Literary-musical reading

Robert Wilson reads John Cage

Lecture on Nothing [1949-1950]

John Cage

John Cage

© Christopher Felver

  • In English

Past Dates

In homage to John Cage, Robert Wilson reads Cage’s Lecture on Nothing, one of the central texts of 20th-century experimental literature.

With his formal sourcing of texts and materials that allow the audience’s imagination to roam freely, Robert Wilson is a congenial interpreter of this lecture. Cage’s lecture was composed exclusively according to musical criteria, topicalizing itself and its own passing. Pulse, speech pauses, the tempi and sounds of language are in the foreground. A non-hierarchical space arises between text and silence, a verbal music of sound and silence.

Robert Wilson, influenced strongly by Cage and Cunningham in the 1960s, is one of the most significant representatives of the theatrical avant-garde, with his aesthetics of slowness and productions emphasising the independence of theatrical elements in strong visual tableaux. Together with composer Arno Kraehahn and the young Polish video artist Tomek Jeziorsk – with whom he recently devised The Life and Death of Marina Abramović – he has developed an acoustically and visually inspired approach to Cage’s text.

“As the talk goes on, we are getting nowhere and that is a pleasure”. (John Cage)

www.robertwilson.com

By and with Robert Wilson
Ann-Christin Rommen collaboration
Tomek Jeziorski video
Arno Kraehahn music

A Ruhrtriennale 2012 production.
An Akademie der Künste event, funded by Gesellschaft der Freunde der Akademie der Künste: In the context of the programme “A Year from Monday. 365 Tage Cage”, and part of Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

Presented by

Logo Akademie der Künste

Musikalische Lesung

Robert Wilson liest John Cage

Lecture on Nothing [1949-1950]

John Cage

John Cage

© Christopher Felver

  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Als Hommage an John Cage wird Robert Wilson die Lecture on Nothing von John Cage, einen der zentralen Texte der experimentellen Literatur des 20. Jahrhunderts, selbst aufführen.

Mit seinem formalen Zugriff auf Texte und Stoffe, der der Imagination des Zuschauers freien Lauf lässt, erscheint Robert Wilson als kongenialer Interpret dieser Lecture. Cages Vortrag ist ausschließlich nach musikalischen Gesichtspunkten komponiert und hat sich selbst und seinen Fortgang zum Thema. Der Puls und die Pausen der Stimme, die Tempi und der Klang der Sprache stehen im Vordergrund. So entsteht ein herrschaftsfreier Raum zwischen Text und Schweigen, eine Sprachmusik aus Klang und Stille.

Robert Wilson, der in seinen Anfängen in den 1960er Jahren stark von Cage und Cunningham beeinflusst ist, zählt mit seiner Ästhetik der Langsamkeit und seinen Arbeiten, die die Eigenständigkeit der theatralen Elemente in bildstarken Tableaus betonen, zu den bedeutendsten Vertretern der Theateravantgarde. Zusammen mit dem Komponisten Arno Kraehahn und dem jungen polnischen Videokünstler Tomek Jeziorski, mit dem er zuletzt an Life and Death of Mariana Abramović gearbeitet hat, wird er einen akustisch wie visuell inspirierenden Zugang zu diesem Text entwickeln.

„As the talk goes on, we are getting nowhere and that is a pleasure.“ (John Cage)

www.robertwilson.com

Eine Produktion der Ruhrtriennale 2012.
Eine Veranstaltung der Akademie der Künste, gefördert durch die Gesellschaft der Freunde der Akademie der Künste. Im Rahmen des Programms „A Year from Monday. 365 Tage Cage“ und im Rahmen von Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

Präsentiert von

Logo Akademie der Künste