Concert

Ensemblekollektiv Berlin

Enno Poppe, conductor
Iannotta | Xenakis I | Lim I

Mysterious musical instruments over 2,000 years old discovered in the mausoleum of a Chinese margrave provide the starting point for Liza Lim’s “Machine for Contacting the Dead”, which is presented by Enno Poppe with Ensemblekollektiv Berlin. An exploration that is preceded by works from Iannis Xenakis and Clara Iannotta.

A moonscape with crater

Installation “That’s a God-forsaken place; But it’s beautiful, isn’t it?” by Olaf Nicolai at the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, 2018

© Sebastian Stadler, courtesy Galerie EIGEN + ARTLeipzig/Berlin / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

Past Dates

Instead of an introduction:
16:10, Exhibition Foyer of the Chamber Music Hall
Book Launch
Tim Rutherford-Johnson, author of the book "“The Music of Liza Lim”, in conversation with Leonie Reineke, SWR editor for New Music, in the presence of the composer.
“The Music of Liza Lim” by Tim Rutherford-Johnson will be published on 12 September in the “Australian Composers series” by Wildbird Music Pty Ltd, ISBN 978-0-9875145-4-7.

Programme booklet Ensemblekollektiv Berlin 11.9.2022 (, 2.7 MB)

There are musical instruments whose sound has been lost for a long time. Deeply moved by the over 2,000-year-old instruments in the grave of Chinese margrave Yi of Zeng, that was discovered in Hubei prince in 1977, Liza Lim has explored these mysterious findings and formulated messages in sound: hypothetical, fantastic, experimental, but never intending to reconstruct the music, the sound of this sensational discovery. The Australian has constructed her ensemble music like a magical machine that seeks contact with the other side. Her message is delivered by a contemporary, western formation. The large cast of Ensemblekollektiv Berlin performs the musical-archaeological speculations of the composer who has been invited to the Spree as a Fellow of the Berliner Wissenschaftskolleg and whose work can also be heard at Musikfest Berlin in the form of a new String Quartet. In her fascination with relics of the past, Liza Lim is by no means alone in this concert. For Iannis Xenakis, ancient Greece represented a half-real, half-imaginary place of longing. With “Jalons”, he leads us into worlds in which there is nothing greater than the joys, cares and needs of the individual. Here Clara Ianotta also feels an affinity with him: “a stir among the stars, a making way” creates a surreal cosmos that is secretly centred around the electric guitar.

Concert Programme

Clara Iannotta (*1983)
a stir among the stars, a making way
for large ensemble (2019/20)

Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)
Jalons
for ensemble (1986)

Liza Lim (*1966)
Machine for Contacting the Dead
for 27 musicians (1999/2000)
German Premiere

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event.
Funded by means of the Capital Cultural Fund

In preparing this website, the Berliner Festspiele team has made its best endeavours to clear all the required rights to images and intellectual property. If, however, any rights of third parties have been infringed in compiling these images, we would request that you notify .

Konzert

Ensemblekollektiv Berlin

Enno Poppe, Leitung
Ianotta | Xenakis I | Lim I

Geheimnisvolle, über 2000 Jahre alte Musikinstrumente aus dem Mausoleum eines chinesischen Markgrafen bilden den Ausgangspunkt von Liza Lims „Machine for Contacting the Dead“, welches Enno Poppe mit dem Ensemblekollektiv Berlin präsentiert. Eine Spurensuche, der Werke von Iannis Xenakis und Clara Iannotta vorausgehen.

Eine Mondlandschaft mit Krater

Installation „That’s a God-forsaken place; But it’s beautiful, isn’t it?“ von Olaf Nicolai im Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, 2018

© Sebastian Stadler, courtesy Galerie EIGEN + ARTLeipzig/Berlin / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

Es gibt Musikinstrumente, deren Klang lange verschollen war. Tief beeindruckt von den mehr als 2000 Jahre alten Instrumenten aus dem Grab des chinesischen Markgrafen Yi von Zeng, welches 1977 in der chinesischen Provinz Hubei entdeckt wurde, sondiert Liza Lim die rätselhaften Funde und formuliert tönende Botschaften. Hypothetisch, phantastisch, experimentell, aber nie in der Absicht, die Musik, den Klang der Sensationsfunde zu rekonstruieren. Die Australierin entwirft ihre Ensemblemusik wie eine magische Maschine, die den Kontakt zum Jenseits sucht. Überbracht wird die Botschaft von einer zeitgenössischen, westlichen Formation. Das groß besetzte Ensemblekollektiv Berlin widmet sich den musikarchäologischen Spekulationen der Komponistin, die als Fellow des Berliner Wissenschaftskollegs an die Spree eingeladen ist und beim Musikfest Berlin auch mit einem neuen Streichquartett zu entdecken ist. Mit ihrer Faszination für die Spuren der Vergangenheit steht Liza Lim in diesem Konzert aber nicht allein. Für Iannis Xenakis war die griechische Antike ein halb realer, halb imaginärer Sehnsuchtsort. Mit „Jalons“ führt er in Welten, in denen es Größeres gibt als die Freuden, Sorgen und Nöte des Individuums. Darin ist ihm Clara Ianotta nah: „a stir among the stars, a making way“ entwirft einen surrealen Kosmos, dessen heimliches Zentrum die E-Gitarre ist.

Konzertprogramm

Clara Iannotta (*1983)
a stir among the stars, a making way
für großes Ensemble (2019/20)
Uraufführung der neuen Fassung

Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)
Jalons
für Ensemble (1986)

Liza Lim (*1966)
Machine for Contacting the Dead
für 27 Musiker (1999/2000)
Deutsche Erstaufführung

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.
Gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Das Team der Berliner Festspiele war in der Vorbereitung bemüht, alle Rechte an Bild und geistigem Eigentum rechtzeitig zur Veröffentlichung einzuholen. Sollten dennoch Rechte Dritter in der Zusammenstellung der Bilder verletzt worden sein, bitten wir um Mitteilung an .