Karlheinz Stockhausen

Karlheinz Stockhausen

© Kai Bienert

Concert

Ensemble musikFabrik

18:30 work introduction
Talk with the conductor Peter Eötvös on Stockhausen’s Hymnen

“America – land of refugees, of exiles, of the melting-pot: this music is made to measure for you. You could become a model for the whole world, if you would live as this music prophesies – if you would set a good example…!”, declared Karlheinz Stockhausen with reference to his piece Hymnen, Dritte Region (Anthems, Third Region) at the premiere of the version for electronic music with orchestra in 1971. The performance took place in New York with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra. Leonard Bernstein, the New York Philharmonic’s chief conductor, had commissioned this electronic version of Hymnen from Stockhausen some years previously in Cologne.

In this work, Stockhausen brings together more than 40 national hymns, divided into four regions. The Third Region deals with the USA and the ancestry of its inhabitants. Stockhausen viewed this piece as a utopian work of art: “The composition of so many national anthems into a common musical temporal and spatial polyphony could make it possible to experience – as musical vision – the unity of peoples and nations in a harmonious human family.” America, the archetypal country for immigration, whose state was founded on the tolerance, freedom and self-determination of its citizens, was seen by Stockhausen as the model of a peaceful community for all peoples, even if this aim seemed very distant only a few years later with the assassination of Martin Luther King and the outbreak of the Vietnam War.

Stockhausen experimented with new forms in Hymnen, leaving abstraction behind him and working with aural ready-mades: “I cannot imagine anything more general, popular, familiar than the national anthems. They are musical signs, musical objects that many people are familiar with (…) That is why I chose them as objects, which I can now variously modulate and compose into an unknown world of electronic music.”

During the Musikfest Berlin 2012, Stockhausen’s work will be performed by Peter Eötvös and Benjamin Kobler, two artists who worked closely with Karlheinz Stockhausen. The Cologne-based musikFabrik, one of the most internationally distinguished new music ensembles, is guest performing in Berlin.

www.musikfabrik.eu

Karlheinz Stockhausen [1928-2007]
Hymnen (dritte Region)
Electronic music with orchestra [1969]

Klavierstück X [1954-55/61]

Hymnen (dritte Region) 2nd performance
Electronic music with orchestra

Funded by

Kunststiftung NRW

Karlheinz Stockhausen

Karlheinz Stockhausen

© Kai Bienert

Konzert

Ensemble musikFabrik

Einführung 18:30 Uhr
Gespräch mit dem Dirigenten Peter Eötvös über Stockhausens Hymnen

„Amerika Land der Flüchtlinge, der Vertriebenen, der Zusammengewürfelten: ich habe Dir diese Musik auf den Leib geschrieben“, erklärte Karlheinz Stockhausen 1971 in New York anlässlich der Uraufführung von Hymnen (Dritte Region) in der Fassung als Elektronische Musik mit Orchester. Stockhausen präsentierte das Werk mit dem New York Philharmonic Orchestra. Leonard Bernstein, Chefdirigent des New York Philharmonic, hatte diese Fassung der einige Jahre vorher in Köln als Elektronische Musik aufgeführten Hymnen in Auftrag gegeben.

Stockhausen versammelt darin gut 40 Nationalhymnen, aufgeteilt in vier Regionen. Die Dritte Region behandelt die USA und die Herkunftsländer seiner Einwohner. Stockhausen verstand sein Werk als ein utopisches Kunstwerk: „Die Komposition von so vielen Nationalhymnen zu einer gemeinsamen musikalischen Zeit- und Raumpolyphonie könnte die Einheit der Völker und Nationen in einer harmonischen Menschenfamilie als musikalische Vision erlebbar machen.“ Gerade in dem klassischen Einwanderungsland USA, dessen Staatsgründung auf Toleranz, Freiheit und Selbstbestimmung seiner Bürger basiert, sah er die Chance eines Modells für ein friedliches Miteinander aller Menschen – auch wenn dieses Ziel wenige Jahre nach dem Mord an Martin Luther King und in Zeiten des Vietnamkrieges sehr fern lag.

Mit Hymnen probierte Stockhausen etwas Neues, indem er die Abstraktion verließ und mit klingenden Ready-Mades arbeitete: „Hymnen, die Nationalhymnen, sind das Populärste, was es überhaupt gibt. Sie sind Klang-Zeichen, Klang-Objekte, die viele Leute kennen (…) Ich kann mir nichts Allgemeineres, Populäreres, Bekannteres vorstellen als die Hymnen der Nationen. Deshalb habe ich sie als Objekte gewählt, die ich nun vielfältig modulieren und komponieren kann in einer unbekannten Welt elektronischer Musik.“

Beim Musikfest Berlin 2012 werden die Werke Stockhausens von Peter Eötvös und Benjamin Kobler aufgeführt. Beide Künstler verband eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Karlheinz Stockhausen. Mit dem Ensemble musikFabrik aus Köln gastiert eines der international profiliertesten Neue-Musik-Ensembles in Berlin.

www.musikfabrik.eu

Karlheinz Stockhausen [1928-2007]
Hymnen (dritte Region)
Elektronische Musik mit Orchester [1969]

Klavierstück X [1954-55/61]

Hymnen (dritte Region) 2. Aufführung
Elektronische Musik mit Orchester

Gefördert von der

Kunststiftung NRW