Walk-in VR installation

I AM (VR)

By Susanne Kennedy and Markus Selg in collaboration with Rodrik Biersteker

Welcome to the theatre in virtual reality. An experimental, immersive setting invites us on a journey to the oracle. Between self-awareness, philosophical questions and seemingly psychedelic images, both our own fate and the future of the theatre are at issue.

Detail of a virtual room in a psychedelic computer game aesthetic. A seemingly motionless person lies on a pedestal at the far end of the room, which is open to the sky. The walls and floor of the room landscape are covered with mythical-looking patterns. The view to the sky is unobstructed. The gre

I AM (VR)

© Susanne Kennedy and Markus Selg in collaboration with Rodrik Biersteker

  • 35 min
  • In English

Visitors must choose a time slot when buying tickets.
Admission for 7 people every 60 minutes
First admission: 12:00, last admission: 22:00

Just like Oedipus travelled to the prophecy site in Delphi to ask the existential question of his origins, this is the place where wandering souls once more begin their search for the omniscient oracle. What kinds of experiences will we have in these spaces of powerful images, made up of fractal details? And which wisdoms can be gained by this insight into the depths of human longing?

In “I AM (VR)”, Susanne Kennedy and Markus Selg collaborate with video artist Rodrik Biersteker to explore new, immersive theatre dimensions, creating a world where the basic assumptions of human consciousness are playfully questioned. On entering the installation of the former set for “Oracle”, the audience gets into position with a VR-headset to dive deeper into this hyper-realistic, alienated cosmos. While levels merge and new steps are reached, the future reveals itself in the algorithms of the fractals. Is the whole only ever reflected in its components? What is real, what is fiction? Only after their awareness has been heightened over several stages, it is time for them to encounter the oracle. What are the questions that you will ask?

Artistic team

Susanne Kennedy, Markus Selg, Rodrik Biersteker Concept and design
Rodrik Biersteker Programming
Markus Selg, Rodrik Biersteker Visual design
Richard Janssen Sound design, composition
Susanne Kennedy Text
Tobias Staab Dramaturgy
Susanne Kennedy, Ixchel Mendoza Hernandez, Frank Willens, Ibadet Ramadani Voices
Ixchel Mendoza Hernandez, Benjamin Radjaipour, Thomas Hauser Avatars
Teresa Vergho Costume design
Ultraworld Productions Production
Something Great Management and distribution

A production of Ultraworld Productions in collaboration with Something Great, co-produced by Berliner Festspiele, Hybrid Box / Hellerau - European Center for the Arts, International Summer Festival Kampnagel, Münchner Kammerspiele, Noorderzon Festival of Performing Arts & Society, Schauspielhaus Bochum / Oval Office, Theater Commons Tokyo and Volkstheater Wien.

Begehbare VR-Installation

I AM (VR)

Von Susanne Kennedy und Markus Selg in Zusammenarbeit mit Rodrik Biersteker

Willkommen zu Theater in der virtuellen Realität. Ein experimentell-immersives Setting lädt zur Reise zum Orakel. Zwischen Selbsterfahrung, philosophischen Fragen und psychedelisch anmutenden Bildern wird neben dem eigenen Schicksal zugleich die Zukunft des Theaters verhandelt.

Ausschnitt eines virtuellen Raums in einer psychedelischen Computerspielästhetik. Auf einem Podest am hinteren Ende des nach oben offenen Raums liegt eine scheinbar regungslose Person. Die Wände und der Boden der Raumlandschaft sind mit mythisch wirkenden Mustern überfüllt. Der Blick zum Himmel ist

I AM (VR)

© Susanne Kennedy und Markus Selg in Zusammenarbeit mit Rodrik Biersteker

  • 35 min
  • In englischer Sprache

Für den Besuch müssen Sie beim Ticketkauf einen Zeitslot auswählen.
Einlass für jeweils 7 Personen alle 60 Minuten
Beginn: 12:00 Uhr, letzter Einlass: 22:00 Uhr

So wie Ödipus zur Weissagungsstätte Delphi reiste, um die existenzielle Frage zu seiner Herkunft zu stellen, startet hier für wandernde Seelen erneut die Suche nach dem allwissenden Orakel. Welche Erfahrungen werden wir in den bildkräftigen, aus fraktalen Details bestehenden Räumen machen? Und welche Erkenntnisse können durch den Einblick in die Untiefen der menschlichen Sehnsucht gewonnen werden?

In „I AM (VR)“ erforschen Susanne Kennedy und Markus Selg in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Videokünstler Rodrik Biersteker neue immersive Theaterdimensionen und kreieren dabei eine Welt, in der die Grundannahmen des menschlichen Bewusstseins spielerisch hinterfragt werden. Mit Eintritt in die Installation des ehemaligen Bühnenbilds von „Oracle“ begibt sich das Publikum auf Position, um mit einem VR-Headset tiefer in den hyperrealistisch-verfremdeten Kosmos einzutauchen. Während Ebenen verschmelzen und neue Stufen erreicht werden, zeigt sich die Zukunft in den Algorithmen der Fraktale. Spiegelt sich das Ganze immer nur in seinen Bestandteilen? Was ist real, was ist Fiktion? Erst nachdem das Bewusstsein für die neue Realität über mehrere Stationen geschärft ist, ist die Zeit reif für eine Begegnung mit dem digitalen Orakel. Welche Fragen werden Sie dem Orakel stellen?

Künstlerisches Team

Susanne Kennedy, Markus Selg, Rodrik Biersteker Konzept und Design
Rodrik Biersteker Programming
Markus Selg, Rodrik Biersteker Visuelle Gestaltung
Richard Janssen Sound Design, Komposition
Susanne Kennedy Text
Tobias Staab Dramaturgie
Susanne Kennedy, Ixchel Mendoza Hernandez, Frank Willens, Ibadet Ramadani Stimmen
Ixchel Mendoza Hernandez, Benjamin Radjaipour, Thomas Hauser Avatare
Teresa Vergho Kostüme
Ultraworld Productions Produktion
Something Great Management und Distribution

Eine Produktion von Ultraworld Productions in Zusammenarbeit mit Something Great, koproduziert von Berliner Festspiele, Hybrid Box / Hellerau - Europäisches Zentrum der Künste, Internationales Sommerfestival Kampnagel, Münchner Kammerspiele, Noorderzon Festival of Performing Arts & Society, Schauspielhaus Bochum / Oval Office, Theater Commons Tokyo und Volkstheater Wien.