Michael Tilson Thomas

Michael Tilson Thomas

© Stefan Cohen

Concert

London Symphony Orchestra

19:00 work introduction

Aaron Copland vividly and succinctly captured the life, myths, culture and spirit of the USA in his works. As pianist, conductor, teacher and writer of music, he had a decisive influence on American musical life, and promoted the work of younger colleagues. Copland’s Orchestral Variations are based on his Piano Variations from 1930.

Over a quarter of a century later, he orchestrated the piano work, realising in the process a plan he had long been harbouring. “My purpose was not to create orchestral sounds reminiscent of the quality of a piano, but rather to rethink the sonorous possibilities of the composition in terms of orchestral colour”, Copland explained.

Like John Cage, whom he met in 1949, many of Morton Feldman’s friends were modernist American painters, most of them representatives of abstract expressionism. The title of Feldman’s Piano and Orchestra (1975) indicates the instrumental forces of the traditional piano concerto, but the work has no further resemblance with the concerto tradition. Like a painter spreading paint over a stretched canvas, Feldman distributes sounds within a particular duration of time. In his own words, he “see(s) the orchestra in a way as a very graphic, acoustic arena”. The piano and orchestral entries are sensitively balanced in reduced yet precisely composed constellations of timbre, changing through almost imperceptible structural variations and subtle shifts.

A Symphony: New England Holidays by Charles Ives is a symphony that addresses the American public holidays. Ives creates a vivid, multi-coloured sound cosmos from popular melodies and celebratory music that is layered polytonally and polyrhythmically. The work includes the imitation of a firework display and closes with a festival chorale.

The London Symphony Orchestra and Ernst Senff Choir recreate Charles Ives’ impression of American national holidays. With Michael Tilson Thomas conducting and Emanuel Ax at the piano, the Musikfest presents two experts who are among those most intimately acquainted with the three American composers of this programme.

www.lso.co.uk
www.emanuelax.com

Aaron Copland [1900-1990]
Orchestral Variations [1957]

Morton Feldman [1926-1987]
Piano and Orchestra [1975]

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
A Symphony: New England Holidays [1904-13]
Washington’s Birthday
Decoration Day
The Fourth of July
Thanksgiving and Forefathers’ Day

Michael Tilson Thomas

Michael Tilson Thomas

© Stefan Cohen

Konzert

London Symphony Orchestra

Einführung 19:00 Uhr

In seinen Werken hat Aaron Copland plastisch und pointiert das Leben, die Mythen, die Kultur und den spirit der USA eingefangen. Als Pianist, Dirigent, Lehrer und Musikautor prägte er entscheidend das amerikanische Musikleben und förderte jüngere Kollegen. Coplands Orchestral Variations gehen auf seine 1930 entstandenen Piano Variations zurück.

Über ein Vierteljahrhundert später hat er sein Klavierstück auf die Dimensionen eines Orchesters übertragen und damit einen lange gehegten Plan ausgeführt. „Meine Absicht war nicht, in den Orchesterklängen das Klavier nachzuahmen, sondern vielmehr die klanglichen Möglichkeiten der Komposition in den Verhältnissen der Orchesterfarben neu zu überdenken“, erklärte Copland.

Wie John Cage, den er 1949 kennenlernte, hatte auch Morton Feldman viele Freunde unter den modernen amerikanischen Malern, vor allem die Vertreter des abstrakten Expressionismus. Feldmans Piano and Orchestra (1975) bezeichnet die beteiligten Klangkräfte, hat aber ansonsten nichts mit einem herkömmlichen Klavierkonzert gemein. Wie ein Maler Farbe auf einer abgesteckten Leinwand verteilt, verteilt Feldman die Klänge in einem bestimmten Zeitrahmen. „Ich sehe das Orchester also in gewisser Weise als eine sehr graphische akustische Arena“, befand Feldman. Die Einsätze des Klaviers und des Orchesters sind sensibel austariert in reduzierten, aber genau ausgearbeiteten Klangkonstellationen, die sich durch nahezu unmerkliche Varianten in der Struktur und durch subtile Verschiebungen verändern.

A Symphony: New England Holidays von Charles Ives ist eine Symphonie, die die amerikanischen Feiertage behandelt. Ives erschafft einen plastisch-vielfarbigen Klangkosmos aus populären Melodien und Festmusik, die teils polytonal und polyrhythmisch geschichtet werden, er ahmt ein Feuerwerk nach und präsentiert am Ende einen feierlichen Choral.

Das London Symphony Orchestra lässt gemeinsam mit dem Ernst Senff Chor die nationalen Feiertage der USA, wie sie Charles Ives hörte, aufleben. Mit Michael Tilson Thomas am Dirigentenpult und dem Pianisten Emanuel Ax konnten zwei ausgewiesene Spezialisten für die drei amerikanischen Komponisten des Programms gewonnen werden, die mit ihren Werken aufs Engste vertraut sind.

www.lso.co.uk
www.emanuelax.com

Aaron Copland [1900-1990]
Orchestral Variations [1957]

Morton Feldman [1926-1987]
Piano and Orchestra [1975]

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
A Symphony: New England Holidays [1904-13]
Washington’s Birthday
Decoration Day
The Fourth of July
Thanksgiving and Forefathers’ Day