Concert

Berliner Philharmoniker

Ingo Metzmacher

Ingo Metzmacher

© Anja Frers

Past Dates

19:00 work introduction

Charles Ives’ Symphony No. 4 is one of his most ambitious works. Its music represents an entire world view, while it is simultaneously the transatlantic pendant to Mahler’s 3rd Symphony. Mahler made his acquaintance with the music of his American colleague while on a tour to New York. “The prelude is the great question of how and why that the human spirit poses to life. The following three movements are life’s various answers,” Ives commented on his symphony.

The music is an exuberant portrait of the USA, spanning from the Puritan tranquillity of New England, to the urban vitality of the metropolis New York – from reminiscences of Bach to elements of ragtime. Ives used a main orchestra, distant orchestra and chorus in the symphony, but in view of the substantial piano parts, the work is also to some extent his ‘secret piano concerto’.

In early 1932, Ives’ younger colleague George Gershwin travelled with friends to Cuba. In Havana, he heard folklore and Cuban dance music, became acquainted with local percussion instruments, and bought himself wooden instruments, bongos, guiros und maracas. Inspired by the life and music of Cuba, he wrote the Cuban Overture – high-spirited orchestral music with rumba and habanera rhythms.

Leonard Bernstein deployed Latin American dance music and jazz in West Side Story, in order to characterise different youth gangs. While composing the musical, which was to be his breakthrough, Bernstein told US TV: “There are those who conclude from all this that here, in the new jazz, the real beginning of serious American music can be found (…) intimating that all American symphonic works up to now are nothing but personalised imitations of the European symphonic tradition from Mozart to Mahler. Sometimes, I must say, I think they have a point.” Bernstein was fascinated by jazz because of “its uniqueness and the originality of its expressive forms”. In his furious Jazz Symphony, Bernstein’s colleague George Antheil, the self-proclaimed ‘Bad Boy of Music’, brought various influences with the energy of jazz to flashpoint.

Pierre-Laurent Aimard takes on the piano part in Ives’ Symphony No. 4, before performing Ives’ second grand portrait of America, the Concord Sonata, alone on the stage of the Philharmonie at his Late-Night Recital on 8 September.

www.berliner-philharmoniker.de
www.ernst-senff-chor.de
www.klassikakzente.de/pierre-laurent-aimard

George Gershwin [1898-1937]
Cuban Overture [1932]

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
Symphony No. 4 [1910-16]

George Antheil [1900-1959]
A Jazz Symphony [1955 version]

Leonard Bernstein [1918-1990]
Symphonic Dances from West Side Story [1960]

A Foundation Berliner Philharmoniker event
in cooperation with the Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Ingo Metzmacher

Ingo Metzmacher

© Anja Frers

Konzert

Berliner Philharmoniker

Einführung jeweils 19:00 Uhr

Die Symphony No. 4 gehört zu den großen ambitionierten Werken von Charles Ives: Weltanschauungsmusik, gleichsam das transatlantische Pendant zur 3. Symphonie von Gustav Mahler, der auf die Musik seines amerikanischen Kollegen während seiner New York-Aufenthalte aufmerksam wurde. „Das Vorspiel ist die große Frage des Wie und Warum, die der menschliche Geist an das Leben stellt. Die folgenden drei Sätze sind die verschiedenen Antworten des Lebens“, kommentierte Ives seine Symphonie.

Die Musik ist ein geradezu überbordendes Portrait der USA, von der puritanischen Beschaulichkeit Neuenglands bis zur urbanen Vitalität der Metropole New Yorks, von Anklängen an Bach bis zu Elementen des Ragtime. Ein Hauptorchester, ein Fernorchester und ein Chor setzt Ives in seinem Werk ein. Gleichzeitig ist das Werk aufgrund seines gewichtigen Klavierparts gewissermaßen das heimliche Klavierkonzert von Charles Ives.

Anfang 1932 fuhr Ives’ jüngerer Kollege George Gershwin mit Freunden nach Kuba. In Havanna hörte er Folklore und kubanische Tanzmusik, lernte die einheimischen Schlaginstrumente kennen und kaufte sich Klanghölzer, Bongos, Guiro und Maracas. Vom Leben und der Musik Kubas inspiriert, schrieb er die Cuban Overture, feurige Orchestermusik mit Rumba- und Habanera-Rhythmen.

Leonard Bernstein setzte lateinamerikanische Tanzmusik und Jazz in West Side Story ein, um verschiedene Jugendgangs zu charakterisieren. Während der Entstehung seines Musicals, dass ihm den Durchbruch brachte, sagte Bernstein im US-Fernsehen: „Manche erblicken in dem neuen Jazz den wirklichen Anfang einer ernsten amerikanischen Musik, in der der amerikanische Komponist seinen eigenen Ausdruck gefunden hat. (…) Ich muss gestehen, dass ich bisweilen selbst so denke.“ Bernstein war fasziniert vom Jazz wegen „seiner Einzigartigkeit und der Eigenwilligkeit seiner Ausdrucksformen“. Bernsteins Kollege George Antheil, selbsternannter „Bad Boy of Music“, hat in seiner furiosen Jazz Symphony unterschiedliche Einflüsse mit der Energie des Jazz zum Siedepunkt gebracht.

Pierre-Laurent Aimard übernimmt den Klavierpart in Ives’ Symphony No. 4, bevor er im Late-Night-Recital am 8. September die Concord-Sonate, Ives zweites großes Amerika-Porträt, alleine auf die Philharmoniker-Bühne stemmt.

www.berliner-philharmoniker.de
www.ernst-senff-chor.de
www.klassikakzente.de/pierre-laurent-aimard

George Gershwin [1898-1937]
Cuban Overture [1932]

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
Symphonie Nr. 4 [1910-16]

George Antheil [1900-1959]
A Jazz Symphony [Fassung 1955]

Leonard Bernstein [1918-1990]
Symphonic Dances aus West Side Story [1960]

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker
in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin