaler bringt den Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit seit 2017 in das Programm und die Umgestaltung des Gropius Bau ein.

Mandu dos Santos Pinto ist Architekt und Städteplaner. Er entwickelt Projekte und nachhaltige Lösungen für Städte des Globalen Südens. Derzeit leitet er ein innovatives Projekt zur Verbesserung der Mobilität in Dakar – EcoCar Solaire. Ziel ist es, bis zu 20 Prozent der luftverschmutzenden Fahrzeuge in solarbetriebene öffentliche Verkehrsmittel umzuwandeln.

Andreas Lechthaler ist Direktor von Andreas Lechthaler Architecture, einem multidisziplinären Studio, das sich auf Kunstausstellungen und Langzeitprojekte spezialisiert hat. Diese Arbeit umfasst die Umgestaltung des öffentlichen Raums, von Kunsträumen und Arbeitspraktiken. Ziel ist es, ein umfassenderes und nachhaltigeres Umfeld zu schaffen.

Diana Mammana ist Kulturwissenschaftlerin und leitet den Nachbarschaftsaustausch, eines der Vermittlungsprojekte des Gropius Bau. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei Begegnungen mit Beteiligten sozialer Initiativen und Organisationen im unmittelbaren Umfeld des Gropius Bau.