Production / Live stream
The 10 Selected Productions

Der Tartuffe oder Kapital und Ideologie

By Soeren Voima
based on Molière and based on “Capital and Ideology” by Thomas Piketty

Staatsschauspiel Dresden

World premiere 2 October 2021

What if Molière’s conman Tartuffe had been around for Germany’s reunification? Soeren Voima and Volker Lösch transfer this 17th century comedy to the late 20th century and retell it by the example of a group of people sharing a flat.

Der Tartuffe oder Kapital und Ideologie. Video trailer

© Staatsschauspiel Dresden

  • 3 h, one interval
  • In German with English surtitles

The production as a live stream in the media library
Saturday, 21 May, 19:30 as a  live stream in the media library

Public discussion
Sunday, 22 May 2022 after the performance

In the 1980s, Orgon inherits a dilapidated house where he and his socialist flat share-friends live – and nobody pays rent. On the advice of his friend Tartuffe, Orgon starts to reorganise – and plunges deep into a neo-liberal catastrophe. Author Soeren Voima takes basic motifs from Molière’s 1664 classic and transfers them into an analysis of 40 years of economic and social history. With enthusiasm and Thomas Piketty, director Volker Lösch and his exuberant cast fling themselves into the gap between ownership and non-ownership and give the material a consummate shine.

Statement of the jury
Things have changed a great deal since the early 1980s, as evidenced by a flat share whose members have continued through their seedy, “who cares about cash”-beginnings to the orgies of speculation and the real estate boom of the present times. This extremely free adaptation only takes the most cursory of suggestions from Molière’s play; for the rest, Soeren Voima (alias Christian Tschirner) rhymes and writes a sharp-tongued trip across the economic, cultural and social transformation described by French economist Thomas Piketty in his analysis “Capital and Ideology”. The character of Tartuffe is an opportunity for the most shameless neoliberalism to shine and to always think and act a little quicker than all competitors. And what’s next? The end may be open, but it does not appear completely hopeless. How about a little more justice of distribution or economic morals – if such a thing even exists?

 To juror Franz Willeʼs video statement in the Berliner Festspiele Media Library (in German)

Artistic Team

Volker Lösch Direction
Cary Gayler Stage design
Carola Reuther Costume design
Peter Lorenz, Andreas Barkleit Lighting design
Jörg Bochow Dramaturgy

Cast
Thomas Eisen Madame Pernelle
Philipp Grimm Tartuffe
Jannik Hinsch Orgon
Henriette Hölzel Elmire
Yassin Trabelsi Damis
Marlene Reiter Marianne
Eva Lucia Grieser Dorine
Daniel Séjourné Valère
Oliver Simon Cléante
as well as Lara Otto

Performance rights: henschel SCHAUSPIEL Theaterverlag Berlin

Programme brochure

to download (, 3.4 MB)

Inszenierung / Livestream
10er Auswahl

Der Tartuffe oder Kapital und Ideologie

von Soeren Voima nach Molière und nach „Kapital und Ideologie“ von Thomas Piketty

Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Uraufführung 2. Oktober 2021

Was, wenn Molières Betrüger Tartuffe die Wende in Deutschland miterlebt hätte? Soeren Voima und Volker Lösch transferieren die Komödie aus dem 17. in das späte 20. Jahrhundert und erzählen sie anhand einer Wohngemeinschaft im Wandel.

Der Tartuffe oder Kapital und Ideologie. Videotrailer

© Staatsschauspiel Dresden

  • 3 h, eine Pause
  • In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Übertiteln

Die Inszenierung als Livestream in der Mediathek
Samstag, 21. Mai, 19:30 Uhr als Livestream in der Mediathek

Publikumsgespräch
Sonntag, 22. Mai 2022 im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

In den 1980er Jahren erbt Orgon ein heruntergekommenes Haus, in dem er mit einer sozialistischen Wohngemeinschaft lebt – niemand zahlt Miete. Auf Rat seines Freundes Tartuffe beginnt Orgon umzuorganisieren – und schlittert tief hinein in die neoliberale Katastrophe. Autor Soeren Voima übernimmt Grundmotive von Molières Klassiker aus 1664 und überführt sie in eine Analyse von 40 Jahren Wirtschafts- und Gesellschaftsgeschichte. Regisseur Volker Lösch und sein spielwütiges Ensemble werfen sich mit Begeisterung und Thomas Piketty in die Kluft zwischen Besitz und Nichtbesitz und bringen den Stoff virtuos zum Leuchten.

Statement der Jury
Seit den frühen 1980er-Jahren hat sich einiges verändert, zu erkennen am konkreten Beispiel einer Wohngemeinschaft, die sich aus verschlampten „Was interessiert mich Kohle?“-Anfängen bis in die Spekulationsorgien und den Immobilien-Boom der Gegenwart fortschreibt. Die sehr freie Nachdichtung übernimmt von Molière nur die allergröbsten Anregungen, ansonsten reimt und schreibt sich Soeren Voima (alias Christian Tschirner) scharfzüngig durch den ökonomischen, kulturellen und sozialen Wandel, wie ihn der französische Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Thomas Piketty in seiner Analyse „Kapital und Ideologie“ darlegt. In der Rolle des Tartuffe brilliert der schamloseste Neoliberalismus, der immer ein bisschen schneller denkt und handelt als alle Konkurrenz. Und wie geht es weiter? Der Ausgang bleibt zwar offen, scheint aber nicht völlig hoffnungslos. Wie wärs mit ein bisschen mehr Verteilungsgerechtigkeit oder – falls es das überhaupt gibt – ökonomischer Moral?

 Zum Videostatement von Juror Franz Wille in der Berliner Festspiele Mediathek

Künstlerisches Team

Volker Lösch Regie
Cary Gayler Bühne
Carola Reuther Kostüme
Peter Lorenz, Andreas Barkleit Licht
Jörg Bochow Dramaturgie

Besetzung
Thomas Eisen Madame Pernelle
Philipp Grimm Tartuffe
Jannik Hinsch Orgon
Henriette Hölzel Elmire
Yassin Trabelsi Damis
Marlene Reiter Marianne
Eva Lucia Grieser Dorine
Daniel Séjourné Valère
Oliver Simon Cléante
sowie Lara Otto

Aufführungsrechte: henschel SCHAUSPIEL Theaterverlag Berlin