Exhibition

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragility

25 March to 12 June 2022

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragility revisits a turbulent chapter in global modernism in Beirut from the 1958 Lebanon crisis to 1975, the year that witnessed the outbreak of the Lebanese Civil War. The exhibition showcases a heterogeneous mix of artists whose drive for formal innovation was matched only by the tenacity of their political convictions.

Aref El Rayess, Untitled, 1977–78

Aref El Rayess, Untitled, 1977–78

© Aref El Rayess Foundation, Aley, Mount Lebanon, courtesy: Saradar Collection

About the exhibition

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragilitymaps out a brief but rich period of artistic and political ferment. A continuous influx of intellectuals and cultural practitioners from across the Middle East and Arabic-speaking North Africa flowed into Beirut over the course of three turbulent decades marked by revolutions, coups and wars across the regions. Encouraged in part by the Lebanese banking secrecy law of 1956, a stream of foreign capital also flowed into the city. New commercial galleries, independent art spaces and museums flourished. Beirut was bursting at the seams, not only with people, but also with ideas. Yet beneath the surface of a glistening golden age of prosperity, antagonisms festered before eventually exploding in a 15-year civil war.

With a comprehensive multi-media installation by Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, created specifically for the exhibition

With works by Shafic Abboud, Etel Adnan, Farid Aouad, Dia al-Azzawi, Alfred Basbous, Joseph Basbous, Michel Basbous, Assadour Bezdikian, Huguette Caland, Rafic Charaf, Saloua Raouda Choucair, Georges Doche, Simone Fattal, Laure Ghorayeb, Paul Guiragossian, Farid Haddad, John Hadidian, Joana Hadjithomas, Jumana Bayazid El-Husseini, Khalil Joreige, Dorothy Salhab Kazemi, Helen El-Khal, Simone Baltaxé Martayan, Jamil Molaeb, Fateh al-Moudarres, Nicolas Moufarrege, Mehdi Moutashar, Aref El Rayess, Adel al-Saghir, Mahmoud Said, Nadia Saikali, Hashim Samarchi, Mona Saudi, Juliana Seraphim, Cici Sursock and Khalil Zgaib

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragility is curated by Sam Bardaouil and Till Fellrath, Associate Curators, Gropius Bau (since 1 January 2022 Directors at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin). The exhibition is organised in collaboration with the 16th edition of the Lyon Biennale of Contemporary Art.

To the exhibition imprint

Partners:  Wall,  Yorck Kinogruppe
Media partners:  Arte,  BerlinArtLink,  Kulturradio,  Monopol,  Tagesspiegel

The exhibition is funded by

Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Ausstellung

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragility

25. März bis 12. Juni 2022

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragility lässt ein bewegtes Kapitel der jüngeren Geschichte Beiruts wieder aufleben: die Zeit zwischen der Libanonkrise im Jahr 1958 und dem Ausbruch des libanesischen Bürgerkriegs 1975. Die Ausstellung zeigt eine facettenreiche Auswahl von Künstler*innen, deren Drang nach formaler Innovation oft ebenso stark war wie ihre politischen Überzeugungen.

Aref El Rayess, Untitled, 1977–78

Aref El Rayess, Untitled, 1977–78

© Aref El Rayess Foundation, Aley, Mount Lebanon, Courtesy: Saradar Collection

Über die Ausstellung

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragility zeichnet eine kurze, aber intensive Phase des künstlerischen und politischen Aufbruchs nach. Drei Jahrzehnte lang strömten kontinuierlich Intellektuelle und Künstler*innen nach Beirut, während Revolutionen, Putsche und Kriege den Nahen Osten und den arabischsprachigen Teil Nordafrikas erschütterten. In Folge des 1956 erlassenen libanesischen Bankgeheimnis-Gesetzes floss immer mehr ausländisches Kapital in die Stadt; kommerzielle Galerien, freie Kunsträume und Museen florierten. Beirut war geprägt durch eine außergewöhnliche Vielfalt an Menschen und ihren Ideen. Doch unter der Oberfläche dieses Goldenen Zeitalters schwelten die zunehmend unüberbrückbaren Gegensätze, die sich schließlich in einem 15 Jahre andauernden Bürger*innenkrieg entluden.

Mit einer speziell für die Ausstellung konzipierten Multimedia-Installation von Joana Hadjithomas und Khalil Joreige

Mit Arbeiten von Shafic Abboud, Etel Adnan, Farid Aouad, Dia al-Azzawi, Alfred Basbous, Joseph Basbous, Michel Basbous, Assadour Bezdikian, Huguette Caland, Rafic Charaf, Saloua Raouda Choucair, Georges Doche, Simone Fattal, Laure Ghorayeb, Paul Guiragossian, Farid Haddad, John Hadidian, Joana Hadjithomas, Jumana Bayazid El-Husseini, Khalil Joreige, Dorothy Salhab Kazemi, Helen El-Khal, Simone Baltaxé Martayan, Jamil Molaeb, Fateh al-Moudarres, Nicolas Moufarrege, Mehdi Moutashar, Aref El Rayess, Adel al-Saghir, Mahmoud Said, Nadia Saikali, Hashim Samarchi, Mona Saudi, Juliana Seraphim, Cici Sursock und Khalil Zgaib

Beirut and the Golden Sixties: A Manifesto of Fragility wird kuratiert von Sam Bardaouil und Till Fellrath, assoziierte Kuratoren, Gropius Bau (seit 1. Januar 2022 Direktoren am Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin). Die Ausstellung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der 16. Edition der Lyon Biennale of Contemporary Art organisiert.

Zum Ausstellungsimpressum

Partner:  Wall,  Yorck Kinogruppe
Medienpartner:  Arte,  BerlinArtLink,  Kulturradio,  Monopol,  Tagesspiegel

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch

Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes