Concert

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

Moses by Michelangelo

Michelangelo’s Moses

Past Dates

17:00 Exhibition Foyer, Kammermusiksaal
Discussion on Moses and Aron by the “Critics’ Quartet” of the German Record Critics’ Award

On Saturday, 1st and Sunday, 2nd September 2012, an interdisciplinary supplementary programme on the topic of Moses and Aron will take place at Schloss Genshagen.
www.stiftung-genshagen.de

Arnold Schoenberg’s opera Moses and Aron was unfinished – and yet it has found its way into the musical repertoire as a pivotal work of the 20th century, and has long been regarded a classic of the New Music movement.

In 1928, Schoenberg began work on his opera in Berlin where he was teaching a master class at the Prussian Academy of Arts (Preußische Akademie der Künste). In 1933, the fatal political developments in Germany forced him into exile. He left, taking with him his opera project about the Israelites’ exodus from Egypt to the Promised Land. During a brief stop in Paris, he officially converted back to Judaism in a synagogue, before continuing his passage to the USA.

Schoenberg, who grew up in the lively music capital of Vienna, was forced to acclimatise to America’s entirely different structures, where musical culture was shaped by the market and private patrons. “When I came to America in 1933, I couldn’t change my trademark. I was the man with the ‘chromatic scales’”, he later remembered. He refused to work with Hollywood’s film industry yet gained a foothold as a professor of composition, teaching the young John Cage for two years. Schoenberg continued his own compositional work, remaining true to his artistic values, and working intermittently on Moses and Aron up until the 1940s. However, the USA ultimately remained foreign to Schoenberg despite his friendships with American colleagues, such as George Gershwin: “Indeed I parted from the Old World not without feeling the wrench in my very own bones, for I was not prepared for the fact it would render me not only homeless but speechless, languageless (…)”, as Schoenberg once commented on his forced exile to America – the country onto which hopes of a promised land with limitless opportunity are projected like no other.

The concertante performance of Schoenberg’s Moses and Aron under Sylvain Camberling is premiered at the Musikfest Berlin before touring to Lucerne, Madrid and Strasbourg. To accompany the performances on 1st and 2nd September, Sylvain Cambreling, Nuria Schoenberg-Nono and Gerard Mortier will hold lectures on Moses and Aron at Schloss Genshagen, south of Berlin.

www.swr.de/sinfonieorchester

Arnold Schoenberg [1874-1951]
Moses and Aron
Opera in three acts [1930/37]
concertante performance of Arnold Schoenberg’s completed acts I and II

Franz Grundheber speaker (Moses)
Andreas Conrad tenor (Aron)
Johanna Winkel soprano (Young Girl)
Elvira Bill alto (Sick Woman)
Jean-Noel Briend tenor (Youth)
Jason Bridges tenor (Naked Youth)
Andreas Wolf baritone (Man / Ephraimite)
Friedemann Röhlig bass (Priest)
and further performers

EuropaChorAkademie / Sylvain Cambreling, Joshard Daus coach
SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg
Peter Tilling assistance and stage music
Sylvain Cambreling conductor

Moses von Michelangelo

Moses von Michelangelo

Konzert

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

17:00 Uhr Ausstellungsfoyer des Kammermusiksaals
Diskussion über Moses und Aron mit dem „Quartett der Kritiker“ des Preises der deutschen Schallplattenkritik

Zur Aufführung gibt es am 1. und 2. September ein Begleitprogramm: Im südlich von Berlin gelegenen Schloss Genshagen sprechen u. a. Sylvain Cambreling, Nuria Schönberg-Nono und Gerard Mortier über Moses und Aron.
www.stiftung-genshagen.de

Arnold Schönbergs Oper Moses und Aron ist Fragment geblieben – und hat doch den Weg ins Repertoire gefunden, als ein Schlüsselwerk des 20. Jahrhunderts. Längst hat sich das Werk als Klassiker der Neuen Musik behauptet.

1928 beginnt Schönberg die Arbeit an der Oper, in Berlin, wo er an der Preußischen Akademie der Künste eine Meisterklasse unterrichtet. 1933 treiben ihn die fatalen politischen Entwicklungen in Deutschland ins Exil. Im Gepäck hat er sein Opernprojekt, das vom Auszug der Israeliten aus Ägypten ins Gelobte Land handelt. Als er in Paris Zwischenstation macht, kehrt er in der Synagoge der französischen Hauptstadt offiziell zum jüdischen Glauben zurück, bevor er die Überfahrt in die USA antritt.

In Amerika muss sich der in der vor Musik überbordenden Metropole Wien sozialisierte Schönberg in völlig neuartigen Strukturen orientieren. Der Markt und private Mäzene bestimmen hier das Musikleben: „Als ich 1933 nach Amerika kam, konnte ich mein Handelszeichen nicht wechseln. Ich war der Mann mit ‚dem System der chromatischen Leitern‘“, erinnert er sich später. Der Filmindustrie Hollywoods verweigert er sich. Er kann als Professor für Komposition Fuß fassen, zwei Jahre unterrichtet er auch den jungen John Cage. Schönberg komponiert weiterhin, bleibt sich künstlerisch treu und arbeitet mit großen Unterbrechungen bis in die 1940er Jahre an Moses und Aron. Doch die USA bleiben ihm letztlich fremd, obwohl er mit amerikanischen Kollegen befreundet ist, etwa mit George Gershwin: „Wohl habe ich die Trennung von der alten Welt vollzogen, nicht ohne sie bis in die Knochen gespürt zu haben, denn ich war doch nicht darauf vorbereitet, dass sie mich sowohl heimatlos als auch sprachlos machen werde (…)“, äußert Schönberg einmal über seine erzwungene Emigration in die USA, das Land, das wie kein anderes Hoffnungen auf ein Gelobtes Land unbegrenzter Möglichkeiten weckte.

Die konzertante Produktion von Schönbergs Moses und Aron unter der Leitung von Sylvain Cambreling hat Premiere beim Musikfest Berlin, bevor sie anschließend in Luzern, Madrid und Strasbourg aufgeführt wird. Zur Aufführung gibt es am 1. und 2. September ein Begleitprogramm: Im südlich von Berlin gelegenen Schloss Genshagen sprechen u. a. Sylvain Cambreling, Nuria Schönberg-Nono und Gerard Mortier über Moses und Aron.

www.swr.de/sinfonieorchester

Arnold Schönberg [1874-1951]
Moses und Aron
Oper in drei Akten [1930/37]
konzertante Aufführung der von Schönberg fertiggestellten Akte I und II

Franz Grundheber Sprecher (Moses)
Andreas Conrad Tenor (Aron)
Johanna Winkel Sopran (Ein junges Mädchen)
Elvira Bill Alt (Eine Kranke)
Jean-Noel Briend Tenor (Ein junger Mann)
Jason Bridges Tenor (Der nackte Jüngling)
Andreas Wolf Bariton (Ein anderer Mann / Ephraimit)
Friedemann Röhlig Bass (Ein Priester)
und weitere Mitwirkende

EuropaChorAkademie / Sylvain Cambreling, Joshard Daus Einstudierung
SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg
Peter Tilling Assistenz und Leitung Bühnenmusik
Sylvain Cambreling Leitung