Lecture and Conversation
Back Home

Thank You For Bringing My Work Back Home

With Henrike Naumann and Valeria Schiller

This lecture by Valeria Schiller and the following conversation between her and Henrike Naumann, who will join online, discuss the cultural-historical connections and parallels between Germany and Ukraine. Furthermore, they will reflect on the position of artistic practices and cultural work in times of the war in Ukraine. Shown at PinchukArtCentre, Kyiv, when Russia launched a full-scale invasion in Ukraine, 2000 was recently evacuated and brought to the Gropius Bau. The conversation will unfold surrounded by the pieces of the installation.

Henrike Naumann and Valeria Schiller in Naumann’s installation 2000, 2022

© Photo: Nik Mantilla, 2022

Past Dates

Please register by the day before the event with your full name via events@gropiusbau.de.*

Connecting historical contexts of East and West Europe with the recent journey of the installation 2000 of Henrike Naumann, Valeria Schiller will give a lecture about the role of cultural work and archiving through a brief history of Ukrainian contemporary art. Afterwards she will engage in conversation with Henrike Naumann, who joins online from New York. The conversation is moderated by Zippora Elders, Head of Curatorial Department and Outreach at the Gropius Bau.

This event deals with themes related to the war in Ukraine, violence and displacement.

Art historian, curator, and art critic Valeria Schiller has been based in Berlin since March 2022. From 2016 to 2018, she worked in the archive of the PinchukArtCentre’s Research Platform in Kyiv. 2019 she was a Junior Curator of the PinchukArtCentre and a Curatorial Team Member at the Babyn Yar Holocaust Memorial Centre. Since 2019, she has been teaching art history at the Kyiv Academy of Media Arts.

Henrike Naumann was born in Zwickau, GDR and lives and works in Berlin. She reflects socio-political phenomena on the level of interior design and domestic space and explores antagonistic political beliefs through the ambivalent aesthetics of personal taste. Growing up in Eastern Germany, Naumann experienced Neo-Nazis as a predominant youth culture in the 1990s. Therefore, she is interested in the mechanisms of radicalization and its links to personal experience.

Back Home: Artistic Practices, Cultural Work and the War in Ukraine is curated by Zippora Elders and Julia Grosse, with the support of Leonie Schmiese, Lijuan Klassen and Sarah Crowe.

Vortrag und Gespräch
Back Home

Thank You For Bringing My Work Back Home

Mit Henrike Naumann und Valeria Schiller

In diesem Vortrag und einem anschließenden Gespräch zwischen Valeria Schiller und Henrike Naumann, die digital aus New York dazu geschaltet wird, geht es um die kulturgeschichtlichen Verbindungen und Parallelen zwischen Deutschland und der Ukraine. Zudem reflektieren sie die Rolle kultureller Arbeit in Zeiten des Krieges in der Ukraine. Als Kulisse für die Veranstaltung dient die Installation 2000 von Henrike Naumann. Die Arbeit wurde im PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv gezeigt, als Russland die Großinvasion in der Ukraine begann, und ist nach ihrer Evakuierung nun im Gropius Bau zu sehen.

Henrike Naumann und Valeria Schiller in Naumanns Installation 2000, 2022

© Foto: Nik Mantilla, 2022

Vergangene Termine

Bitte melden Sie sich bis zum Vortag der Veranstaltung an, indem Sie eine E-Mail mit Ihrem vollen Namen an events@gropiusbau.de senden.*

Anhand der Geschichte zeitgenössischer Kunst in der Ukraine setzt sich Valeria Schiller mit der historisch-politischen Bedeutung von Kulturarbeit und Archivierung auseinander. Historische Kontexte werden so mit der jüngsten Reise der Installation 2000 von Henrike Naumann verbunden. Anschließend wird sie ein Gespräch mit Henrike Naumann führen, die digital aus New York dazu geschaltet wird. Das Gespräch wird von Zippora Elders, Leiterin der Kuratorischen Abteilung und Outreach am Gropius Bau, moderiert.

Diese Veranstaltung behandelt Themen im Zusammenhang mit dem Krieg in der Ukraine, Gewalt und Vertreibung.

Die Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin und Kunstkritikerin Valeria Schiller lebt seit März 2022 in Berlin. Von 2016 bis 2018 arbeitete sie im Archiv der Forschungsplattform des PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv, 2019 als Junior-Kuratorin des PinchukArtCentre und im kuratorischen Team vom Babyn Yar Holocaust Memorial Centre. Seit 2019 unterrichtet sie Kunstgeschichte an der Kyiv Academy of Media Arts.

Henrike Naumann wurde in Zwickau, DDR, geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie reflektiert gesellschaftspolitische Phänomene auf der Ebene der Innenarchitektur und des Wohnraums und erforscht gegensätzliche politische Überzeugungen durch die ambivalente Ästhetik des persönlichen Geschmacks. Aufgewachsen in Ostdeutschland, erlebte Naumann die Neonazis als vorherrschende Jugendkultur in den 1990er Jahren. Daher interessiert sie sich für die Mechanismen der Radikalisierung und wie diese mit persönlichen Erfahrungen verknüpft sind.

Back Home wird von Zippora Elders und Julia Grosse kuratiert, mit Unterstützung von Leonie Schmiese, Lijuan Klassen und Sarah Crowe.