Participatory intervention
YOYI! Care, Repair, Heal

visions: Acupuncture Clinic

SERAFINE1369’s programme visions opens with a community acupuncture clinic in the Gropius Bau’s atrium, the heart of the building. Throughout one week, qualified acupuncturists will be available for free treatment sessions. The clinic, facilitated by Zinzi Buchanan, is a direct response to the themes of care, repair and healing.

A drawing of a heart above which you can find the word “visions”

SERAFINE1369, visions, 2022

  • Treatments last 20–45 minutes

Past Dates

Turning the attention towards interior space and our bodies’ permeabilities, the clinic is an offering that interprets the internal activities of our individual bodies as a kind of live performance. The clinic invited several healers with community-based work in Berlin to bring their practices into the heart of the Gropius Bau.

visions is a programme of live performance that seeks to encourage an embodied approach to engaging with live work and choreography where all bodies present are implicated and senses beyond visual sight are activated. It is an invitation to be with what is conjured, stirred up and rising to the surface of each of our particular bodies, in relation and response to the environment. As such, each offering is somehow immersive. All events are free to attend and happen during regular opening hours of the Gropius Bau.

Community acupuncture in the West has taken many forms over the years. Despite its standardisation and legitimisation, acupuncture is kept in the margins of Western societies. By bringing acupuncture into the centre of the Gropius Bau, SERAFINE1369 reflects on what care work is and whose hands care, repair and healing is in.

The scenography, designed by Soft Tissue Studio, subtly morphs with each intervention.

Booking an appointment:
Bookings open at 10:00 on 5 October 2022. The appointments will take place between 11:00–17:00. Bookings can be made in person at the acupuncture clinic reception in the Gropius Bau atrium or by phone on 0049 (0) 16098063312 between 5–10 October from 10:00–17:00. NADA treatments are also available for booking at the clinic. They involve the gentle placement of up to five small needles into specific points on the outer part of each ear.

What to wear:
Please wear loose fitting clothing to your appointment so that your limbs may be easily accessible and lying down can be comfortable. You will not have to fully undress.

Arriving for your appointment:
Please arrive at the acupuncture clinic reception in the Gropius Bau atrium at least 15 minutes before your appointment. You will be given a corresponding treatment contract (, 125 KB) to complete and shown to the waiting area.

During the appointment:
Your practitioner will greet you in the waiting area and take you to the consultation space. Here you can briefly discuss your needs and the practitioner will carry out a diagnosis in line with Traditional Chinese Medicine. This involves listening to your pulse by making contact with your wrist and asking you to stick out your tongue to have a look at it. They may also ask you questions about your body, emotions, medical history and lifestyle. Any information you share will be treated confidentially. Then you will be taken to a massage bed in the Gropius Bau atrium where you will be invited to lie down. You will have to roll up your sleeves or trousers and remove your shoes and socks. The acupuncturist will then insert thin, sterile, single use needles through the skin at specific points on the body in accordance with the meridians (lines or pathways of energy that traverse our bodies). The practitioner chooses these points based on what will offer the most effective treatment for you. Acupuncture needles can be inserted at different points on the body depending on the condition and the formula for treatment. You can expect to receive needles in your feet, hands and limbs. Any needles on other parts of the body will be given only after asking for your explicit consent by the practitioner.

Important information about the clinic:
The atrium is open to the public during clinic hours and there will be people moving through the space who have not come for acupuncture. The appointments themselves will be behind a curtain, but the waiting area is in the open. All areas of the clinic will be partly visible, including from the balconies of the Gropius Bau. For this reason, we request wearing clothes that are loose-fitting so that undressing is not needed.

This is a new and unconventional setting for a community acupuncture clinic. The Gropius Bau is open to the public and there are exhibitions on simultaneously. For this reason the clinic would like to share a few points of attention as a way to nurture this space for healing in this week:

  • Please be mindful that some people are receiving or have just received treatment.
  • Please refrain from having long phone conversations in the atrium.
  • Please be aware of personal space. This includes how long you look at someone for.
  • Please be respectful to our acupuncturists. Any discriminatory treatment will result in a refusal to follow through with treatment.
  • Please refrain from taking photographs of the clinic and allow the practitioners and people receiving treatment the privacy they deserve.
  • Please take time to reflect on your own healing and if and how collective spaces can support you in it.

Team:
The practitioners practise community acupuncture in various places in Berlin including a self-organised clinic called  metamorfosis and a once-squatted building that has centred healing since 1981 called  Heilehaus e.V.. Many of the spaces are more than just a place to receive treatment, but are places where people affected by capitalist violence can get a break.

Tzoa
Pronoun: he/him
Tzoa is a gender-non-conforming trans* masc of colour, passionate about the decolonisation of bodies, healing and the self.
Link:  https://casa-kua.com/tzoa
Languages spoken: English, German, French, Spanish, Chinese

Swantje
Pronouns: she/they
Swantje is an acupuncturist, massage therapist and shiatsu practitioner. For Swantje, treating people means looking behind their symptoms, to see the whole person with all their patterns, emotions and traumas.
Link:  https://heilehaus-berlin.de/gesundheitsberatung
Languages spoken: German, English

Shima Saeedi
Pronouns: she/her
Shima Saeedi works with a sliding scale model for her treatments, where people pay what they can afford. She supports people with traumatic experiences caused by structural discrimination. She practices community acupuncture at Berlinakupunktur and Naturheilpraxis am Ufer. Politically, she likes how community acupuncture makes treatment more accessible and affordable, especially for marginalised people. For her it is also a more original way to practice acupuncture, by bringing the practice to a wider public and making it less of a commodity.
Link:
Languages spoken: Farsi, German, English

Sophie
Pronouns: she/they
Sophie advocates for and practices healing to be able to be more loving and dangerously connected.
Links:  medizinkollektiv.net,  metamorfosis.de
Languages spoken: German, English, French

Julien Darmaillacq
Pronouns: he/him
Julien Darmaillacq works with Chinese medicine, acupuncture and phytotherapy to unlock emotional and physical blockages, diseases and disharmony. He contends that our environment, family and society structures can lead to a disconnection between our bodies and minds. He aims to create an environment that is respectful of sensitivities, gender and history, in order to work together to take back control and understanding of oneself. He currently works at Naturheilpraxis am Ufer, Praxis Metamorfosis and Berlinakupunktur.
Links:  https://metamorfosis.de  http://berlin-akupunktur.com
Languages spoken: German, English, French

Franz Kratochwil
Pronouns: he/him
Franz Kratochwil loves Chinese Medicine, which brought him to work as an acupuncturist and teacher for Chinese Medicine. Since 2020, he is the head of Shou Zhong.
Links:  www.towanohikari.com,  www.shouzhong.berlin
Languages spoken: German, English

Zinzi Buchanan
Pronouns: they/them
Zinzi Buchanan is an artist working with dance, performance, facilitation and writing. In 2019, they completed an MA in visual cultures at Goldsmiths University in London and have since been focusing on experiences of chronic sickness and queer survival in their art-making. This includes their thesis Loving On The Edge (2019), a friendship-based theatre performance called Rogue Intensities (2020) and a year-long project called Sick Bed Series (2021). They were a 2020/21 recipient of the Berlin Tanzstipendium, researching grief from chronic pain. In 2021, they trained to be a death doula with INELDA (International End of Life Doula Association) and are finding ways to accompany themselves and others through big change. They are currently in Glasgow training in TCM (Traditional Chinese medicine) and reconnecting to their mining ancestry through a project called THE PITS.

Disclaimer
(1) The acupuncture treatments are carried out by and the responsibility of the respective practising acupuncturists.
(2) A treatment contract between the practising acupuncturists and the visitors is concluded in writing directly on site.
(3) The corresponding treatment contract is available on site.
(4) Appointments for the treatments will be made on site in the atrium of the Gropius Bau by the practitioners. Treatments can also be booked by telephone between 5–10 October from 10:00–17:00 at 0049 160 98063312.
(5) The premises of the Gropius Bau are made available for the acupuncture treatments as part of an artistic performance. The Gropius Bau is neither the organiser nor the performer of the treatments and accordingly accepts no responsibility for the treatments.
(6) The appointments are part of an artistic performance. The atrium is open to the public during clinic hours and there will be people moving through the space who have not come for acupuncture appointments.

Partizipative Intervention
YOYI! Care, Repair, Heal

visions: Acupuncture Clinic

Den ersten Teil von SERAFINE1369s Programm visions bildet eine gemeinschaftliche Akupunkturpraxis im Lichthof des Gropius Bau, dem Herzstück des Gebäudes. Qualifizierte Akupunkturpraktiker*innen bieten eine Woche lang kostenlose Behandlungen an. Die von Zinzi Buchanan organisierte Praxis ist ein unmittelbarer Beitrag zu den Themen Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung.

Eine Zeichnung von einem Herzen, über dem das englische Wort „visions“ steht

SERAFINE1369, visions, 2022

  • Behandlungsdauer: 20–45 Minuten

Vergangene Termine

Die Akupunkturpraxis ist ein Angebot, das die inneren Aktivitäten unserer Körper als eine Art Live-Performance interpretiert. Sie lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit auf das Innenleben und die Durchlässigkeit unserer Körper. In Berlin tätige Therapeut*innen wurden eingeladen, ihre gemeinschaftsbezogenen Praktiken innerhalb der Akupunkturkpraxis in das Zentrum des Gropius Bau zu bringen.

visions ist ein Programm von Live-Performances, das die Förderung eines körperbasierten Ansatzes für die Auseinandersetzung mit Live-Arbeiten und Choreografien anstrebt. Dabei werden alle anwesenden Körper miteinbezogen und Sinne jenseits des Sehens aktiviert. Es ist eine Einladung, all das wahrzunehmen, was heraufbeschworen und aufgewühlt wird und an die Oberfläche unserer Körper kommt – immer in Beziehung mit und in Reaktion auf unsere Umgebung. So ist jedes der Angebote in gewisser Weise immersiv. Alle Veranstaltungen sind kostenlos und finden während der regulären Öffnungszeiten des Gropius Bau statt.

Die Gemeinschaftsakupunktur, bei der mehrere Patient*innen gleichzeitig behandelt werden, hat im Laufe der Jahre in westlichen Ländern unterschiedliche Ansätze angenommen. Indem SERAFINE1369 die Akupunktur ins Zentrum des Gropius Bau rückt, wird reflektiert, was Care-Arbeit bedeutet und in wessen Händen Fürsorge, Reparatur und Heilung liegen.

Die von Soft Tissue Studio entworfene Szenografie verändert sich leicht mit jedem Angebot.

Einen Termin buchen:
Die Behandlungen finden zwischen 11:00–17:00 statt. Buchungen können zwischen dem 5. und 10. Oktober 2022 zwischen 10:00– und 17:00 persönlich in der Rezeption der Akupunkturpraxis im Lichthof des Gropius Bau oder telefonisch unter 0049 (0)16098063312 gebucht werden. Auch NADA-Behandlungen können in der Praxis gebucht werden. Bei der NADA-Behandlung werden bis zu fünf kleine Nadeln an bestimmten Punkten an den Außenseiten der Ohren gesetzt.

Was Sie tragen sollten:
Bitte tragen Sie zu Ihrem Termin locker sitzende Kleidung, damit die Praktizierenden Ihre Arme und Beine für die Behandlung leicht erreichen können und Sie sich bequem hinlegen können. Sie müssen sich nicht vollständig entkleiden.

Anreise zu Ihrem Termin:
Bitte finden Sie sich mindestens 15 Minuten vor Ihrem Termin an der Rezeption der Akupunkturpraxis im Lichthof des Gropius Bau ein. Dort erhalten Sie einen Behandlungsvertrag (, 131 KB) zum Ausfüllen und werden dann in den Wartebereich geführt.

Während des Termins:
Die*der Therapeut*in wird Sie im Wartebereich begrüßen und Sie in den Beratungsraum führen. Hier können Sie kurz Ihre Bedürfnisse besprechen, sodass die*der Therapeut*in eine Diagnose gemäß der Traditionellen Chinesischen Medizin (TCM) stellen kann. Dazu hört die*der Therapeut*in Ihren Puls ab, indem Ihr Handgelenk berührt wird und Sie werden gebeten, die Zunge herauszustrecken, sodass sich die*der Therapeut*in diese ansehen kann. Die*der Therapeut*in kann Ihnen auch Fragen zu Ihrem Körper, Ihren Gefühlen, Ihrer Krankheitsgeschichte und Ihrem Lebensstil stellen. Alle Informationen, die Sie mitteilen, werden vertraulich behandelt. Anschließend werden Sie zu einer Massageliege im Lichthof des Gropius Bau geführt und gebeten, sich dort hinzulegen. Für die Dauer der Behandlung müssen Sie Ihre Ärmel oder Hosenbeine hochkrempeln und Ihre Schuhe und Socken ausziehen. Die*der Akupunkteur*in setzt dann sterile Einmalnadeln an bestimmten Punkten Ihres Körpers, die den Meridianen (Energielinien oder -bahnen, die unseren Körper durchziehen) entsprechen. Diese Punkte wählt die*der Akupunkteur*in so aus, dass sie die wirksamste Behandlung erhalten. Die Akupunkturnadeln können je nach Erkrankung und Behandlungsform an verschiedenen Stellen des Körpers gesetzt werden. Sie können damit rechnen, Nadeln in Ihre Füße, Hände und Gliedmaßen zu bekommen. Nadeln an anderen Körperteilen werden nur nach ausdrücklicher Zustimmung des*der Therapeuten*in gesetzt.

Wichtige Informationen über die Praxis:
Der Lichthof ist während der Praxiszeiten für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich, und es werden sich dort auch Menschen aufhalten, die nicht zur Akupunktur gekommen sind. Die Termine selbst finden hinter einem Vorhang statt, aber der Wartebereich ist ein offener Bereich. Alle Bereiche der Praxis werden teilweise einsehbar sein, auch von den Balkonen des Gropius Bau. Aus diesem Grund bitten wir Sie, locker sitzende Kleidung zu tragen, damit Sie sich nicht entkleiden müssen.

Dies ist ein neuer und ungewöhnlicher Ort für eine Akupunkturpraxis. Der Gropius Bau ist für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und es finden zeitgleich Ausstellungen statt. Um diesen Raum für Heilung zu schützen, möchte die Praxis folgende Hinweise geben:

  • Bitte nehmen Sie Rücksicht darauf, dass andere Menschen gerade behandelt werden oder wurden.
  • Bitte verzichten Sie darauf, Fotos der Akupunkturpraxis zu machen und gestatten Sie den Akupunkturpraktiker*innen und den Gäst*innen die ihnen zustehende Privatsphäre. Dazu gehört auch, wie lange Sie jemanden anschauen.
  • Bitte verzichten Sie auf lange Telefongespräche im Lichthof.
  • Bitte seien Sie respektvoll gegenüber unseren Akupunkturpraktiker*innen. Jegliches diskriminierendes Verhalten führt zu einer Absage der Behandlung.
  • Bitte nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um über Ihre eigene Heilung nachzudenken und darüber, ob und wie Gemeinschaftsräume Sie hierbei unterstützen können.

Team
Die beteiligten Therapeut*innen praktizieren Akupunktur an verschiedenen Orten ihrer Community in Berlin, darunter eine selbstorganisierte Praxis namens  metamorfosis und das  Heilehaus e.V., ein ehemals besetztes Gebäude, das seit 1981 als Zentrum für Heilung dient. Viele dieser Räume sind mehr als nur Orte, an denen man sich behandeln lassen kann, sondern auch Orte, die von kapitalistischer Gewalt betroffene Menschen zu einer Pause einladen.

Tzoa
Pronomen: er/ihm
Tzoa ist eine gender-nonkonforme trans* masc Person of Colour, die sich leidenschaftlich für die Dekolonisierung von Körpern, Heilung und dem Selbst einsetzt.
Link:  https://casa-kua.com/tzoa
Gesprochene Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch, Französisch, Spanisch, Chinesisch

Swantje
Pronomen: sie/they
Swantje ist Akupunkteur*in, Massagetherapeut*in und Shiatsu-Praktiker*in. Menschen zu behandeln, bedeutet für Swantje, hinter ihre Symptome zu schauen, um die ganze Person mit all ihren Mustern, Emotionen und Traumata zu sehen.
Link:  https://heilehaus-berlin.de/gesundheitsberatung
Gesprochene Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch

Shima Saeedi
Pronomen: sie/ihr
Shima Saeedi arbeitet mit Staffelgebühren bei ihren Behandlungen, also variablen Preisen, die sich an die Umstände ihrer Patient*innen anpassen. Sie unterstützt auch Menschen mit traumatischen Erfahrungen, die durch strukturelle Diskriminierung verursacht wurden. Shima Saeedi praktiziert gemeinschaftliche Akupunktur in der Praxis Berlinakupunktur und in der Naturheilpraxis am Ufer. Auf politischer Ebene gefällt ihr, dass gemeinschaftliche Akupunkturbehandlungen zugänglicher und erschwinglicher macht, insbesondere für marginalisierte Menschen. Für sie ist es auch eine besondere Art, Akupunktur zu praktizieren, indem die Praxis einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht und dadurch weniger zu einer Ware wird.
Link:
Gesprochene Sprachen: Farsi, Deutsch, Englisch

Sophie
Pronomen: sie/they
Sophie setzt sich für Heilung ein und praktiziert sie, um liebevoller und gewagter verbunden zu sein.
Links:  medizinkollektiv.net,  metamorfosis.de
Gesprochene Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Julien Darmaillacq
Pronomen: er/ihm
Julien Darmaillacq arbeitet mit chinesischer Medizin, Akupunktur und Phytotherapie, um emotionale und körperliche Blockaden, Krankheiten und Disharmonien zu lösen. Er vertritt die Ansicht, dass unser Umfeld, unsere Familien- und Gesellschaftsstrukturen zu einer Trennung zwischen Körper und Geist führen können. Sein Ziel ist es, ein Umfeld zu schaffen, in dem Sensibilitäten, Gender und Geschichte respektiert werden, um gemeinsam daran zu arbeiten, die Kontrolle und das Verständnis über das Selbst wiederzuerlangen. Derzeit arbeitet er in der Naturheilpraxis am Ufer, der Praxis metamorfosis und der Praxis Berlinakupunktur.
Links:  https://metamorfosis.de  http://berlin-akupunktur.com
Gesprochene Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Franz Kratochwil
Pronomen: er/ihm
Franz Kratochwil liebt die Chinesische Medizin, was ihn dazu brachte, als Akupunkteur und Lehrer für Chinesische Medizin zu arbeiten. Seit 2020 ist er der Leiter von Shou Zhong.
Links:  www.towanohikari.com,  www.shouzhong.berlin
Gesprochene Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch

Zinzi Buchanan
Pronomen: they/them
Zinzi Buchanan ist Künstler*in und arbeitet mit Tanz, Performance, Facilitation und Text. Im Jahr 2019 schloss Zinzi Buchanan einen MA in Visual Cultures an der Goldsmiths University in London ab und konzentriert sich seitdem in der künstlerischen Arbeit auf Erfahrungen mit chronischer Krankheit und queerem Survival. Dazu gehören Zinzi Buchanans Abschlussarbeit Loving On The Edge (2019), eine auf Freundschaft basierende Theaterperformance namens Rogue Intensities (2020) und ein einjähriges Projekt namens Sick Bed Series (2021). Zinzi Buchanan war 2020/21 Stipendiat*in des Berliner Tanzstipendiums und erforschte Trauer bei chronischen Schmerzen. Im Jahr 2021 ließ Zinzi Buchanan sich bei INELDA (International End of Life Doula Association) zur Death Doula ausbilden und sucht nach Wegen, sich selbst und andere durch große Veränderungen zu begleiten. Zurzeit befindet sich Zinzi Buchanan in Glasgow, um sich in TCM (Traditionelle Chinesische Medizin) ausbilden zu lassen und sich durch ein Projekt namens THE PITS wieder mit den eigenen Vorfahren aus dem Bergbau zu verbinden.

Haftungsausschluss
(1) Die Akupunkturbehandlungen werden von den jeweiligen praktizierenden Akupunkteur*innen durchgeführt und verantwortet.
(2) Ein Behandlungsvertrag zwischen den praktizierenden Akupunkteur*innen und den Besucher*innen wird direkt vor Ort schriftlich abgeschlossen.
(3) Der entsprechende Behandlungsvertrag liegt vor Ort aus.
(4) Termine zu den Behandlungen werden vor Ort im Lichthof des Gropius Bau durch die Praktizierenden vergeben. Telefonisch buchbar ist eine Behandlung außerdem zwischen dem 5. und 10. Oktober von 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr unter 0049 (0)16098063312.
(5) Die Räumlichkeiten des Gropius Bau werden für die Akupunkturbehandlungen als Teil einer künstlerischen Performance zur Verfügung gestellt. Der Gropius Bau ist weder Veranstalter noch Ausführer der Anwendungen und übernimmt entsprechend keinerlei Verantwortung für die Anwendungen.
(6) Die Behandlungen sind Teil einer künstlerischen Performance. Der Lichthof ist während der Öffnungszeiten der Praxis für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich, und es werden sich dort auch Menschen aufhalten, die nicht für einen Akupunkturtermin gekommen sind.