Concert & binaural audio livestream
Éliane Radigue

Éliane Radigue: The Electronic Works 5

Adnos II (1980)

In her “Adnos” trilogy, the composer Éliane Radigue forms a continuously transforming sound texture, inspired by the idea of moving water. Under the sound direction of François J. Bonnet, “Adnos II” (1979) finds its way into the starry dome of the Zeiss Planetarium.

Cardboard box for storing audio tapes

“Éliane Radigue – Échos”. A film by Éleonore Huisse and François Bonnet, F 2021, film still

© Éleonore Huisse, François Bonnet

Past Dates

To ensure sufficient time for admission and 3G entry check, please arrive at least 30 minutes before the start of the performance (no late admittance).

To celebrate the French music pioneer Éliane Radigue’s 90th birthday, MaerzMusik presents her entire electronic music oeuvre for the first time live. A series of seventeen concerts performed under the sound direction of François Bonnet, aka Kassel Jaeger, spreads across the entire festival. Set in the unique acousmatic environment of the Zeiss-Großplanetarium, this homage attempts to give full access to the enchanting depth of Radigue’s music for loudspeakers created between 1970 and 2000.

“Éliane Radigue was born on January 24th, 1932 in Paris, where she still lives and works today. From her Parisian childhood she will keep the memory of a secret initiation into music, mediated by a prudent piano teacher. Then she will continue with the harp, with singing and composition. But it is through the contact with ‘musique concrète‘, alongside Pierre Schaeffer and later Pierre Henry, that Radigue's music will find its genuine path.
Over more than 50 years there will be three distinct periods, each of them marking a rupture while evoking in its own way an inspired exploration of thresholds, of spaces opening up in intervals, and of a dialogue between listening experience and inner experience, personal history and sensible memory. The first period (1968–1971) is that of work on feedbacks and re-injections, an embryonic phase already signalling extreme preciseness as well as work on thresholds and threatened equilibriums. The second period that of maturity, and spanning thirty years (1971–2001), is characterised by a fruitful production of electronic compositions, indelibly linking her music to the unique beats of the ARP 2500 synthesizer. This period also initiates the elaboration of long forms with subtle variations that blossom and resonate between the story carried by the music and the test of time necessary for its unfolding. The third period, still ongoing, is that of her acoustic works created in close collaboration with musician-accomplices coming from all horizons, bringing an additional relational dimension to a music, which until then had been constructed solitarily. Throughout her life, Éliane Radigue has developed a candid, demanding and inspiring body of work which today influences a whole new generation of musicians.” (François Bonnet)

“From adage to adynamics, for all ados and adnos, this addendum:
Adage: slow exercises to improve the dancers' balance and the form of their movement. First part of a pas de deux.
Adné: any part that is connected or welded to another and appears to be part of it.
Ados: an earthen bank used to protect plantations from the north wind and expose them more directly to the sun's rays.
Addenda: that which is added to something to complete it.
Adynamia: the total absence of physical strength that accompanies a serious illness.
Adnos: moving stones in a stream bed does not affect the stream, but changes the fluid form.
Thus, a strong present sound energy transforms the course of fluid areas of resonance and generates developing sonic activity. Like the clock hand, it marks the gear mechanism of an open watch, integrated into its movement. In the conch formed by the course of the sounds, the ear filters, selects, favours, as would a gaze on the shimmering water. Listening alone is solicited, like an absent and double gaze, turned at the same time towards an externally proposed image, the reflection of which lives in reflection in the inner universe.” (Éliane Radigue)

Éliane Radigue
Adnos II(1980)
Music for loudspeakers / ARP 2500 synthesizer on magnetic tape, 72 min 44 sec

Produced at Éliane Radigue’s studio in Paris in 1980.
Premiered on 22 November 1980 at Mills College in Oakland.

François J. Bonnet sound direction

Konzert & binauraler Audio-Livestream
Éliane Radigue

Éliane Radigue: The Electronic Works 5

Adnos II (1980)

In ihrer „Adnos“-Trilogie formt die Komponistin eine sich kontinuierlich transformierende Klangtextur, inspiriert von der Idee des sich bewegenden Wassers. In der Klangregie François J. Bonnets findet „Adnos II“ (1979) Einzug in die Sternenkuppel des Zeiss-Großplanetariums.

Box aus Pappe zur Aufbewahrung von Tonbändern

„Éliane Radigue – Échos“. Ein Film von Éleonore Huisse und François Bonnet, F 2021, Film Still

© Éleonore Huisse, François Bonnet

Vergangene Termine

MaerzMusik feiert den 90. Geburtstag der französischen Musikpionierin Éliane Radigue mit der erstmaligen Live-Präsentation ihres gesamten elektronischen Musikschaffens. Eine Reihe von siebzehn Konzerten unter der Klangregie von François Bonnet, alias Kassel Jaeger, erstreckt sich über das gesamte Festival. In der einzigartigen akusmatischen Umgebung des Zeiss-Großplanetariums versucht diese Hommage die bezaubernde Tiefe von Radigues Musik für Lautsprecher, die zwischen 1970 und 2000 entstanden ist, vollständig zu erschließen.

„Éliane Radigue wurde am 24. Januar 1932 in Paris geboren, wo sie bis heute lebt und arbeitet. Durch eine umsichtige Klavierlehrerin erlebte sie in ihrer Kindheit in Paris eine geheimnisvolle Initiation in die Musik. Später kommen die Harfe, das Singen und die Komposition hinzu. Aber erst durch den Kontakt mit der ‚musique concrète‘, an der Seite von Pierre Schaeffer und später Pierre Henry, findet die Musik von Radigue ihren eigenen authentischen Weg.
Über einen Zeitraum von über 50 Jahren erstrecken sich drei verschiedene Phasen in ihrem Schaffen. Jede von ihnen markiert einen Bruch und ist zugleich inspiriert durch die Erkundung und Erforschung von Schwellen, von Räumen, die sich in den Intervallen auftun, und vom Dialog zwischen Hörerfahrung und innerer Erfahrung, persönlicher Geschichte und sinnlicher Erinnerung. Die erste Phase (1968–1971) betrifft die Arbeit mit Feedback und ‚Re-Injektionen‘ – eine embryonale Phase, die bereits Radigues äußerste Sorgfalt und Arbeit mit Schwellen und bedrohten Equilibrien erkennen lässt. Die zweite, reife Phase, die sich über dreißig Jahre (1971–2001) erstreckt, ist von der fruchtbaren Produktion elektronischer Kompositionen geprägt, die ihre Musik unauslöschlich mit den einzigartigen Beats des ARP 2500 Synthesizers verbindet. In dieser Phase beginnt die Entwicklung langer Formen mit subtilen Variationen, die zwischen der von der Musik getragenen Geschichte und der für ihre Entfaltung notwendigen Zeitspanne aufblühen und mitschwingen. Die dritte Phase dauert bis heute an und umfasst die akustischen Werke, die Éliane Radigue in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Musiker-Kompliz*innen unterschiedlichster künstlerischer Horizonte kreiert. Diese bringen eine zusätzliche relationale Dimension in eine Musik ein, die sich bis dahin im Alleingang entwickelt hatte. Im Laufe ihres Lebens hat Éliane Radigue ein aufrichtiges, anspruchsvolles und inspirierendes Werk entwickelt, das heute eine ganz neue Generation von Musiker*innen beeinflusst.“ (François Bonnet)

„Von Adage zu Adynamie, für alle Ados und Adnos, dieses Addendum:
Adage: Langsame Übungen, um das Gleichgewicht der Tänzer und die Form ihrer Bewegung zu verbessern. Erster Teil eines Pas de deux.
Adné: Ein Teil, der mit einem anderen verbunden oder verschweißt ist und so aussieht, als gehöre er dazu.
Ados: Eine Erdbank, um die Pflanzungen vor dem Nordwind zu schützen und sie direkter den Sonnenstrahlen auszusetzen.
Addenda: Das, was zu etwas hinzugefügt wird, um es zu vervollständigen.
Adynamie: Völliger Mangel an körperlicher Kraft, der mit einer schweren Krankheit einhergeht.
Adnos: Das Verrücken von Steinen in einem Bachbett wirkt sich nicht auf den Wasserlauf aus, sondern verändert die fluide Form.
So verwandelt eine stark präsente Klangenergie den Verlauf der fließenden Bereiche der Resonanz und erzeugt die sich entwickelnde Klangaktivität. Wie der Zeiger der Zeit, markiert sie den Mechanismus der Zahnräder einer offenen Uhr, der in ihr Uhrwerk integriert ist. In der vom Klangverlauf gebildeten Muschel filtert das Ohr, wählt aus und bevorzugt, wie es ein Blick auf das Glitzern des Wassers tun würde. Das Hören allein ist gefordert, wie ein abwesender und doppelter Blick, der gleichzeitig auf ein äußerlich angebotenes Bild gerichtet ist, dessen Widerschein in der Reflexion im inneren Universum lebt.“ (Éliane Radigue)

Programm

Éliane Radigue
Adnos II (1980)
Musik für Lautsprecher / ARP 2500 Synthesizer auf Tonband, 72 min 44 sec

Produziert im Studio von Éliane Radigue in Paris im Jahr 1980.
Uraufführung am 22. November 1980 im Mills College in Oakland.

Besetzung

François J. Bonnet Klangregie