Award Ceremony

Theatre-Award-Berlin by Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

Awarded to Amelie Deuflhard

Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung will award the 2022 Theatre-Award-Berlin to the theatre producer and director of Kampnagel Hamburg Amelie Deuflhard for her extraordinary services to the German-language theatre.

Amelie Deuflhard

Amelie Deuflhard

© Marcelo Hernandez

  • 1 h 40 min, no interval
  • In German

Past Dates

The jury reasons:
“Amelie Deuflhard has been the artistic director of Kampnagel Hamburg, Europe’s largest production centre for the independent performing arts, since 2007. In her work, the ‘European Cultural Manager of the Year‘ 2018 works tirelessly for their professionalisation, better financing and aesthetic self-ignition. Anyone who is interested in innovative theatre today or who is looking for new paths in the cultural sector cannot avoid the groups and artists she has discovered and promoted - and to whom she has always remained loyal. Her work has nothing to do with events, but a lot to do with serious debate. And with a political stance.
Artists may not be able to save the world, but Deuflhard is convinced that they are ‘people who reflect critically on the world‘ – and should show their colours. With EcoFavela Lampedusa Nord, she initiated a living and action space for refugees in 2014 and stuck to it even when the public prosecutor’s office investigated Deuflhard for ‘aiding and abetting the violation of the right of residence for foreigners‘. The project has found its extension at Kampnagel in the award-winning meeting place Migrantpolitan.
Amelie Deuflhard is a facilitator and mediator par excellence – always on the lookout for current topics, new artists and ideas, new experiences of space, time and the world. The Theatre-Award-Berlin is a lifetime achievement award, but Amelie Deuflhard still has many plans. She is particularly looking forward to accompanying the planned general renovation of Kampnagel: ‘The most innovative art site of the 21st century is to be created here, opening up new dimensions of international and transdisciplinary work and setting an example worldwide.”

The decision regarding this award was made by a jury consisting of the artistic director of Theater Bremen Prof Michael Börgerding, the theatre critic Sabine Leucht, the author, curator and former artistic director of Berliner Festspiele Dr Thomas Oberender, and with Theatertreffen’s director Yvonne Büdenhölzer attending with an advisory vote.

The Theatre-Award-Berlin was first awarded in 1988 on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Berlin Theatertreffen. Since then, the award ceremony has taken place annually as part of the festival at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. The Theatre-Award-Berlin is endowed with a sum of 20,000 Euro and will be awarded by Dr Klaus Lederer, Mayor of Berlin, Senator for Culture and Europe and member of the board of Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung.

With

Adrienne Goehler and Prof Dr Nikolaus Müller-Schöll Laudatory speeches
Amelie Deuflhard Artistic director Kampnagel Hamburg
Dr Klaus Lederer Mayor of Berlin, Senator for Culture and Europe and member of the board of Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

A Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung event, funded by the Ilse und Dr Horst Rusch-Stiftung.

Preisverleihung

Theaterpreis Berlin der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

an Amelie Deuflhard

Für ihre besonderen Verdienste um das deutschsprachige Theater zeichnet die Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung die Theaterproduzentin und Intendantin von Kampnagel Hamburg Amelie Deuflhard mit dem Theaterpreis Berlin 2022 aus.

Amelie Deuflhard

Amelie Deuflhard

© Marcelo Hernandez

  • 1 h 40 min, ohne Pause
  • In deutscher Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Die Jury begründet ihre Entscheidung wie folgt:
„Amelie Deuflhard ist seit 2007 Intendantin von Kampnagel Hamburg, Europas größtem Produktionszentrum für die Freien Darstellenden Künste. In ihrer Arbeit setzt sich die ‚Europäische Kulturmanagerin des Jahres‘ 2018 unermüdlich für deren Professionalisierung, Besser-Finanzierung und ästhetische Selbstentzündung ein. Wer sich heute für innovatives Theater interessiert oder im Kulturbetrieb neue Wege sucht, kommt an den Gruppen und Künstler*innen nicht vorbei, die sie entdeckt und gefördert – und denen sie immer die Treue gehalten hat. Mit Event hat ihre Arbeit nichts, mit ernsthafter Auseinandersetzung viel zu tun. Und mit einer politischen Haltung.
Künstler*innen können zwar nicht die Welt retten, sind aber nach Deuflhards Überzeugung, ‚Menschen, die die Welt kritisch reflektieren‘ – und Flagge zeigen sollten. Mit EcoFavela Lampedusa Nord initiierte sie 2014 einen Lebens- und Aktionsraum für Geflüchtete und hielt auch an ihm fest, als die Staatsanwaltschaft gegen Deuflhard wegen ‚Beihilfe zum Verstoß gegen das Aufenthaltsrecht für Ausländer‘ ermittelte. Das Projekt hat auf Kampnagel seine Verlängerung in dem preisgekrönten Begegnungsort Migrantpolitan gefunden.
Amelie Deuflhard ist eine Möglichmacherin und Vermittlerin par excellence – immer auf der Suche nach aktuellen Themen, neuen Künstler*innen und Ideen, nach neuen Erfahrungen von Raum, Zeit und Welt. Der Theaterpreis Berlin ist ein Preis für ein Lebenswerk, aber Amelie Deuflhard hat noch viel vor. Sie freut sich insbesondere darauf, die geplante Generalsanierung von Kampnagel zu begleiten: ‚Hier soll das innovativste Kunstgelände des 21. Jahrhunderts entstehen, das neue Dimensionen des internationalen und transdisziplinären Arbeitens eröffnet und weltweit beispielhaft ist.‘“

Die Entscheidung zur Auszeichnung traf die Preisjury. Dieser gehören der Intendant des Theaters Bremen Prof. Michael Börgerding, die Theaterkritikerin Sabine Leucht, der Autor, Kurator und ehemalige Intendant der Berliner Festspiele Dr. Thomas Oberender sowie mit beratender Stimme die Leiterin des Theatertreffens Yvonne Büdenhölzer an.

Der Theaterpreis Berlin wurde erstmalig 1988 aus Anlass des 25-jährigen Bestehens des Berliner Theatertreffens vergeben. Seither findet die Preisverleihung jährlich im Rahmen des Festivals im Haus der Berliner Festspiele statt. Der mit 20.000 Euro dotierte Theaterpreis Berlin wird verliehen durch Dr. Klaus Lederer, Bürgermeister von Berlin, Senator für Kultur und Europa und Mitglied des Stiftungsrates der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung.

Mit

Adrienne Goehler und Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Müller-Schöll Laudationes
Amelie Deuflhard Intendantin Kampnagel Hamburg
Dr. Klaus Lederer Bürgermeister von Berlin, Senator für Kultur und Europa und Mitglied des Stiftungsrates der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung, gefördert von der Ilse und Dr. Horst Rusch-Stiftung.