Concert

Opening

A Garden of Forking Paths

The festival opening of MaerzMusik 2022 invites the audience to wander through archipelagos of music under the spacious roof of the Gropius Bau – with appearances of (works by) Klangforum Wien, Satch Hoyt, “The Circle Flute”, Myriam Van Imschoot, Georges Aperghis, Rebecca Saunders, Toshio Hosokawa, Christian Kesten and others …

Martin-Gropius-Bau interior view, gallery on the 1st floor with view of the light roof above the large atrium

Martin-Gropius-Bau interior view, gallery on the 1st floor with view of the light roof above the large atrium

© Luca Girardini

Past Dates

Programme schedule and floor plan (, 111 KB)

Concerts online
Watch the concert at 21:00 live in the  Berliner Festspiele Media Library. It will also be available there afterwards as a recording.

Within a three hours’ space of time, “A Garden of Forking Paths” invites the audience to wander, float and focus on listening, alone and with others. The opening of MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues 2022 offers a place of encounter under the capacious roof of the Gropius Bau. Archipelagos of music and sound inhabit the spacious environment of one of Berlin’s most beautiful exhibition buildings – from the vast atrium and corridors to show rooms – waiting to be discovered, calling for attention, asking to be followed.

Amongst the music performed is Satch Hoyt’s acute and lulling “Hair Combing Cycle 1884–1885”, vocal pieces with the summoning sounds of the zaghrouta (ululation), “The Circle Flute” and outstanding solo compositions by Rebecca Saunders, Georges Aperghis, Toshio Hosokawa and Salvatore Sciarrino, performed by Klangforum Wien.

Within this relational landscape of sound, space, time and visitors, we invite you to find your own rhythm and your own path, to gather, disperse and reassemble. For pandemic reasons we provide two openings with nearly identical programmes.

Satch Hoyt
Hair Combing Cycle 1884–1885 (2017/2022)
for 18 performers
Luana Naquin, Isabel Kwarteng-Acheampong, Jeanne Autran-Edorh, Felizitas Fauther, Elif Huber, Marie Linzy Jessica Pierre, Haboon Hashi, Fiona Akhona Kohza, Helena Hartley, Kelly Moorosi, Fatima Bashir Abdulkadir, Clara Maria Gauger, Samantha Cara Scott, Jasmine Annae Prim, Youda Monga, Awa Naima Ba, Cecilia Susant, Ashley McElroy

Ride Cycle (2022)
for eight cymbalists
Jarita Freydank, Aine Fujioka, Laura Robles Marcuello, Jan Burkamp, Herve Hartock, Nadim Helow, Miguel- Alejandro Lagos- Miranda, Linda-Philomène Tsoungui

The Circle Flute
played by
Bettina Berger, Marieke Franssen, Bjørnar Habbestad, Michael Schmid

Solo pieces by
Georges Aperghis
Toshio Hosokawa
Rebecca Saunders
Salvatore Sciarrino
and others
played by
Klangforum Wien

Anissa Rouas and Myriam Van Imschoot
Segen #1
Vocal piece with zaghrouta(2022)

Christian Kesten
Who Am I (2022)
An opera for five voices. Installation / World Premiere
5 video screens, 5-channel sound, 40’ / loop
Cast: Christian Kesten (composition/space); Carsten Heitsink, Anke Ristentisch, Kai Schnittersen, Catherine Skinst, Hans Stincketier (voices); Kassian Troyer (sound direction & mastering); Adam Asnan (sound recording); Susanne Elgeti (Video); Maya Giger (make-up); Dorothee Scheiffarth (costume); Henrik Adler (dramaturgy); Bert Günther (technical support); Martin Wolff (video assistance); Vilém Wagner (production management)

Funded by Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR.
In cooperation with MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen.

Konzert

Opening

A Garden of Forking Paths

Die Festivaleröffnung von MaerzMusik 2022 lädt das Publikum zum Wandeln durch musikalische Archipele unter dem weitläufigen Dach des Gropius Baus ein – mit Auftritten bzw. Werken von Klangforum Wien, Satch Hoyt, „The Circle Flute“, Myriam Van Imschoot, Georges Aperghis, Rebecca Saunders, Toshio Hosokawa, Christian Kesten und anderen ...

Martin-Gropius-Bau Innenansicht, Galerie im 1. Obergeschoss mit Blick auf das Lichtdach über dem großen Lichthof

Martin-Gropius-Bau Innenansicht, Galerie im 1. Obergeschoss mit Blick auf das Lichtdach über dem großen Lichthof

© Luca Girardini

Vergangene Termine

Programmablauf und Raumplan (, 111 KB)

Konzerte online
Sehen Sie das Konzert um 21 Uhr live in der  Berliner Festspiele Mediathek. Es steht anschließend dort auch als Aufzeichnung zur Verfügung.

Innerhalb eines Zeitraums von drei Stunden lädt „A Garden of Forking Paths“ („Ein Garten von Pfaden, die sich verzweigen“) dazu ein, allein oder gemeinsam umherzuwandern, sich treiben zu lassen und zu horchen. Die Eröffnung von MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen 2022 bietet einen Ort der Begegnung unter dem weiten Dach des Gropius Bau. Archipele aus Musik und Klang beleben die Räumlichkeiten eines der schönsten Ausstellungshäuser Berlins – den weitläufigen Lichthof, Flure und Ausstellungsräume –, warten darauf, entdeckt zu werden, fordern Aufmerksamkeit und laden ein, ihnen zu folgen.

Zu erleben sind unter anderem Satch Hoyts eindringlicher und verführerischer „Hair Combing Cycle 1884–1885“, Vokalstücke mit ululierenden Klängen der Zaghrouta, „The Circle Flute“ sowie herausragende Solo-Werke von Rebecca Saunders, Georges Aperghis, Toshio Hosokawa und Salvatore Sciarrino, gespielt vom Klangforum Wien.

In dieser Landschaft aus Beziehungen zwischen Klang, Raum, Zeit und Besucher*innen laden wir Sie ein, Ihren eigenen Rhythmus und Ihren eigenen Weg zu finden, sich zu treffen, zu zerstreuen und wieder zusammenzufinden. Aus pandemischen Gründen bieten wir zwei Eröffnungen mit nahezu identischem Programm an.

Satch Hoyt
Hair Combing Cycle 1884–1885 (2017/2022)
für 18 Performer*innen
Luana Naquin, Isabel Kwarteng-Acheampong, Jeanne Autran-Edorh, Felizitas Fauther, Elif Huber, Marie Linzy Jessica Pierre, Haboon Hashi, Fiona Akhona Kohza, Helena Hartley, Kelly Moorosi, Fatima Bashir Abdulkadir, Clara Maria Gauger, Samantha Cara Scott, Jasmine Annae Prim, Youda Monga, Awa Naima Ba, Cecilia Susant, Ashley McElroy

Ride Cycle (2022)
für acht Beckenspieler*innen
Jarita Freydank, Aine Fujioka, Laura Robles Marcuello, Jan Burkamp, Herve Hartock, Nadim Helow, Miguel- Alejandro Lagos- Miranda, Linda-Philomène Tsoungui

The Circle Flute
gespielt von
Bettina Berger, Marieke Franssen, Bjørnar Habbestad, Michael Schmid

Solo-Werke von
Georges Aperghis
Toshio Hosokawa
Rebecca Saunders
Salvatore Sciarrino
und anderen
gespielt von
Klangforum Wien

Anissa Rouas und Myriam Van Imschoot
Segen #1
Vocal piece with zaghrouta(2022)

Christian Kesten
Who Am I (2022)
Oper für fünf Stimmen. Installation / Uraufführung
5 Video-Screens, 5-Kanal-Ton, 40' / Loop
Christian Kesten (Komposition/Raum); Carsten Heitsink, Anke Ristentisch, Kai Schnittersen, Catherine Skinst, Hans Stincketier (Stimmen); Kassian Troyer (Klangregie & Mastering); Adam Asnan (Tonaufnahme); Susanne Elgeti (Video); Maya Giger (Maske); Dorothee Scheiffarth (Kostüm); Henrik Adler (Dramaturgie); Bert Günther (Technik); Martin Wolff (Videoassistenz); Vilém Wagner (Produktion)

Gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR.
In Kooperation mit MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen.