Workshop
Education

JuGroBa x Louise Bourgeois: Textile Memories and Stories

Part of Louise Bourgeois: The Woven Child

What kind of memories and narratives do clothes bear? How can clothes tell stories? Based on these questions, the young Gropius Bau (JuGroBa) embarks on a practical and creative encounter with the exhibition Louise Bourgeois: The Woven Child.

© Photo: Sophie Bohmeier

  • 5 hours
  • 16-22 years

Past Dates

The number of participants is limited.

Louise Bourgeois collected textile pieces from her mother and her own childhood over centuries. She continued to (re-)use them for her sculptural installations, in which she connected the acts of cutting, wrenching, sewing and reconstructing to the themes of repair, redemption and traumata. This way, she processed memories of specific places and people in her textile works.

The participants of the workshop are invited to bring their own pieces of clothing along with photographs and memories connected to them. Sophie Bohmeier, the facilitator of the workshop, will show how the stories and memories can be worked into the pieces of clothing. Also, textile artist Mira Brunner will guide the participants through the exhibition Louise Bourgeois: The Woven Child. In the end, the created artworks can be presented and photographed in the exhibition.

Mira Brunner is an artist and an archivist based in Berlin. She spent many years working at the Louise Bourgeois Archive in Bourgeois’s New York City home, which is preserved as the artist left it. Bourgeois’s house served as a “mother-cell” to Brunner’s later work, acting as the context and model for the conception of much of her fabric work.

Sophie Bohmeier was born and grew up in a small town close to Ravensburg. She studies communication design at the university of arts (UdK) in Berlin. In her thesis she processed intergenerational traumata by using text and illustrations and creating a reversible coat with the title Tearing the Seams.

The Young Gropius Bau is a group of younger people between 16 and 22 years, who expose the themes of the changing exhibition from their perspective and try to offer a diverse programme for young people at Gropius Bau.

Workshop
Vermittlung

JuGroBa x Louise Bourgeois: Textile Erinnerungen und Erzählungen

Im Rahmen von Louise Bourgeois: The Woven Child

Welche Erinnerungen und Erzählungen tragen Kleidungsstücke in und mit sich? Wie kann Kleidung Geschichten erzählen? Mit diesen Fragen möchte sich der Junge Gropius Bau (JuGroBa) in dem Workshop Textile Erinnerungen und Erzählungen zur aktuellen Ausstellung Louise Bourgeois: The Woven Child kreativ und praktisch auseinandersetzen.

© Foto: Sophie Bohmeier

  • 5 Stunden
  • 16-22 Jahre

Vergangene Termine

Die Anzahl der Teilnehmenden ist begrenzt.

Louise Bourgeois sammelte Jahrzehnte lang Kleidungsstücke aus dem Besitz ihrer Mutter und ihrer eigenen Kindheit. Diese verwendete sie für skulpturale Installationen. Den Prozess des Schneidens, Reißens, Nähens und Zusammenfügens verband Bourgeois mit den Themen Reparatur, Wiedergutmachung und Traumata. So verarbeite sie in ihren textilen Werken Erinnerungen an bestimmte Orte und Menschen.

Die Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen sind dazu eingeladen, eigene Kleidungsstücke und damit verbundene Fotografien mitzubringen. Die Leiterin des Workshops, Sophie Bohmeier, zeigt wie Erinnerungen und Erzählungen in die mitgebrachten Kleidungsstücke eingearbeitet werden können. Zusätzlich wird, gemeinsam mit der Textilkünstlerin Mira Brunner, die Ausstellung Louise Bourgeois: The Woven Child besucht. Am Ende des Workshops können die erstellten textilen Kunstwerke und Erinnerungsstücke in der Ausstellung präsentiert und fotografiert werden.

Mira Brunner ist eine in Berlin lebende Künstlerin und Archivarin. Sie hat viele Jahre im Louise Bourgeois-Archiv in Bourgeois’ Haus in New York City gearbeitet, das so erhalten ist, wie die Künstlerin es hinterlassen hat. Das Haus von Bourgeois diente als „Mutterzelle” für Brunners eigene künstlerische Arbeit und diente als Kontext und Modell für die Konzeption eines Großteils ihrer Stoffarbeiten.

Sophie Bohmeier ist geboren und aufgewachsen in einem kleinen Ort in der Nähe von Ravensburg. Sie studierte Kommunikationsdesign an der Universität der Künste (UdK) in Berlin. In ihrer Abschlussarbeit verarbeitete sie intergenerationale Traumata in Form von Text und Illustrationen zu einem Wendemantel mit dem Titel Tearing the Seams.

Junger Gropius Bau sind Jugendliche zwischen 16-22 Jahren, die sich aus ihrer Perspektive mit den Themen der Ausstellungen auseinandersetzen und zugängliche sowie abwechslungsreiche Angebote für Jugendliche am Haus schaffen.