Exhibition

On Caring, Repairing and Healing*

16 September 2022 to 15 January 2023

In autumn 2022, the Gropius Bau hosts a large-scale exhibition centering on caring, repairing and healing. Through installation, painting, audio and an extensive performance programme, On Caring, Repairing and Healing is a call to change. The ambitious exhibition aims to establish common ground on a matter whose relevance for individuals, communities and institutions is all the more acute in the pandemic age.

Kader Attia, Untitled, 2017

Kader Attia, Untitled, 2017, Exhibition view, The Field of Emotion, The Power Plant, Toronto, 2018

Courtesy of the Artist and Galleria Continua, photo: Toni Hafkenscheid

On Caring, Repairing and Healing is broad in its scope, showing how artists, healers and researchers suggest answers to urgent concerns: the material repair of objects, the care of all bodies and the environment, and the experiences of minorities, women and Indigenous people. Topics include land and territory, kinship and chosen families, and the politicisation of health – historically and today.

On the entire ground floor of the Gropius Bau, over twenty international artists will present works drawing on Indigenous and First Nations knowledge systems, challenging the foreign domination of female bodies, or charting changing notions of ability and disability. The exhibition shows the links between colonial, physical, psychological and material trauma. Building on Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing held in November 2021, the show invites us to reconsider art institutions and to ask what is accessible and for whom.

Curated by Brook Andrew, Kader Attia, Natasha Ginwala, Bárbara Rodríguez Muñoz and Stephanie Rosenthal with Clare Molloy in collaboration with SERAFINE1369, In House: Artist in Residence at the Gropius Bau 2021

* Working title

Partners: Wall, Yorck Kinogruppe
Media partners: Arte, BerlinArtLink, Elephant, Monopol, Tagesspiegel

On Caring, Repairing and Healing is organised in collaboration with Logo Wellcome .

Ausstellung

On Caring, Repairing and Healing*

16. September 2022 bis 15. Januar 2023

Im Herbst 2022 zeigt der Gropius Bau eine breit angelegte Ausstellung zum Thema Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung. On Caring, Repairing and Healing ruft mit Installationen, Malerei, Audioformaten und einem umfangreichen Performance-Programm zum Wandel auf. Die Ausstellung will eine gemeinsame (Diskussions-)Grundlage für Themen schaffen, deren Relevanz für Individuen, Gemeinschaften und Institutionen in Zeiten der Pandemie noch akuter geworden ist.

Kader Attia, Untitled, 2017

Kader Attia, Untitled, 2017, Ausstellungsansicht, The Field of Emotion, The Power Plant, Toronto, 2018

Courtesy of the Artist and Galleria Continua, Foto: Toni Hafkenscheid

Über die Ausstellung

On Caring, Repairing and Healing zeigt, auf welche Weise Künstler*innen, Heiler*innen und Forscher*innen versuchen, Antworten auf drängende Fragen unserer Zeit zu finden. Es geht um materielle Reparatur von Objekten, Fürsorge für alle Körper und die Umwelt sowie um Erfahrungen von Minderheiten, Frauen und Indigenen. Die Ausstellung umkreist Themenbereiche wie Land und Territorium, (Wahl-)Verwandtschaftsverhältnisse sowie die Politisierung der Gesundheit – sowohl im historischen, als auch im aktuellen Kontext.

Im gesamten Erdgeschoss des Gropius Bau präsentieren mehr als 20 internationale Künstler*innen Arbeiten, die sich auf postkoloniale und indigene Wissenssysteme stützen, Fremdbestimmung weiblicher Körper hinterfragen oder sich wandelnde Vorstellungen von Behinderung und Nicht-Behinderung aufzeigen. Die Ausstellung macht auf die Verbindungen zwischen kolonialen, physischen, psychologischen und materiellen Traumata aufmerksam. Aufbauend auf der Veranstaltung Ámà: 4 Days on Caring, Repairing and Healing, die im November 2021 stattfand, lädt sie dazu ein, Kunstinstitutionen neu zu denken und die Frage zu stellen, was für wen zugänglich ist.

Kuratiert von Brook Andrew, Kader Attia, Natasha Ginwala, Bárbara Rodríguez Muñoz und Stephanie Rosenthal mit Clare Molloy in Zusammenarbeit mit SERAFINE1369, In House: Artist in Residence im Gropius Bau 2021

* Arbeitstitel

Partner:  Wall,  Yorck Kinogruppe
Medienpartner:  Arte,  BerlinArtLink,  Cosmo,  Elephant,  Monopol,  Tagesspiegel

On Caring, Repairing and Healing wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Logo Wellcome realisiert.