Concert

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor
Dvořák | Szymanowski | Price

This year The Philadelphia Orchestra celebrates an important rediscovery. By programming Florence Price, the conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin features a composer whose works gained considerable attention in the USA in the Thirties and Forties by incorporating the echoes of the spirituals into a classic symphonic form. Pieces by Antonín Dvořák and Karol Szymanowski provide a rousing opening.

Photography of the young Florence Price

The young Florence Price in an undated photograph

Work introduction 19:10

Who was Florence Price? She combined echoes of the spirituals, jazz harmonics and African rhythms with an orchestral tone language that followed on stylistically from Antonín Dvořák’s “New World” Symphony to create “something thoroughly American” (Yannick Nézet-Séguin). The African-American composer graduated with distinction from the New England Conservatory in Boston at a time of structural sexual and racial discrimination in the USA which meant that, for official purposes, she had to claim to be Mexican. After a series of teaching appointments in the southern states that were her home, in 1927 she left following severe racist attacks for Chicago, where African-American artists were already leading a social and cultural renaissance. Here Price’s First Symphony won the coveted Rodman Wanamaker Prize and was given its world premiere by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, causing a sensation at the time. However, this success was of little use to the composer, as her works were subsequently unable to find a publisher and were forgotten after her death in 1953 – it was not until 2009 that workmen found a store of her lost manuscripts in the attic of her abandoned summerhouse in Illinois. Yannick Nézet-Séguin, who has been an advocate of the rediscovery of Price’s works for some time, now presents the composer’s First Symphony with his Philadelphia Orchestra. Before this, the world-renowned star violinist Lisa Batiashvili will perform the exotic and impressionistic First Violin Concerto by Karol Szymanowski, and Dvořák’s turbulent concert overture “Carnival” will provide a rousing opening.

Concert Programme

Antonín Dvořák (1841 – 1904)
Carnival
Concert overture for orchestra op. 92 (1891)

Karol Szymanowski (1882 – 1937)
Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 1 op. 35 (1916)

Florence Price (1887 – 1953)
Symphony No. 1 in E minor (1932)

Cast

Lisa Batiashvili violin

The Philadelphia Orchestra
Yannick Nézet-Séguin conductor

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

In preparing this website, the Berliner Festspiele team has made its best endeavours to clear all the required rights to images and intellectual property. If, however, any rights of third parties have been infringed in compiling these images, we would request that you notify .

Konzert

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Leitung
Dvořák | Szymanowski | Price

Eine bedeutende Wiederentdeckung feiert in diesem Jahr das Philadelphia Orchestra. Mit Florence Price hat Dirigent Yannick Nézet-Séguin eine Komponistin im Programm, deren Werke in den dreißiger und vierziger Jahren, etwa durch die Einbettung von Spiritual-Anklängen in die klassische symphonische Form, in den USA für Aufsehen sorgten. Den furiosen Auftakt bilden Kompositionen von Antonín Dvořák und Karol Szymanowski.

Fotografie der jungen Florence Price

Die junge Florence Price auf einer undatierten Fotografie

Einführung 19:10

Florence Price verband Spiritual-Anklänge, Jazzharmonik und afrikanische Rhythmen mit einer orchestralen Klangsprache, die stilistisch an Antonín Dvořáks Symphonie „Aus der Neuen Welt“ anknüpft – und schuf so „etwas durch und durch Amerikanisches“ (Yannick Nézet-Séguin). Die afroamerikanische Komponistin absolvierte in Zeiten struktureller Geschlechter- und Rassendiskriminierung in den USA ihr Studium am Bostoner New England Conservatory mit Auszeichnung, wofür sie sich offiziell als Mexikanerin hatte ausgeben müssen. Nach verschiedenen Lehrtätigkeiten in ihrer Südstaatenheimat ging sie infolge schwerer rassistischer Übergriffe 1927 nach Chicago, wo afroamerikanische Künstler*innen gerade für eine soziale und kulturelle Erneuerung sorgten. Hier wurde Price’ Erste Symphonie mit dem begehrten „Rodman Wanamaker Prize“ ausgezeichnet und anschließend vom Chicago Symphony Orchestra uraufgeführt, was damals eine Sensation war. Genützt hat der Komponistin dieser Erfolg allerdings wenig, da ihr Schaffen auch weiterhin nicht verlegt wurde und nach ihrem Tod 1953 in Vergessenheit geriet – erst 2009 fanden Bauarbeiter einen Fundus verschollener Manuskripte auf dem Dachboden ihres verlassenen Sommerhauses in Illinois. Yannick Nézet-Séguin, der sich schon länger für die Wiederentdeckung von Price’ Werken einsetzt, präsentiert mit „seinem“ Philadelphia Orchestra nun die Erste Symphonie der Komponistin. Zuvor widmet sich die weltweit renommierte Star-Geigerin Lisa Batiashvili dem exotisch-impressionistischen Ersten Violinkonzert von Karol Szymanowski, wobei Dvořáks turbulente Konzertouvertüre „Karneval“ für einen furiosen Konzertauftakt sorgt.

Konzertprogramm

Antonín Dvořák (1841 – 1904)
Karneval
Konzertouvertüre für Orchester op. 92 (1891)

Karol Szymanowski (1882 – 1937)
Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 1 op. 35 (1916)

Florence Price (1887 – 1953)
Symphonie Nr. 1 e-Moll (1932)

Besetzung

Lisa Batiashvili Violine

The Philadelphia Orchestra
Yannick Nézet-Séguin Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Das Team der Berliner Festspiele war in der Vorbereitung bemüht, alle Rechte an Bild und geistigem Eigentum rechtzeitig zur Veröffentlichung einzuholen. Sollten dennoch Rechte Dritter in der Zusammenstellung der Bilder verletzt worden sein, bitten wir um Mitteilung an .