Workshop

Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows

With Prem Krishnamurthy and Zippora Elders

Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows is a workshop guided by Prem Krishnamurthy, Artistic Director of FRONT 2022 triennial, during which he together with the participants will reflect on art as a therapeutic process and tool for transformation and healing.

Photo: Prem Krishnamurthy

To participate, please send an email to until 25 May 2022.

Prem Krishnamurthy, Artistic Director of FRONT International 2022, Cleveland Triennial for Contemporary Art, facilitates a multimodal workshop at the Gropius Bau – a participatory reflection on art and transformation at different scales. This experimental format emerges out of the curatorial process and approach for the triennial. Introducing key readings and references alongside projects by a selection of FRONT 2022 artists, the workshop uses writing, music, movement, and interchange to open up polyvocal ways of working in and on the world. The workshop is held in conversation with Zippora Elders, the Gropius Bau’s chief curator.

FRONT International second iteration is titled Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows and takes place across Northeast Ohio from July to October 2022. Inspired by a 1957 poem by Langston Hughes that meditates on the inseparability of joy and suffering, the exhibition embraces art as an agent of transformation, a mode of healing and a therapeutic process. Featuring over 75 artists across 25 sites in Cleveland, Akron and Oberlin, Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows explores how artmaking can transform and heal us – as individuals, as groups and as a society.

Prem Krishnamurthy is based in Berlin and New York. His work across media explores the transformative potential of art and design by experimenting with presentational strategies, performative modes and ways of communing. He is the Artistic Director of  FRONT International 2022; directs  Wkshps, a multidisciplinary design consultancy, and organises  Commune /kəˈmjuːn/, an emergent workshop that practices artistic tools for social transformation. Previously, Prem founded the design studio Project Projects (2004–2017) and the exhibition space P! (2012–2017) in New York. He received the Cooper Hewitt National Design Award for Communications Design in 2015 and KW Institute for Contemporary Art’s A Year With… residency fellowship in 2018. His professional papers were acquired by Bard College’s Center for Curatorial Studies in 2019. In 2021, Pompeii Archaeological Park released his digital artwork, Pompeii!, which reflects upon rituals, destruction, memory and letting go.

Workshop

Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows

Mit Prem Krishnamurthy und Zippora Elders

Im Workshop Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows reflektiert Prem Krishnamurthy, künstlerischer Leiter der Triennale FRONT 2022, mit den Teilnehmenden über Kunst als therapeutischen Prozess und als Mittel der Transformation und Heilung.

Foto: Prem Krishnamurthy

  • Englisch

Um teilzunehmen, senden Sie bitte bis zum 25. Mai 2022 eine E-Mail an .

Prem Krishnamurthy, künstlerischer Leiter von FRONT International 2022, Cleveland Triennial for Contemporary Art, lädt im Gropius Bau zu einem multimodalen Workshop ein – einer partizipativen Reflexion über Kunst und Transformation. Das Format des Workshops basiert auf dem experimentellen kuratorischen Ansatz der Triennale. Neben zentralen Texten und Referenzen werden Projekte ausgewählter Künstler*innen von FRONT 2022 vorgestellt. Außerdem werden verschiedene Ausdrucksformen wie Schreiben, Musik, Bewegung und Austausch genutzt, um vielstimmige Formen der Arbeit in und an der Welt zu eröffnen. Der Workshop wird im Austausch mit Zippora Elders gehalten, die als Hauptkuratorin des Gropius Bau Bezüge zum Programm des Hauses herstellt.

FRONT International 2022 findet von Juli bis Oktober unter dem Titel Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows in Nordost-Ohio statt. Inspiriert von einem Gedicht Langston Hughes’ aus dem Jahr 1957, das die Untrennbarkeit von Freude und Leid thematisiert, betrachtet die Ausstellung Kunst als Mittel zur Transformation, zur Heilung und als therapeutischen Prozess. Mit mehr als 75 teilnehmenden Künstler*innen an 25 Orten in Cleveland, Akron und Oberlin, erkundet Oh, Gods of Dust and Rainbows die transformative und heilende Kraft der Kunst, ob auf individueller, gemeinschaftlicher oder gesellschaftlicher Ebene.

Prem Krishnamurthy lebt in Berlin und New York. In seiner medienübergreifenden Arbeit erforscht er das transformative Potenzial von Kunst und Design, durch das Experimentieren mit Präsentationsformen und performativen Modi. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als künstlerischer Leiter von  FRONT International 2022 leitet er derzeit  Wkshps, ein multidisziplinäres Designstudio, und organisiert  Commune /kəˈmjuːn/, ein Projekt zu künstlerischen Werkzeugen für sozialen Wandel. Zuvor gründete Prem das Designstudio Project Projects (2004–2017) und den Ausstellungsraums P! (2012–2017) in New York. 2015 erhielt er den Cooper Hewitt National Design Award für Kommunikationsdesign und 2018 das Residency-Stipendium des KW Institute for Contemporary Art, A Year With.... Sein professionelles Archiv wurde 2019 vom Center for Curatorial Studies des Bard College erworben. Im Jahr 2021 veröffentlichte der Pompeii Archaeological Park sein digitales Kunstwerk Pompeii!, welches über Rituale, Zerstörung, Erinnerung und Loslassen reflektiert.