Reading Group

Bodies, Spaces, Archives

Connected within that Light: Reading/Theory Group Series with Kathy-Ann Tan

This reading group series is entitled Bodies, Spaces, Archives. In this third and final session we will collaboratively read and discuss texts by Tina M. Campt, bell hooks and June Jordan together with Natasha Ginwala, Associate Curator, Gropius Bau.

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019. Photograph, digital C print on aluminium, 20 x 30 cm

Courtesy: the artist, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Cabinet and Antenna Space

Past Dates

The session will take place online via Zoom.
To participate, please send an email to until 15 December 2021.

In this final session we will be joined by Associate Curator at the Gropius Bau and Curator of the exhibition Zanele Muholi, Natasha Ginwala. We will conclude our focus on readings that engage with how different bodies and subjectivities take up, navigate, are interpellated, welcome in or excluded from various spaces – from the intimate to the institutional. Departing from the notion that our bodies are our first archives, we will discuss how the corporeal archive can be a primary site for for self-representation, empowerment, healing and transformation. We will be placing Tina M. Campt’s A Black Gaze and bell hooks’ “The Oppositional Gaze: Black Female Spectators” in conversation with some of Zanele Muholi’s work in their solo exhibition at the Gropius Bau, and also read some poems by June Jordan (among others, “Poem About My Rights”).

Texts
Tina M. Campt, A Black Gaze: Artists Changing How We See, 2021
bell hooks, “The Oppositional Gaze: Black Female Spectators” in Black Looks: Race and Representation, 1992
June Jordan, “Poem About My Rights” in Passion: New Poems, 1977–1980, 1980

The sessions will be led in English but discussion in German is welcomed. Texts will be circulated in advance after registration closes.

These three sessions continue the Connected within that Light: Reading/Theory Group Series at the Gropius Bau that loosely complements the institution’s exhibition programme in 2020/21. Sessions are facilitated by Berlin-based independent curator, writer and scholar Kathy-Ann Tan. This session will take place online via Zoom.

* The processing of your data is carried out according to the  privacy policy of the KBB, which you hereby acknowledge.

Reading Group

Bodies, Spaces, Archives

Connected within that Light: Reading/Theory Group Series mit Kathy-Ann Tan

Der Lesekreis Bodies, Spaces, Archives lädt zur gemeinsamen Lektüre und Diskussion von Texten ein. In der dritten und letzten Sitzung werden wir uns mit Natasha Ginwala, Assoziierter Kuratorin am Gropius Bau, Texten von Tina M. Campt, bell hooks und June Jordan zuwenden.

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019. Fotografien, digitale C-Prints auf Alu-Dibond, je 20 x 30 cm

Courtesy: die Künstlerin, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Cabinet und Antenna Space

Die Sitzung findet online via Zoom statt.
Um teilzunehmen, senden Sie bitte bis 15. Dezember eine E-Mail an .

In dieser letzten Sitzung unseres Lesekreises wird Natasha Ginwala, Assoziierte Kuratorin am Gropius Bau und Kuratorin der Ausstellung Zanele Muholi, zu uns stoßen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen Lektüren, die sich damit beschäftigen, wie unterschiedliche Körper und Subjektivitäten verschiedene (von intimen bis institutionellen) Kontexten bewegen – wie sie Räume einnehmen, navigieren, von ihnen befragt werden, in ihnen willkommen sind oder von ihnen ausgeschlossen werden. Ausgehend von der Vorstellung, dass unsere Körper Archive sind, werden wir diskutieren, wie das körperliche Archiv ein primärer Ort der Selbstdarstellung, Ermächtigung, Heilung und Transformation sein kann. Im Verlauf der Sitzung werden wir A Black Gaze von Tina M. Campt und „The Oppositional Gaze: Black Female Spectators“ von bell hooks mit einigen Arbeiten aus Zanele Muholis Einzelausstellung im Gropius Bau in Verbindung setzen und Gedichte von June Jordan lesen (u. a. „Poem About My Rights“).

Texte
Tina M. Campt, A Black Gaze: Artists Changing How We See, 2021
bell hooks, „The Oppositional Gaze: Black Female Spectators” in Black Looks: Race and Representation, 1992
June Jordan, „Poem About My Rights” in Passion: New Poems, 1977–1980, 1980

Die Sitzungen werden in englischer Sprache abgehalten, Diskussionen in deutscher Sprache sind jedoch willkommen. Die Texte werden im Vorfeld nach Ablauf der Anmeldefrist an alle Teilnehmenden verschickt.

Die drei Sitzungen sind eine Fortsetzung von Connected within that Light: Eine Reihe von Lese-/Theoriegruppen im Gropius Bau, die das Ausstellungsprogramm der Institution in den Jahren 2020/21 lose begleitet und ergänzt. Sie wird von der in Berlin lebenden unabhängigen Kuratorin, Schriftstellerin und Wissenschaftlerin Kathy-Ann Tan konzipiert und realisiert. Die Sitzung findet online via Zoom statt.

* Die Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten erfolgt entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung der KBB, die Sie hiermit zur Kenntnis nehmen.