Discussion

“Critics’ Quartet”

In the run-up to the concert by the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique conducted by John Eliot Gardiner, music journalists Eleonore Büning, Michael Stegemann, Markus Thiel and Albrecht Thiemann discuss Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Missa solemnis”.

The "Critics’ Quartet” takes place instead of the usual introduction to the concert with the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique conducted by John Eliot Gardiner

Critics and artists are by no means natural enemies, even if the popular caricature would have us believe otherwise. After all, there were times when, like Hanslick and Brahms, they played the piano together four-handed. There is no reason at all to assume that these good old days are over, even if, in truth, the old days may not have been as good as we have been told. That is why it is all the more important that all those who care deeply about art and see themselves as its champions have to act in concert – together for art and indeed with a critical eye. In today’s music criticism, the business of public relations (portraits, home-stories, interviews) has largely prevailed over a critical discourse on musical works and their interpretations (reviews). In print media, layout and advertisement have replaced arguments, while on the internet, there is a great deal of argument by a great many participants, but a lot of empty talk as well. Which makes a critical institution like the Ranking of the Best, published quarterly by German Record Critics’ Award (“Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik”, PdSK) more important today than ever before.

In 1963, a small group of music critics joined together to initiate this award. Their aim was to install a reliable authority for quality control in a record market overlaid by advertisements, to give substantiated recommendations and thus promote the art of interpretation. Today, the association consists of 160 music critics from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. They work in 32 expert juries on a voluntary basis. Apart from the Rankings of the Best, they elect Annual and Honorary Awards each autumn. And occasionally, four of them get together to form a “Critics’ Quartet”, to publicly discuss a musical work and to compare recordings of it.

Eleonore Büning

Participants

Eleonore Büning Freelance music publicist
Michael Stegemann Professor of Musicology, TU Dortmund
Markus Thiel Münchner Merkur
Albrecht Thiemann Freelance music publicist

discussing “Missa solemnis” by Ludwig van Beethoven

Olaf Wilhelmer host, Deutschlandfunk Kultur

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event in cooperation with Deutschlandfunk Kultur and the German Record Critics’ Award e.V.

Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur     Logo Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik

Diskussion

„Quartett der Kritiker“

Im Vorfeld des Konzerts des Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique unter Leitung von John Eliot Gardiner diskutieren die Musikjournalist*innen Eleonore Büning, Michael Stegemann, Markus Thiel und Albrecht Thiemann über die „Missa solemnis“ von Ludwig van Beethoven.

Das „Quartett der Kritiker“ findet anstelle der üblichen Einführung zum Konzert mit dem Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique unter Leitung von John Eliot Gardiner statt

Kritiker und Künstler sind keineswegs natürliche Feinde, auch wenn das gerne karikaturenhalber behauptet wird. Immerhin gab es Zeiten, da spielten sie, wie Hanslick und Brahms, vierhändig miteinander Klavier. Es gibt jedoch keinen Anlass anzunehmen, diese guten alten Zeiten seien vorüber; auch wenn die alten Zeiten in Wahrheit niemals so gut waren, wie ihnen später nachgesagt wird. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass all diejenigen, denen die Kunst eine Herzensangelegenheit ist und die ihre Sachwalter sind, an einem Strang ziehen, gemeinsam und für die Kunst und – durchaus – kritisch. Inzwischen hat in der Musikkritik das Geschäft der Public Relation (Portraits, Homestory, Interview) den kritischen Diskurs über die Werke und deren Interpretation (Rezension) weitgehend verdrängt. In den Printmedien ersetzen neuerdings Setzung und Werbung das Argument, im Internet wird zwar von vielen sehr viel argumentiert, aber auch viel gefaselt. Und so ist eine kritische Institution wie die Bestenlisten, die der Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (PdSK) vierteljährlich veröffentlicht, heute wichtiger denn je.

Eine Handvoll Musikkritiker*innen hatte sich 1963 zusammengetan, um diesen Preis zu gründen mit dem Ziel, für den von Reklame überformten Schallplattenmarkt eine zuverlässige Qualitätskontrolle zu installieren, begründete Empfehlungen zu geben und so die Interpretationskunst zu fördern. Heute gehören 160 Musikkritiker*innen aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz zu diesem Verein, sie arbeiten ehrenamtlich in 32 Fach-Jurys und küren, neben den Bestenlisten, in jedem Herbst Jahres- und Ehrenpreisträger*innen. Und manchmal finden sich vier von ihnen zusammen zu einem „Quartett der Kritiker“, um öffentlich über ein bestimmtes Werk zu diskutieren und Platteneinspielungen zu vergleichen.

Eleonore Büning

Teilnehmer*innen

Eleonore Büning Freie Musikpublizistin
Michael Stegemann Professor für Musikwissenschaft, TU Dortmund
Markus Thiel Münchner Merkur
Albrecht Thiemann Freier Musikpublizist

diskutieren über die „Missa solemnis“ von Ludwig van Beethoven

Olaf Wilhelmer Moderation, Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschlandfunk Kultur und dem Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik e.V.

Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur     Logo Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik