Exhibition

Dayanita Singh: Dancing with my Camera

18 March to 7 August 2022

Since the 1980s, Dayanita Singh has pioneered a genre-defying approach to photography that pushes the limits of the medium. Dancing with my Camera presents the major phases of the internationally renowned artist’s oeuvre, from her earliest works through today. Along with key past works, including her “museums”, the new project, Let’s See, is especially realised for the Gropius Bau exhibition.

Dayanita Singh, Museum of Chance, 2013

Dayanita Singh, Museum of Chance, 2013

© Dayanita Singh

Singh’s black-and-white photographs create archives and spaces, presenting people and architectures from distinct backgrounds and geographies in states of interconnection. In her works, the photograph is only the raw material. By building mobile structures out of teak wood, her images are rearranged, recombined and re-experienced spatially; hers is a photography that both begins and ends with bodily experience.

Through a process of meticulous yet intuitive editing, Singh transforms her images into photo-architectures, montages and book objects – always guided by fluidity, music, choreography and movement. With her portable “museums” and book-objects, Singh has pioneered a form that is simultaneously a book, a catalogue and exhibition in itself. Singh shows how we can conceive of dynamic, mobile and accessible museums and exhibitions.

Dancing with my Camera is accompanied by an extensive catalogue with scholarly essays, published by Hatje Cantz. The exhibition will tour to the Museum Villa Stuck, Munich; Musée d’art moderne Grand-Duc Jean – MUDAM, Luxemburg; Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto.

Curated by Stephanie Rosenthal, Director, Gropius Bau

Partners: Alexa, Dussmann, Wall
Media partners: BerlinArtLink, Elephant, Monopol, PiB, Tagesspiegel

The exhibition is funded by Logo ART MENTOR FOUNDATION LUCERNE

Ausstellung

Dayanita Singh: Dancing with my Camera

18. März bis 7. August 2022

Seit den 1980er Jahren leistet Dayanita Singh Pionierarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Fotografie und überwindet immer wieder die Grenzen des Mediums. Dancing with my Camera präsentiert die wichtigsten Schaffensphasen im Œuvre der international renommierten Künstlerin – von ihren frühesten Arbeiten bis heute. Die Arbeit Let’s See wird speziell für die Ausstellung im Gropius Bau realisiert und zusammen mit ihren Schlüsselwerken wie den „museums“ präsentiert.

Dayanita Singh, Museum of Chance, 2013

Dayanita Singh, Museum of Chance, 2013

© Dayanita Singh

Singhs Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien schaffen Archive und Räume, die Menschen und Architekturen mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen und aus verschiedenen Regionen miteinander in Verbindung setzen. Fotografien sind in diesen Werken jedoch nur das Rohmaterial. Singh baut mobile Strukturen aus Teakholz, durch die ihre Bilder neu arrangiert, kombiniert und räumlich neu erlebt werden können; ihre Fotografie beginnt und endet immer mit der körperlichen Erfahrung.

Durch einen Prozess der akribischen und zugleich intuitiven Bearbeitung verwandelt Singh ihre Bilder in Fotoarchitekturen, Montagen und Buchobjekte – immer geleitet von Grundsätzen der Fluidität, Musikalität, Choreografie und Bewegung. Mit ihren tragbaren „museums” und Buchobjekten hat Singh eine Form entwickelt, die gleichzeitig Buch, Katalog und Ausstellung ist. Sie schafft erlebbar dynamische, mobile und zugängliche Museen und Ausstellungen.

Begleitend zur Ausstellung Dancing with my Camera erscheint bei Hatje Cantz ein umfangreicher Katalog mit wissenschaftlichen Essays. Die Ausstellung wird außerdem im Museum Villa Stuck, München, im Musée d’art moderne Grand-Duc Jean – MUDAM, Luxemburg und im Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto zu sehen sein.

Kuratiert von Stephanie Rosenthal, Direktorin des Gropius Bau

Book Building: Dayanita Singh and Gerhard Steidl

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen der Herstellung [building] und der bloßen Produktion [making] eines Buches? In dem Gespräch Book Building: Dayanita Singh und Gerhard Steidl, das am 19.3.2022 stattfand, berichteten Dayanita Singh und ihr langjähriger Drucker und Verleger Gerhard Steidl über die Geheimnisse ihrer Zusammenarbeit. Wie die beiden Publikationen schaffen, die das Buch als Objekt und seinen Platz im Kontext von Kunst und Verlagswesen neu definieren, erklären sie in diesem Video.

Partner:  Alexa,  Dussmann,  Wall
Medienpartner:  BerlinArtLink,  Elephant,  Monopol,  PiB,  Tagesspiegel

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch Logo ART MENTOR FOUNDATION LUCERNE