Daniel Barenboim

Daniel Barenboim

© Monika Rittershaus

Concert

Staatskapelle Berlin

In Memoriam Kurt Sanderling

Work introduction 45 minutes before concert

Over 40 years ago, Elliott Carter bemoaned in an essay the lack of interest in contemporary orchestral music in the USA: only composers who are “masochists with a great craving for self-denial” could subject themselves to the uncertain enterprise of writing an orchestral work. In the meantime, the concert landscape in the USA has become more open towards contemporary influences, at least regarding Elliott Carter’s works.

Over the past decade, the composer has written a whole series of new orchestral works. Born in New York in 1908, Carter was already in his nineties when he wrote his Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (2001). Today he still composes daily, and is admirable for the vigour and energy that enable him to keep producing highly complex scores. “He is America’s great musical poet”, wrote one American critic about Elliott Carter recently.

Anton Bruckner, by contrast, remained a contradictory and mysterious figure for many of his contemporaries. The contrasts and ambivalences of the three colossal movements of his Symphony No. 9, which he worked on right up to his death in 1896, were not appreciated until much later. But the deeply religious Bruckner had a musical vision that he held on to in the face of hostility, saying once: “In Beethoven’s day, they called him a musical pig, fit for the madhouse. I think to myself: head down, don’t look to the right or the left, just keep writing … Let them shout all they want”.

With Kol Nidrei op.47, Max Bruch created a pendant to his successful Violin Concerto in G Minor op. 26, casting this time the cello as soloist. In Kol Nidrei, Bruch drew on Jewish melodies, including the traditional penitential hymn Kol Nidrei, traditionally sung on the eve of Yom Kippur. “I got to know both melodies in Berlin, where I had much to do with the children of Israel in the Choral Society“, Bruch once told a friend.

Daniel Barenboim, who conducted the premiere of Elliott Carter’s Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in Chicago in 2001, dedicates this programme to the memory of Kurt Sanderling with the Staatskapelle Berlin and cellist Alisa Weilerstein. The 19th September 2012 would have been the hundredth birthday of the great conductor, who died last year in Berlin.

www.staatskapelle-berlin.de
www.alisaweislerstein.com

Max Bruch [1838-1920]
Kol Nidrei op. 47 [1880]

Elliott Carter [*1908]
Concerto for cello and orchestra [2000]

Anton Bruckner [1824-1896]
Symphony No. 9 in D minor [1887-1896]

A Staatsoper Unter den Linden event
in cooperation with the Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Daniel Barenboim

Daniel Barenboim

© Monika Rittershaus

Konzert

Staatskapelle Berlin

In Memoriam Kurt Sanderling

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Beginn

Vor über 40 Jahren beklagte er in einem Aufsatz das mangelnde Interesse an zeitgenössischer Orchestermusik in den USA: Nur „Masochisten mit einem großen Verlangen nach Selbstkasteiung“ unter den Komponisten könnten sich auf das ungewisse Unternehmen eines Orchesterwerks einlassen. Mittlerweile dürfte die Konzertlandschaft der USA zumindest, was Elliott Carters Werke betrifft, offener für Zeitgenössisches geworden sein.

Der Komponist hat in den letzten zehn Jahren eine ganze Reihe neuer Orchesterwerke geschaffen. Elliott Carter, 1908 in New York geboren, war schon in seinen 90ern, als er das Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (2001) schrieb. Noch heute komponiert er täglich – und beeindruckt durch seine Spannkraft und Energie, was ihm noch immer erlaubt, hochkomplexe Partituren hervorzubringen. „Er ist der große musikalische Poet Amerikas“ hat ein amerikanischer Kritiker vor einiger Zeit über Elliott Carter geschrieben.

Anton Bruckner dagegen blieb für viele seiner Zeitgenossen zeitlebens widersprüchlich und rätselhaft. Die Kontraste und Ambivalenzen der drei gewaltigen Sätze seiner 9. Symphonie, an der er bis zu seinem Tod 1896 gearbeitet hat, wurden erst später verstanden. Doch der tiefreligiöse Bruckner hatte eine Vision seiner Musik, an der er trotz Anfeindungen festhielt: „Den Beethoven nannten sie seinerzeit das musikalische Schwein, er gehört ins Irrenhaus. Ich denke mir: nur hin, nur her, nur schreiben, nicht rechts, nicht links schauen (…) Die sollen schreien soviel sie wollen“, äußerte er einmal.

Max Bruch schuf mit Kol Nidrei op.47 ein Gegenstück zu seinem erfolgreichen Violinkonzert g-Moll op. 26, diesmal für Violoncello als Solopart. Für sein Stück hat Bruch jüdische Melodien herangezogen, darunter den traditionellen Bußgesang Kol Nidrei, der am Vorabend des Jom Kippur-Fests gesungen wird. „Beide Melodien lernte ich in Berlin kennen, wo ich bekanntlich im Verein viel mit den Kindern Israel zu thun hatte“, teilte Bruch einmal einem Freund mit.

Daniel Barenboim, der Elliott Carters Cellokonzert 2001 in Chicago uraufgeführt hat, widmet dieses Programm mit der Staatskapelle Berlin und der Cellistin Alisa Weilerstein dem Gedenken an Kurt Sanderling: Am 19. September 2012 ist der hundertste Geburtstag des großen Dirigenten, der im vergangenen Jahr in Berlin gestorben ist.

www.staatskapelle-berlin.de
www.alisaweislerstein.com

Max Bruch [1838-1920]
Kol Nidrei op. 47 [1880]

Elliott Carter [*1908]
Concerto for cello and orchestra [2000]

Anton Bruckner [1824-1896]
Symphonie Nr. 9 d-Moll [1887-1896]

Eine Veranstaltung der Staatsoper Unter den Linden
in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin