Concert / Performance

National Gugak Center

Jongmyo Jeryeak

The Court Music Orchestra and Dance Theatre of the National Gugak Center in Seoul bring a centuries-old traditional Korean ancestral ceremony to Berlin. Jongmyo Jeryeak is a multi-genre art work that combines instrumental music, singing, dancing and costumes. This visiting performance takes place to mark the 50th anniversary of the Korean-German Cultural Agreement.

A woman in ritual garb holds up a stick and bells.

Jongmyo Jeryeak performance in National Gugak Center, Korea

© National Gugak Center

For some six centuries, the royal families of the Joseon dynasty held Jongmyo Jerye ceremonies to worship past kings, to inspire contemplation of and respect for the nation’s founding principles and to create harmony. Jongmyo Jeryeak rites were performed in magnificent and elegant ceremonies at the Confucian shrine dedicated to past kings, the Jongmyo, which is considered a milestone in the development of traditional Korean architecture.
Jongmyo Jeryeak, which represents the essence of palace culture during the Joseon Kingdom, has been preserved for posterity by the National Gugak Center (NGC) in Seoul. As Korea’s representative institution for traditional art forms, the NGC maintains the tradition of the Jangakwon, the academy of court music from the Joseon era.
Jongmyo Jeryeak was added to UNESCO’s list of Masterpieces of the Intangible Heritage of Humanity in 2001.

The Jongmyo Jeryeak performances in Berlin, Hamburg, Cologne and Munich that are part of this year’s tour by the National Gugak Center – with some 80 performers – are held to mark the 50th anniversary of the Korean-German Cultural Agreement.

Concert Programme

Jongmyo Jeryeak

Traditional Korean ancestral ceremony from the Joseon dynasty (1392-1910)
with music, song, dance and costumes

Guest performance by the National Gugak Center (Seoul/Korea)

Cast

National Gugak Center
Court Music Orchestra of NGC
Sang-won LEE director
Dance Theatre of NGC
Jeong-suk YU director

A group of Asian dancers in red robes hold up colourful sticks decorated with tassels.

Jongmyo Jeryeak

© National Gugak Center Korea

Presented by Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin in collaboration with the National Gugak Center Seoul, the Korean Cultural Center and the Cultural Department of the Embassy of the Republic of Korea.

The tour by the National Gugak Center is a joint initiative by the National Gugak Center, the Korean Cultural Center and the Cultural Department of the Embassy of the Republic of Korea, Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Kölner Philharmonie / KölnMusik GmbH and Bayerische Rundfunk’s musica viva to mark the 50th anniversary of the Korean-German Cultural Agreement.

Konzert / Performance

National Gugak Center

Jongmyojeryeak

Mit einer jahrhundertealten traditionellen koreanischen Ahnenzeremonie reisen das Court Music Orchestra und das Dance Theatre des National Gugak Center aus Seoul an. Die Jongmyojeryeak ist ein Gesamtkunstwerk, das aus Instrumentalmusik, Gesang, Tanz und Kostümen besteht. Ein Gastspiel anlässlich des 50-jährigen Bestehens des koreanisch-deutschen Kulturabkommens.

Eine Frau in rituellem Gewand hält Stock und Glockenstab in die Höhe.

Jongmyojeryeak-Aufführung im National Gugak Center in Seoul

© National Gugak Center

Vergangene Termine

19:10, Südfoyer
Einführung mit Frank Böhme

Abendprogramm National Gugak Center 12.9.2022 (, 4,8 MB)

Konzerte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 12. September 2022, 20:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts in der Berliner Festspiele Mediathek,
verfügbar 13. September 2022, 16:00 – 23. September 2022, 16:00

Etwa sechs Jahrhunderte lang nutzten die königlichen Familien der Joseon-Dynastie die Zeremonien des Jongmyojerye, um frühere Könige zu ehren, um zur Reflexion und Würdigung des prägenden Fundaments des Landes anzuregen und Harmonie zu schaffen. Die Jongmyojeryeak wurde in prunkvollen und eleganten Aufführungen am konfuzianischen königlichen Schrein Jongmyo aufgeführt, der als einer der Meilensteine in der Tradition der koreanischen Architektur gilt.
Die Jongmyojeryeak, die für die Essenz der Palastkultur des Joseon-Reiches steht, wird bis heute vom National Gugak Center (NGC) in Seoul bewahrt. Als Koreas repräsentative Institution für die traditionellen Künste führt das NGC die Tradition des Jangakwon, der Kaiserlichen Musikakademie der Joseon-Ära, fort.
Die Jongmyojeryeak wurde 2001 in die repräsentative Liste des Immateriellen Kulturerbes der Menschheit aufgenommen.

Die Jongmyojeryeak-Aufführungen der diesjährigen Tournee des National Gugak Center – mit rund 80 Performer*innen – in Berlin, Hamburg, Köln und München finden anlässlich des 50. Jahrestages des koreanisch-deutschen Kulturabkommens statt.

Konzertprogramm

Jongmyojeryeak

Traditionelle koreanische Ahnenzeremonie der Joseon-Dynastie (1392 – 1910)
mit Musik, Gesang, Tanz und Kostümen

Gastspiel des National Gugak Center (Seoul/Korea)

Besetzung

National Gugak Center
Court Music Orchestra of NGC
Sang-won LEE Leitung
Dance Theatre of NGC
Jeong-suk YU Leitung

Eine Gruppe von asiatischen Tänzern in roten Gewändern halten bunte, mit Quasten verzierte Stäbe hoch.

Jongmyojeryeak

© National Gugak Center Korea

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem National Gugak Center Seoul, dem Koreanischen Kulturzentrum und der Kulturabteilung der Botschaft der Republik Korea.

Die Tournee des National Gugak Center ist eine gemeinsame Initiative des National Gugak Center, des Koreanischen Kulturzentrums und der Kulturabteilung der Botschaft der Republik Korea, der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin, der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, der Kölner Philharmonie / KölnMusik GmbH und der musica viva des Bayerischen Rundfunks anlässlich des 50-jährigen Bestehens des koreanisch-deutschen Kulturabkommens.