Conversation

Feral Atlas. The More-than-Human Anthropocene

With Lili Carr, Alder Keleman Saxena and Robert Maharajh

This presentation explores Feral Atlas. The More-than-Human Anthropocene, which is a multimedia environmental humanities project. It focuses on the ecological worlds created when non-human entities entangle with human infrastructure.

Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing
  • In English; Speech-to-text

Past Dates

Feral Atlas explores the ecological worlds created when non-human entities become entangled with human-built infrastructure. The project describes “feral” ecologies that have been encouraged by human activity, but which have developed and spread beyond human control. Feral Atlas argues that these infrastructural effects are the Anthropocene. The project goes beyond cataloguing sites of imperial and industrial ruin, with a playful, political and attuned approach to more-than-human histories. Expanding conventional notions of maps and mapping, it uses the relational potential of the digital to offer new ways of understanding the Anthropocene. Alongside acknowledging the dangers of our time, it also demonstrates how in situ observation and transdisciplinary collaboration can cultivate vital responses to environmental challenges.

https://feralatlas.org/

Alder Keleman Saxena is an assistant research professor at Northern Arizona University and a postdoctoral researcher at the Christian Michelsen Institute. An environmental anthropologist, her research has examined the relationships linking agrobiodiversity to food culture and political economy in Mexico and Bolivia.

Lili Carr is an architect with a background in the natural sciences. She is currently in residence at the Bauhaus Dessau, where she is researching histories of environmental activism and dissent tied up with Bauhaus legacies.

Robert Maharajh (moderator) is Editor at Large of the Gropius Bau. He was co-founder and curator of the artist-run east London-based gallery T12 and commissioning editor for "Not Evenly Distributed", an online project reflecting on the themes of the 20th Biennale of Sydney.

Gespräch

Feral Atlas. Das mehr-als-menschliche Anthropozän

Mit Lili Carr, Alder Keleman Saxena und Robert Maharajh

Diese Präsentation befasst sich mit dem multimedialen Projekt Feral Atlas. The More-than-Human Anthropocene das umwelt- und geisteswissenschaftliche Ansätze vereint. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf den ökologischen Welten, die entstehen, wenn nicht-menschliche Wesen mit menschlicher Infrastruktur in Berührung kommen.

Ámà: 4 Tage zu Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung
  • In englischer Sprache; Englisch, live Übertitelung

Vergangene Termine

Feral Atlas erkundet die ökologischen Welten, die entstehen, wenn sich nicht-menschliche Wesen mit der menschlichen Infrastruktur verflechten. Mehrere Erfahrungsberichte beschreiben "ungezähmte" Ökologien. Diese haben sich zunächst aus vom Menschen geschaffenen Infrastrukturen entwickelt und sich dann abseits menschlicher Kontrolle ausgebreitet. Feral Atlas argumentiert, dass dies das Anthropozän ist – ein vom Menschen geprägtes Zeitalter in der Erdgeschichte. Das Projekt geht über die Katalogisierung von Stätten imperialer und industrieller Ruinen hinaus. Es verfolgt einen spielerischen, politischen und auf die mehr-als-menschliche Geschichte abgestimmten Ansatz. Das Potenzial des Digitalen liegt in der Darstellung von Beziehungen. Dieses Potenzial nutzt Feral Atlas, um herkömmliche Vorstellungen von Karten und Kartierung zu erweitern. Das Projekt macht nicht nur auf die Gefahren unserer Zeit aufmerksam. Durch die Verbindung von ortsgebundenen Beobachtungen mit transdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit zeigt es auch, wie entscheidende Antworten auf ökologische Herausforderungen gefunden werden können.

https://feralatlas.org/

Alder Keleman Saxena ist Assistenzforschungsprofessorin an der Northern Arizona University und Postdoktorandin am Christian Michelsen Institute. Als Umweltanthropologin hat sie in ihrer Forschung die Beziehungen zwischen Agrobiodiversität, Esskultur und politischer Wirtschaft in Mexiko und Bolivien untersucht.

Lili Carr ist Architektin mit naturwissenschaftlichem Hintergrund. Zurzeit ist sie Teil des Bauhaus Residenz-Programms des Bauhaus Dessau. Dort erforscht sie die Geschichte von Umweltaktivismus und Widerstand im Zusammenhang mit dem Erbe des Bauhauses.

Robert Maharajh (Moderation) ist Editor at Large im Gropius Bau. Er war Mitbegründer und Kurator der von Künstler*innen geführten Ost-Londoner Galerie T12. Er war Redaktionsleiter für Not Evenly Distributed, einem Onlineprojekt, das sich mit den Themen der 20. Biennale von Sydney beschäftigt.