Concert

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Late Night Recital

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

© Felix Broede

Past Dates

The second piano sonata, entitled “Concord, Mass., 1840–60”, was composed as a work in progress over several decades. It is one of Charles Ives’ main works, imposing huge demands on the pianist. Concord, a small town in Massachusetts, was the centre of the American transcendentalist movement in the 19th century.

The progressive, liberal ideas of this group of writers, teachers and philosophers has been decisive for the American way of thinking right up to the present day. The transcendentalists demanded an end to slavery, promoted the rights of women and provided the first formulations of arguments for the protection of nature.

The four movements of the Concord Sonata can be seen as suggestive figure portraits. In his Essays before a Sonata, Ives said the work was an “impression of the spirit of transcendentalism that is associated in the minds of many with Concord, Massachusetts of over a half century ago”. The opening movement, with the title Emerson, is a tribute to the philosopher Ralph Waldo Emerson. He was the leader of the transcendentalists and his thinking greatly influenced American literature. Writer Nathaniel Hawthorne, portrayed in the second movement, represented the American strain of romanticism, with his novels’ and short stories’ emphasis on dark fantasy. The third movement, The Alcotts, offers a musical sketch of Amos Bronson Alcott, a progressive reformer and teacher, his wife Abigail May Alcott, who fought for the abolition of slavery, and their daughter Louisa May Alcott, a writer who became widely known for her youth novels. The final movement of the Concord Sonata is entitled Thoreau and concerns the thinking of David Henry Thoreau, who as the expression of social criticism in the form of self-experiment, for a period lived a radically simple life in the woods, in harmony with nature.

With his work “Concord, Mass., 1840–60”, Ives created one of the milestones of piano repertoire. Ives expands harmony, operating boldly with quotes from Beethoven to Stravinsky.

Pierre-Laurent Aimard, renowned as much as a performer of modern and contemporary music as for his immersion in the works of Bach and the classical-romantic repertoire, is regarded as one of the foremost performers of Ives’ Concord Sonata. Last year he thrilled the Musikfest audience with his Liszt recital.

www.klassikakzente.de/pierre-laurent-aimard

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
Piano Sonata No. 2 ‘Concord, Mass., 1840-60’ [1904-15]
Emerson
Hawthorne
The Alcotts
Thoreau

A Foundation Berliner Philharmoniker event
in cooperation with the Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Konzert

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Late Night Recital

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

© Felix Broede

Vergangene Termine

Sie ist eines der Hauptwerke von Charles Ives und stellt höchste Anforderungen an den Pianisten: die über Jahrzehnte als Work in Progress entstandene zweite Klaviersonate mit dem Titel „Concord, Mass., 1840–60“. Concord, eine Kleinstadt in Massachusetts, war im 19. Jahrhundert das Zentrum der amerikanischen Transzendentalisten, einer Gruppe von Schriftstellern, Pädagogen und Philosophen.

Ihre zukunftweisende freiheitliche Ideen prägten entscheidend das Denken in den Vereinigten Staaten und gaben Impulse, die bis heute nachwirken. Die Transzendentalisten forderten die Abschaffung der Sklaverei, sie setzten sich für Frauenrechte ein und formulierten frühe Denkanstöße zum Naturschutz.

Die vier Sätze der Concord-Sonata verstehen sich als suggestive Einzelporträts. Ives erklärt in seinen Essays before a Sonata: „Das Ganze stellt einen Versuch dar, den Eindruck (einer Person) vom transzendentalistischen Geist wiederzugeben, der im allgemeinen Bewusstsein mit Concord, Mass. – so, wie es sich vor einem guten halben Jahrhundert darbot – verbunden ist.“ Der Eingangssatz mit dem Titel Emerson ist eine Hommage des Philosophen Ralph Waldo Emerson. Er war der Kopf der Transzendentalisten und beeinflusste mit seinem Denken die US-amerikanische Literatur. Der Schriftsteller Nathaniel Hawthorne, der im zweiten Satz porträtiert wird, war als Schriftsteller Vertreter der amerikanischen Variante der Romantik und widmete sich in seinen Romanen und Kurzgeschichten vor allem dem Dünster-Phantastischen. Das dritte Stück, The Alcotts skizziert musikalisch Amos Bronson Alcott, einen zukunftsweisenden Reformpädagogen, seine Frau Abigail May Alcott, die für die Abschaffung der Sklaverei kämpfte, und ihre Tochter Louisa May Alcott, eine Schriftstellerin, die mit Jugendbüchern berühmt wurde. Den Abschluss der Concord-Sonata stellt der Satz Thoreau dar. Er behandelt das Denken von David Henry Thoreau, der in einem zivilisationskritischen Selbstexperiment ein einfaches Leben in Einklang mit der Natur ausprobierte.

Mit seiner Sonate „Concord, Mass., 1840–60“ hat Ives einen Meilenstein der Klavierliteratur geschaffen. Ives weitet die Harmonik aus, operiert kühn mit Zitaten von Beethoven bis Strawinsky.

Pierre-Laurent Aimard, als Interpret der Moderne und der Neuen Musik genauso geschätzt wie für seine Durchdringung der Werke von Bach sowie des klassisch-romantischen Repertoires, gilt als einer der bedeutenden Interpreten der Concord Sonata von Charles Ives. Im vergangenen Jahr begeisterte er auf dem Musikfest Berlin mit seinem Liszt-Abend.

www.klassikakzente.de/pierre-laurent-aimard

Charles Ives [1874-1954]
Klaviersonate Nr. 2 ‚Concord, Mass., 1840-60‘ [1904-15]
Emerson
Hawthorne
The Alcotts
Thoreau

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker
in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin