Kent Nagano

Kent Nagano

© Benjamin Ealovega

Concert
Opening concert

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Opening concert

19:00 work introduction

It is over a century since Charles Edward Ives, from rural Connecticut, founded an insurance company in his adoptive New York, which he directed for 23 years and led quickly to the top of the industry. Ives pursued a clear social philosophy: life insurance was not a means of maximizing profit, but of uniting individual protection and mutual support. He viewed insurance as central to the American dream, a model for a community of free will, a social system of personal initiative. Ives was not only a successful business entrepreneur; he was also an eminently visionary composer who became the Grand Old Man – even the forefather – of American musical modernity.

As a composer, he was highly conscious of the historical influences of his home country, which he portrayed in his music. His father had fought for democracy in the Civil War. And so, for Charles Ives, from childhood on, music of all imaginable kinds belonged together with the landscape, freedom fighting, and public festivals held to mark politically important dates. At university, he honed his compositional skills. He composed aural portraits of landscapes and their inhabitants, in which popular melodies, often two or three at a time from seemingly different directions, blend with what Ives heard in nature. Listening to Charles Ives is a way of viewing America from its best side, in all its geographical, human and cultural expansiveness.

Dedicated to the music of America, Musikfest Berlin 2012 begins with a major Charles Ives portrait, performed by the Mahler Chamber Orchestra under Kent Nagano with soloists Thomas Hampson and Chen Reiss.

The programme presents the founding father of American music from three perspectives: the bold visionary of Orchestral Set No. 2; the traditional symphonicist of Symphony No. 2; and finally, the largely unknown song-composer, whose 114 songs form a compendium of American vocal repertoire to rival Franz Schubert, Hugo Wolff and Hanns Eisler’s treasury of songs. The opening concert of Musikfest Berlin presents a selection of twelve of the 114 songs which were originally composed for voice and piano, re-orchestrated here for voice and orchestra by American composer John Adams, European composer Georg Friedrich Haas and Asian composer Toshio Hosokawa – a compositional homage to the great master, and the upbeat to further Charles Ives’ concerts with the Berlin Philharmonic, Ingo Metzmacher and Pierre-Laurent Aimard, the London Symphony Orchestra and Michael Tilson Thomas.

www.mahler-chamber.de

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
Orchestral Set No. 2 [1915]

Selected songs from
114 Songs
arranged for orchestra by John Adams, Georg Friedrich Haas (WP), Toshio Hosokawa (WP)

Symphony No. 2 [1899-1902, rev. 1907-09]

Chen Reiss soprano
Thomas Hampson baritone
Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Kent Nagano conductor

A Mahler Chamber Orchestra project in collaboration with the Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin and Ruhrtriennale 2012

With the kind support of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung for the commissioned works by G.-F. Haas and T. Hosokawa

Logo Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Kent Nagano

Kent Nagano

© Benjamin Ealovega

Konzert
Eröffnungskonzert

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Eröffnungskonzert

Einführung 19:00 Uhr

Vor rund hundert Jahren gründete Charles Edward Ives, Wahl-New-Yorker aus dem ländlichen Connecticut, ein Versicherungsunternehmen. 23 Jahre leitete er es, binnen kurzer Zeit führte er es an die Branchenspitze. Er folgte einer klaren Sozialphilosophie: Lebensversicherungen sollten nicht Profite maximieren, sondern individuelle Vorsorge und gegenseitige Unterstützung vereinen. Er sah sie als Kernstück des amerikanischen Traums, als Musterbilder für ein Gemeinwesen der Freiwilligkeit, für ein Sozialsystem der persönlichen Initiative. Ives war nicht nur ein erfolgreicher Unternehmer, sondern auch ein überaus visionärer Komponist, der zum Grand Old Man, ja zum Urahn der amerikanischen Moderne wurde.

Als Komponist war er sich der historischen Prägungen seiner Heimat, die er musikalisch porträtierte, bewusst: Schon sein Vater hatte hier im Bürgerkrieg für die Verteidigung der Demokratie gekämpft. Und so gehörten für den Komponisten Landschaft, freiheitliches Engagement, Volksfeste zu politischen Feiertagen und Musik in allen erdenklichen Formen seit seiner Kindheit zusammen. An der Universität polierte er das tonsetzerische Handwerk. Er komponierte Hörbilder von Landschaften und ihren Bewohnern: Manche populäre Melodie, auch zwei oder drei, die aus verschiedenen Richtungen zu kommen scheinen, mischen sich in das, was er der Natur ablauschte. Der Musik von Charles Ives zuhören heißt, Amerika von seiner schönsten Seite zu betrachten: das Land der Weite – geographisch, menschlich, kulturell.

Und so startet das dem musikalischen Amerika gewidmete Musikfest Berlin 2012 mit einem großen Charles Ives-Porträt, aufgeführt vom Mahler Chamber Orchestra unter der Leitung von Kent Nagano, mit Thomas Hampson und Chen Reiss als Solisten.

Das Programm präsentiert den Gründervater der amerikanischen Musik in drei Facetten: den kühnen Visionär mit dem Orchestral Set No. 2, den traditionsbewussten Symphoniker mit der Symphony No. 2 und schließlich den weithin unbekannten Liederkomponisten, der mit seiner Sammlung der 114 Songs ein Kompendium amerikanischen Liedguts komponiert hat, das den Liedern von Franz Schubert, Hugo Wolff und Hanns Eisler an Bedeutung gleichkommt. Ursprünglich komponiert für Stimme und Klavier, präsentiert das Musikfest Berlin-Eröffnungskonzert eine Auswahl von zwölf Liedern aus den 114 Songs in Bearbeitungen für Stimme und Orchester, geschaffen von einem Amerikaner, einem Europäer und einem Asiaten: von John Adams, Georg Friedrich Haas und Toshio Hosokawa – eine komponierte Verbeugung vor dem Altmeister, zugleich Auftakt zu weiteren Charles Ives-Programmen mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, mit Ingo Metzmacher und Pierre-Laurent Aimard, mit dem London Symphony Orchestra und Michael Tilson Thomas.

www.mahler-chamber.de

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
Orchestral Set No. 2 [1915]

Ausgewählte Lieder aus
114 Songs für Orchester bearbeitet von John Adams, Georg Friedrich Haas (UA), Toshio Hosokawa (UA)

Symphony No. 2 [1899-1902, rev. 1907-09]

Ein Projekt des Mahler Chamber Orchestra in Zusammenarbeit mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin und Ruhrtriennale 2012

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung für die Kompositionsaufträge an G.-F. Haas und T. Hosokawa

Logo Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung