Concert

The Hemphill Stringtet // Hamid Drake’s Turiya // Craig Taborn

Three American improvisers connect past to the present and beyond. Chicago cellist Tomeka Reid leads a string quartet through rarely heard arrangements by Julius Hemphill while Chicago drummer Hamid Drake fetes Alice Coltrane. New York pianist Craig Taborn presents a new commission looking ahead.

Collage with Tomeka Reid from The Hemphill Stringtet, Craig Taborn, and the musicians from Hamid Drake’s project “Turiya”

The Hemphill Stringtet // Craig Taborn // Hamid Drake’s Turiya

© Scott Hesse, Courtesy of the artist, Rossetti

18:00 / European premiere

The Hemphill Stringtet

(US)

Cellist Tomeka Reid, who has played Jazzfest Berlin previously with Art Ensemble of Chicago, Dave Douglas, Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Ensemble and Rob Mazurek’s Exploding Star Orchestra, returns as a leader for the first time, with the European premiere of a string ensemble she assembled earlier this year for Chicago’s Frequency Festival. She formed the project to perform “Mingus Gold”, a dazzling 1988 effort by alto saxophonist and composer Julius Hemphill – known best as a founding member of World Saxophone Quartet – that arranged three indelible themes by the titular bassist in a bracing new context, reframing the originals in beguiling fashion. Reid, who has been improviser-in-residence at the Moers Festival in 2022, shares Hemphill’s indifference for genre boundaries. For The Hemphill Stringtet she enlisted violinists Sam Bardfeld and Curtis Stewart and violist Stephanie Griffin – like her, musicians equally at home in jazz and contemporary music contexts – who inject the performance with ferocious energy, occasionally adding improvising accents and lines. The programme also includes several compositions Hemphill wrote for World Saxophone Quartet, transcribed for strings.

Line-up

Sam Bardfeld violin
Curtis Stewart violin
Tomeka Reid cello
Stephanie Griffin viola

__________

19:30

Hamid Drake’s Turiya: “Honoring Alice Coltrane”
feat. Naïssam Jalal

(US, GB, FR, NO, IT)

The singular Chicago drummer Hamid Drake – a close collaborator of Fred Anderson, Don Cherry and Peter Brötzmann among others – first met Alice Coltrane at a concert in the Chicago area when he was only 16 years old. At the time, the keyboardist and singer had come into her own creatively and the young percussionist carried on a correspondence with the artist who helped him achieve his truly holistic musical world. He formed this ensemble to celebrate her spirit, touching on her exploratory jazz work and the religious music she performed at her Northern California ashram. Thanks to Drake’s endless invention on percussion, the group’s shape-shifting performances move through different tunes, grooves, and moods with seamless grace. The core band is comprised of bassist and long-time collaborator Joshua Abrams (Natural Information Society), the multifarious keyboardist Jamie Saft, sampladelic Norwegian DJ Jan Bang and the rising Italian vibraphonist Pasquale Mirra. For this special performance, the group’s frontline will include the British trumpeter Sheila Maurice-Grey, a key member of London jazz groups like Nérija, Kokoroko and SEED Ensemble, as well as the French-Syrian flutist Naïssam Jalal as special guest, rounding out a line-up that individually brings out different sides of Coltrane’s generous artistry.

Line-up

Naïssam Jalal flute
Sheila Maurice-Grey trumpet
Jan Bang electronics
Jamie Saft piano, keyboards, Fender Rhodes
Pasquale Mirra vibraphone, percussions
Joshua Abrams double bass, guembri
Hamid Drake drums, percussions, vocals

__________

21:30 / Premiere

Craig Taborn

(US, PT)

Pianist Craig Taborn visited Jazzfest Berlin virtually in 2020, playing in a trio with Mary Halvorson and Ches Smith as part of a series of livestream concerts from Roulette in New York City. This year Taborn is coming in person, for an exciting Jazzfest Berlin commission. The pianist is one of the most peripatetic figures in jazz and improvised music, a deep listener with an abiding love for countless eras and styles, whether black metal or Baroque music, yet there is nothing pastiche-like in his work, which rigorously synthesizes his inspirations and concepts in drum-tight contexts. While Taborn thrives on improvisation, he develops and ponders his ideas over time. At Jazzfest Berlin he presents a brand new quartet with his close collaborator, violist Mat Maneri – they both play together in Smith’s Bell trio as well as Taborn’s electric combo Junk Magic, among other more ephemeral contexts – along with two Berlin-based musicians that he is playing with for the first time. Taborn knows bassist Nick Dunston from the latter’s extensive work in New York with the likes of Vijay Iyer and Tyshawn Sorey, while Portuguese percussionist Sofia Borges is more of a wildcard in this setting, a committed improviser with a broad sonic palette, who creates atmosphere and texture as much as rhythm.

Commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin

Line-up

Craig Taborn piano, electronics
Mat Maneri viola
Nick Dunston double bass, electronics
Sofia Borges percussion, electronics

Konzert

The Hemphill Stringtet // Hamid Drake’s Turiya // Craig Taborn

Drei US-amerikanische Improvisationsmusiker*innen verbinden Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft: Die Cellistin Tomeka Reid führt ein Streichquartett durch selten gehörte Arrangements von Julius Hemphill, der Schlagzeuger Hamid Drake feiert Werk und Wirken Alice Coltranes und der New Yorker Pianist Craig Taborn präsentiert ein neues Auftragswerk.

Collage mit Tomeka Reid aus The Hemphill Stringtet, Craig Taborn und den Musiker*innen aus Hamid Drakes Projekt „Turiya“

The Hemphill Stringtet // Craig Taborn // Hamid Drake’s Turiya

© Scott Hesse, Courtesy of the artist, Rossetti

18:00 / Europapremiere

The Hemphill Stringtet

(US)

Die Cellistin Tomeka Reid, die bereits mit dem Art Ensemble of Chicago, Dave Douglas, Nicole Mitchells Black Earth Ensemble und Rob Mazureks Exploding Star Orchestra beim Jazzfest Berlin zu Gast war, tritt nun zum ersten Mal als Bandleaderin in Erscheinung: mit der Europapremiere eines Streicher*innen-Ensembles, das sie zu Jahresbeginn für das Frequency Festival in Chicago zusammengestellt hatte. Reid rief das Projekt ursprünglich zur Aufführung von „Mingus Gold“ ins Leben, einer überwältigenden Arbeit aus dem Jahr 1988 des Altsaxophonisten und Komponisten Julius Hemphill, der vor allem als Gründungsmitglied des World Saxophone Quartet bekannt wurde. In dem Werk arrangierte er drei markante Themen des namensgebenden Bassisten Charles Mingus und setzte sie in einen völlig neuen Kontext. Damit gelang ihm eine überraschend frisch wirkende Neuinterpretation der Originale. Reid, die 2022 als „improviser in residence“ beim Moers Festival zu Gast war, teilt Hemphills Gleichgültigkeit gegenüber Genregrenzen. Für The Hemphill Stringtet engagierte sie die Geiger Sam Bardfeld und Curtis Stewart sowie die Bratschistin Stephanie Griffin – allesamt Musiker*innen, die, wie sie selbst auch, gleichermaßen im Jazz und in der zeitgenössischen Musik zu Hause sind und sich durch ihr energetisches Spiel auszeichnen. Gelegentlich bringen sie improvisatorische Akzente oder eigene Melodielinien ein. Ihr Repertoire umfasst außerdem einige für Streichquartett transkribierte Kompositionen, die Hemphill ursprünglich für das World Saxophone Quartet geschrieben hat.

Besetzung

Sam Bardfeld Violine
Curtis Stewart Violine
Tomeka Reid Cello
Stephanie Griffin Viola

__________

19:30

Hamid Drake’s Turiya: „Honoring Alice Coltrane“
feat. Naïssam Jalal

(US, GB, FR, NO, IT)

Als er gerade einmal 16 Jahre alt war, lernte der einzigartige Chicagoer Schlagzeuger Hamid Drake, der unter anderem intensiv mit Fred Anderson, Don Cherry und Peter Brötzmann zusammengearbeitet hat, bei einem Konzert Alice Coltrane kennen. Damals hatte die Keyboarderin und Sängerin ihren eigenen musikalischen Weg längst eingeschlagen – und der fortwährende künstlerische Austausch mit ihr öffnete Drake erstmals die Türen zu seinem umfassenden musikalischen Kosmos. Er gründete das Projekt „Turiya“, um zu Ehren der Künstlerin an ihr wegbereitendes Jazz-Œuvre und die religiös-musikalische Praxis anzuknüpfen, die sie in ihrem nordkalifornischen Ashram ausübte. Dank Drakes unerschöpflichem Erfindungsreichtum am Schlagzeug trotzen die Performances der Gruppe jeglicher Kategorisierung und bewegen sich nahtlos und voller Anmut durch verschiedene Stile und Stimmungen. Der Kern der Band besteht aus dem Bassisten Joshua Abrams, dem wandlungsfähigen Keyboarder Jamie Saft, dem norwegischen DJ Jan Bang sowie dem aufstrebenden italienischen Vibraphonisten Pasquale Mirra. Für das Jazzfest Berlin werden außerdem die britische Trompeterin Sheila Maurice-Grey – ein wichtiges Mitglied von Londoner Jazzgruppen wie Nérija, Kokoroko und dem SEED Ensemble – sowie die französisch-syrische Flötistin Naïssam Jalal als Gäste in der Frontline der Gruppe zu erleben sein und damit eine Besetzung abrunden, die in ihrer Vielseitigkeit dem Facettenreichtum von Coltranes musikalischem Œuvre Rechnung trägt.

Besetzung

Naïssam Jalal Flöte
Sheila Maurice-Grey Trompete
Jan Bang Elektronik
Jamie Saft Klavier, Tasteninstrumente, Fender Rhodes
Pasquale Mirra Vibrafon, Perkussion
Joshua Abrams Kontrabass, Gimbri
Hamid Drake Schlagzeug, Perkussion, Gesang

__________

21:30 / Uraufführung

Craig Taborn

(US, PT)

Der Pianist Craig Taborn war zuletzt beim Jazzfest Berlin 2020 virtuell zu Gast und spielte im Trio mit Mary Halvorson und Ches Smith im Rahmen einer Reihe von Livestream-Konzerten, die aus dem Konzertsaal des Roulette in Brooklyn übertragen wurden. Dieses Jahr kommt Taborn persönlich für ein vielversprechendes Auftragswerk nach Berlin. Der Pianist gilt als eine der umtriebigsten Figuren des Jazz und der improvisierten Musik, als tiefgründiger Zuhörer mit einer ungebrochenen Liebe zu einer Vielzahl an Epochen und Stilen – von Barockmusik bis hin zu Black Metal. Dennoch wirkt seine Musik nie collagenartig, sondern führt die mannigfaltigen Einflüsse und Inspirationen stimmig in dichten Arrangements zusammen. Taborn lebt von der Improvisation, doch überdauern seine Ideen oftmals, indem er sie mit der Zeit immer wieder aufgreift und weiterentwickelt. Beim Jazzfest Berlin präsentiert er ein brandneues Quartett gemeinsam mit seinem langjährigen Mitstreiter, dem Bratschisten Mat Maneri. Mit dabei sind außerdem zwei in Berlin ansässige Musiker*innen, mit denen Taborn zum ersten Mal zusammenarbeitet. Den Bassisten Nick Dunston kennt er von Auftritten in New York mit Künstler*innen wie Vijay Iyer und Tyshawn Sorey. Und die portugiesische Schlagzeugerin Sofia Borges kommt in ihrer Eigenschaft als Improvisatorin mit einer breiten Klangpalette zum Einsatz, die Atmosphäre und Textur ebenso erzeugen kann wie rhythmische Triebkraft.

Ein Auftrag von Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin

Besetzung

Craig Taborn Klavier, Elektronik
Mat Maneri Viola
Nick Dunston Kontrabass, Elektronik
Sofia Borges Perkussion, Elektronik