Talk and Conversation

“I Couldn’t Care More”. Care-full Cultural Practice and the Future of the Institution

With iLiana Fokianaki and Stephanie Rosenthal

This talk asks why the art world has been paying attention to concepts of care over the past few years. Curator iLiana Fokianaki takes a deeper look at the different concepts and history of the term care.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In English; Speech-to-text

Past Dates

The diminishing of care in all facets of human life has been one of the major effects of austerity policies, made even more visible during the global pandemic of COVID-19. These last decades, neoliberalism has capitalised on the individualist notion of care, widely promoted as “self-care,” through an industry with billions in revenues. By “leaning-in” and taking care of oneself, contemporary subjectivities of the so-called “developed” world are tasked with the care of their overworked bodies, but are less and less interested in the wellbeing of bodies that are outside of the immediate realm of their family, class, working environment, neighbourhood, city, country. Care has been a subject matter the art world is concerned with. The global pandemic has made it all the more urgent. But is it a real concern that will lead to change in the ways we operate in our institutions and working relationships? How can care – if studied care-fully – provide transformative responses to the various problems that art institutions have been facing?

iLiana Fokianaki is a curator, theorist based in Athens and Rotterdam and the director of State of Concept Athens and the research platform The Bureau of Care. Her research focuses on formations of power and how they manifest under the influence of geopolitics, identity and cultural and anthropological histories.

Stephanie Rosenthal (moderator) is the Director of the Gropius Bau. Here, she has curated internationally acclaimed exhibitions such as Wu Tsang: There is no nonviolent way to look at somebody (2019), Garden of Earthly Delights (2019) and Otobong Nkanga: There’s No Such Thing as Solid Ground (2020).

Vortrag und Gespräch

„I Couldn’t Care More“. Care-Full kulturelle Praxis und die Zukunft der Institution

Mit iLiana Fokianaki und Stephanie Rosenthal

Dieser Vortrag geht der Frage nach, warum sich die Kunstwelt in den letzten Jahren mit Konzepten der Fürsorge befasst hat. Die Kuratorin iLiana Fokianaki wirft einen genaueren Blick auf die verschiedenen Konzepte und die Geschichte des Begriffs Fürsorge.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung

Der Rückgang der Fürsorge in allen Bereichen des menschlichen Lebens ist eine der bedeutendsten Auswirkungen der (internationalen) Sparpolitiken. Diese trat während der weltweiten COVID-19-Pandemie noch deutlicher zutage. In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat der Neoliberalismus aus der individualistischen Vorstellung von Fürsorge durch eine Industrie mit Milliardeneinnahmen Kapital geschlagen. Diese Fürsorge wird weithin als „Selbstfürsorge“ beworben. Die zeitgenössischen Subjekte der sogenannten „entwickelten“ Welt sind mit der Fürsorge für ihre überlasteten Körper betraut. Dies tun sie, indem sie sich „anpassen“ und für sich selbst sorgen. Doch sie interessieren sich immer weniger für das Wohlergehen von Körpern, die außerhalb des sozialen Umfeldes liegen. Das heißt, ihrer Familie, ihrer Klasse, ihres Arbeitskontexts, ihrer Gemeinschaft, ihrer Stadt oder ihres Landes. Die Fürsorge ist ebenfalls ein Thema, mit dem sich die Kunstwelt beschäftigt. Die globale Pandemie hat es noch dringlicher gemacht. Doch ist es ein echtes Anliegen, das zu einer Veränderung der Arbeitsweisen in unseren Institutionen und Arbeitsbeziehungen führen wird? Wie kann Fürsorge – wenn sie care-full [fürsorglich und mit Bedacht] untersucht wird – verändernde Antworten auf die verschiedenen Probleme geben, mit denen Kunstinstitutionen konfrontiert sind?

iLiana Fokianaki ist Kuratorin, Theoretikerin in Athen und Rotterdam. Sie ist Leiterin des State of Concept in Athen und der Forschungsplattform The Bureau of Care. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Bildung von Macht und wie sich diese unter dem Einfluss von Geopolitik, Identität und kultureller und anthropologischer Geschichte manifestiert.

Stephanie Rosenthal (Moderatorin) ist Direktorin des Gropius Bau. Hier hat sie international beachtete Ausstellungen kuratiert, wie Wu Tsang: There is no nonviolent way to look at somebody (2019), Garden of Earthly Delights (2019) und Otobong Nkanga: There’s No Such Thing as Solid Ground (2020).