Lecture and Conversation

Rage Against the Thieving of Breath

Lecture Performance by Pallavi Paul, followed by a conversation with Natasha Ginwala

On 19 June, visual artist and film scholar Pallavi Paul will bring together her ongoing film research, followed by a dialogue with Associate Curator at Large, Natasha Ginwala.

Pallavi Paul, Pneuma (work in progress), 2021-ongoing

Pallavi Paul, Pneuma (work in progress), 2021–ongoing. Courtesy: the artist

  • English

Past Dates

To participate, please send an email to until 18 June.

The breath poses a distinctive challenge to the very idea of image making. How does one produce an image for a life phenomena that is present but invisible? The chasm between sensation and representation becomes instantly perceptible. The unrepresentability of the breath swells further as it weaves across the biological, cultural and political body – simultaneously material and etheric. The split seconds of composing a breath cycle is also a splitting of the edges of cinema. These edges find themselves overexposed today in an explosion of mass produced visual fragments circulating feverishly on social media, medical aesthetics, cinematic memories, and the general urgency of documentation at a time of monumental loss.

This event is part of Breathe, a discourse programme that unfolds in echo to the upcoming exhibition On Caring, Repairing and Healing(working title, on view from 16 September 2022) and explores how different power relations impact our ability to breathe.

With thanks to Savvy Contemporary.

Pallavi Paul is a New Delhi and Berlin based visual artist and film scholar. Her practice interrogates how the idea of “truth” is produced and argued in public life. Paul is particularly interested in the tension between the document and its aesthetic utterance – the documentary. She has received her PhD in Film Studies from the School of Arts and Aesthetics, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. Her work has been exhibited at Tate Modern, London (2013); AV Festival, New Castle (2018, 2016); Beirut Art Centre, Lebanon (2018); SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin (2019, 2022); Contour Biennale, Mechelen (2017); The Rubin Museum, New York (2019); New Alphabet School, HKW Berlin (2020); International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR, 2021); Colomboscope, Sri Lanka (2022) and Berlinale Forum Expanded (2022). In 2021, she was a visual arts fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

Vortrag und Gespräch

Rage Against the Thieving of Breath

Vortrag/Performance von Pallavi Paul, gefolgt von einem Gespräch mit Natasha Ginwala

Am 19. Juni gibt die Künstlerin und Filmwissenschaftlerin Pallavi Paul Einblicke in ihre laufenden Filmrecherchen, gefolgt von einem Gespräch mit Natasha Ginwala, der Assoziierten Kuratorin at Large am Gropius Bau.

Pallavi Paul, Pneuma (work in progress), 2021-ongoing

Pallavi Paul, Pneuma (work in progress), 2021–fortlaufend. Courtesy: die Künstlerin

  • Englisch

Vergangene Termine

Um an der Veranstaltung teilzunehmen, senden Sie bitte bis zum 18. Juni eine E-Mail an .

Der Atem stellt eine besondere Herausforderung für die Idee von Bilderzeugung dar. Wie kann man ein Bild für ein Lebensphänomen entwerfen, das zwar vorhanden, aber unsichtbar ist? Die Kluft zwischen Empfindung und Darstellung wird unmittelbar spürbar. Die Undarstellbarkeit des Atems wird noch größer, wenn er durch den biologischen, kulturellen und politischen Körper fließt – gleichzeitig materiell und ätherisch. Der Sekundenbruchteil, in dem ein Atemzyklus komponiert wird, ist auch eine Aufspaltung der Ränder des Kinos. Diese Ränder werden heute durch eine Vielzahl massenproduzierter visueller Fragmente überbelichtet, die fieberhaft in den sozialen Medien, in der medizinischen Ästhetik, in filmischen Erinnerungen und in der allgemeinen Dringlichkeit der Dokumentation in einer Zeit monumentaler Verluste zirkulieren.

Dieses Event ist Teil des Diskursprogramms Breathe (Atmen). Das Programm findet im Rahmen der kommenden Gruppenausstellung On Caring, Repairing and Healing (Arbeitstitel, ab 16. September 2022) statt und untersucht, wie verschiedene Machtverhältnisse unsere Fähigkeit zu atmen beeinflussen.

Mit Dank an Savvy Contemporary.

Pallavi Paul ist eine in Neu-Delhi und Berlin lebende bildende Künstlerin und Filmwissenschaftlerin. In ihrer Arbeit untersucht sie, wie die Idee der „Wahrheit“ im öffentlichen Leben produziert und diskutiert wird. Paul interessiert sich besonders für die Spannung zwischen dem Dokument und seiner ästhetischen Äußerung – dem Dokumentarfilm. Sie promovierte in Filmwissenschaften an der School of Arts and Aesthetics der Jawaharlal Nehru University in Neu Delhi. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem in der Tate Modern, London (2013), am AV Festival, New Castle (2018, 2016), im Beirut Art Centre, Libanon (2018), bei SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin (2019, 2022), auf der Contour Biennale, Mechelen (2017), im The Rubin Museum, New York (2019), als Teil der New Alphabet School, HKW Berlin (2020), am International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR, 2021), bei Colomboscope, Sri Lanka (2022) und im Berlinale Forum Expanded (2022) ausgestellt. 2021 war sie Stipendiatin des DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programm.