Workshops
Thinking Together

Under the Rustle of Trees, We Listened to the Hum of Machines

Hosted by Abhijan Toto and Dennis Dizon for the Forest Curriculum

Thinking Together, the festival’s discourse format, is dedicated to time-related issues and questions that lay at the heart of the festival.

Clusters of threads move across the white image area, emerging from a lump-like structure.

Visual concept & design: Eps51, Berlin

  • In English

Past Dates

Please register: (limited number of participants).

The "Relationality Work Group" within Thinking Together gives time and space to focus on relationality itself, its politics, different forms, conceptualizations, genealogies, and practices.

“Under The Rustle of Trees, We Listened To The Hum of Machines” is a workshop developed by Abhijan Toto and Dennis Dizon for the Forest Curriculum, drawing on their ongoing research project “The Forest Curriculum's Weather Stress Index”. The workshop takes the form of listening sessions, reading and annotation groups, embodied exercises and karaoke interventions that investigate more-than-human relations and political and aesthetic registers. Rather than a traditional workshop model, these sessions are conceived of as sites of collective research to unpack ideas of “registration” and “indexicality”, and from here to turn towards an alternative conception of sensitivity.

“It matters what matters we use to think other matters with; it matters what stories we tell to tell other stories with; it matters what knots knot knots, what thoughts think thoughts, what descriptions describe descriptions, what ties tie ties. It matters what stories make worlds, what worlds make stories.” (Donna Haraway)

Thinking Together is the discourse format of MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues. Dedicated to the materiality of thought – the bodies, minds and senses that share this space –, the format provides time to connect to stories and through questions that lay at the heart of the festival.

Consisting of lectures, workshops, public talks, reading groups and experimental settings, Thinking Together invites artists, participants, guests and hosts to reflect present time related issues through the lenses of sound and vice versa.

Hosted by Abhijan Toto and Dennis Dizon for the Forest Curriculum

Workshops
Thinking Together

Under the Rustle of Trees, We Listened to the Hum of Machines

Mit Abhijan Toto und Dennis Dizon für das Forest Curriculum

Das Diskursformat Thinking Together widmet sich Zeitfragen und anderen Fragestellungen, die im Mittelpunkt des Festivals stehen.

Über die weiße Bildfläche bewegen sich Fadenknäuel, die aus einem klumpenartigen Gebilde hervorgehen.

Visuelles Konzept & Design: Eps51, Berlin

  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Die „Relationality Work Group“ im Rahmen von Thinking Together bietet Zeit und Raum, um sich mit Relationalität selbst auseinanderzusetzen, ihrer politischen Signifikanz, ihren verschiedenen Formen, Konzeptualisierungen, Genealogien und Praktiken.

„Under The Rustle of Trees, We Listened To The Hum of Machines“ ist ein Workshop, der von Abhijan Toto und Dennis Dizon für das Forest Curriculum entwickelt wurde und auf ihrem laufenden Forschungsprojekt „The Forest Curriculum's Weather Stress Index“ basiert. Der Workshop findet in Form von Listening-Sessions, Lesungen und Diskussionsgruppen, körperlichen Praktiken und Karaoke-Interventionen statt, die sowohl interspezifische Beziehungen als auch politische und ästhetische Register untersuchen. Das traditionelle Workshop-Modell erweiternd, sind die Sitzungen als Orte der kollektiven Forschung konzipiert, um Ideen von „Registrierung“ und „Indexikalität“ zu entschlüsseln und sich von dort aus einer alternativen Konzeption von Sensibilität zuzuwenden.

„Es ist von Bedeutung, mit welchen Anliegen wir andere Anliegen denken; es ist von Bedeutung, welche Geschichten wir erzählen, um andere Geschichten zu erzählen; es ist von Bedeutung, welche Knoten Knoten knüpfen, welche Gedanken Gedanken denken, welche Beschreibungen Beschreibungen beschreiben, welche Verbindungen Verbindungen verbinden. Es ist von Bedeutung, welche Geschichten Welten machen, welche Welten Geschichten machen.“ (Donna Haraway)

Thinking Together ist das Diskursformat von MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen. Es widmet sich der Materialität des Denkens – den Körpern, Geistern und Sinnen, die diesen Raum teilen – und bietet Zeit, um sich mit Geschichten und durch Fragen zu verbinden, die im Mittelpunkt des Festivals stehen.

Thinking Together besteht aus Vorträgen, Workshops, öffentlichen Gesprächen, Lesegruppen und experimentellen Settings und lädt Künstler*innen, Teilnehmer*innen, Gäste und Gastgeber*innen ein, aktuelle zeitbezogene Themen durch die Linse des Klangs zu reflektieren und vice versa.