Dance & Performance

On Being Human as Praxis

Mitchener / Van Huynh / Yarde / Roberts / Hiendl / Davies / Lewis / MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik

What does it mean to be human? And what does it mean in our present time? Elaine Mitchener draws on feminist writings by Jamaican cultural theorist Sylvia Wynter to engage with these fundamental issues – and contrasts the European-colonial concept of humanity with a praxis of being human that needs to be learnt anew.

Elaine Mitchener

Elaine Mitchener

© Dimitri Djuric

The concept behind this project comes from the title of a collection of works by the Jamaican feminist writer and cultural theorist Sylvia Wynter which was edited by Katherine McKittrick. I find Wynter’s deep and critical insights on how race, geography, and time together inform what it means to be human completely inspirational.

Following conversations with the former Director of Donaueschinger Musiktage Björn Gottstein, in 2017, it was clear that I had to act on my understanding of the complex of ideas in Wynter’s work and present the results for the festival in 2020. Little did we know in 2017 that two years later a global pandemic would effectively stop the world in its tracks, cloaking us in silence, heightening our senses, reconnecting with our humanity.

My work is centred around encounter/engagement and enactment be it physical/emotional/political/spiritual, and is always an attempt to synthesise this experience for performer/observer (audience members). It was also vitally important for me to present a work that reflected the broad church that is contemporary new music in the 21st century. So I invited five composers from African-Diasporic and European backgrounds to compose works inspired by Wynter’s texts and ideas to be performed by myself and Ensemble MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik. Each work poses questions on what it means to be human, as well as the struggle between western ideas of “Man” v Human and how this struggle is fundamental to patterns of injustice throughout the world. The composers have responded by composing works on multiple levels encompassing numerous creative and intellectual modes of expression: hope, pain, joy …

In order to construct an hour-long performance where both myself and the ensemble would be physically working the space, I recruited my long-term collaborator, the Vietnamese-American choreographer/director Dam Van Huynh. Along with two members of his dance company, he has crafted and shaped space – what I view as the working mechanisms of the piece – and together with my vocal improvisations constructed a way to fuse the different pieces of the work together to create a coherent whole.

Our group have creatively responded to Wynter’s startling reconceptualization of the human and her attempts to rehistoricize humanness as praxis. The killing of George Floyd which sparked worldwide demonstrations in support of Black Lives Matter, Climate Change activism and social justice demonstrations, made the work even more prescient. This musical exploration of what it means to be human can also be experienced as an excavation of the self, removing our masks (existential and real in our (post?) Covid-19 world) and exposing the vulnerabilities and strengths to reset, restore, renew, rebalance. – Elaine Mitchener

“Human beings are magical. Bios and Logos. Words made flesh, muscle and bone animated by hope and desire, belief materialized in deeds, deeds which crystallize our actualities […] And the maps of spring always have to be redrawn again, in undared forms.” (Sylvia Wynter, 1995: 35, drawing on Aimé Césaire)

Programme

Live premiere

Jason Yarde
THE PROBLEM WITH HUMANS Volume 1 – An Overview From Under (2020)
for voice and ensemble

Matana Roberts
Gasping for air / considering your purpose / Dissolving (2020)
for voice and ensemble

Laure M. Hiendl
It’s Called White Radiance™ (the brand name) (2020)
for voice, ensemble and electronics

Tansy Davies
The Rule is Love (2019)
a song cycle for contralto and chamber ensemble
1. Music Began
2. High Priestess
3. Bios and Logos
4. Spinning in Infinity

George Lewis
H. narrans (2020)
for voice and ensemble

Cast

Elaine Mitchener concept, vocal soloist (contralto)
Dam Van Huynh choreographer, director
Ieva Navickaite dance
Tommaso Petrolo dance
Michael Picknett Lighting

MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik:

Heather Roche clarinet
Paul Hübner trumpet
Sabrina Ma drums
Sarah Saviet violin
Caleb Salgado double bass

A coproduction of Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik and the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program
Supported by Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

This project was commissioned by Donaueschinger Musiktage 2020 and has not yet been presented with a live audience.

Tanz & Performance

On Being Human as Praxis

Mitchener / Van Huynh / Yarde / Roberts / Hiendl / Davies / Lewis / MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik

Was bedeutet Menschsein? Und was bedeutet es in unserer heutigen Zeit? Ausgehend von den feministischen Schriften der jamaikanischen Kulturtheoretikerin Sylvia Wynter verhandelt Elaine Mitchener Grundlegendes – und stellt der europäisch-kolonialen Idee des Menschen eine neu zu erlernende Praxis des Menschlich-Seins gegenüber.

Elaine Mitchener

Elaine Mitchener

© Dimitri Djuric

Das Konzept dieses Projekts geht auf den Titel einer von Katherine McKittrick herausgegebenen Sammlung von Werken der jamaikanischen feministischen Schriftstellerin und Kulturtheoretikerin Sylvia Wynter zurück. Ich finde Wynters tiefe und kritische Einsichten, die beschreiben, wie Herkunft, Geographie und Zeit zusammen darüber Auskunft geben, was es bedeutet, Mensch zu sein, absolut inspirierend.

Nach Gesprächen mit dem ehemaligen Leiter der Donaueschinger Musiktage Björn Gottstein im Jahr 2017 wurde mir klar: Jetzt ist es an der Zeit, zu handeln und mein Verständnis des Gedankengebäudes in Wynter’s Werk bei der 2020er-Ausgabe des Festivals zu präsentieren. 2017 wusste noch niemand, dass zwei Jahre später eine globale Pandemie die Welt zum Stillstand bringen, uns in Schweigen hüllen, unsere Sinne schärfen und uns wieder mit unserer Menschlichkeit verbinden würde.

Meine Arbeit kreist um Begegnung, Teilhabe und Darstellung, sei es körperlich, emotional, politisch oder spirituell, und sie ist immer der Versuch, diese Erfahrung für Performer*innen und die Zuschauenden zu einer Synthese zu bringen. Für mich war es auch von entscheidender Bedeutung, ein Werk zu präsentieren, das die breite Öffentlichkeit der neuen Musik im 21. Jahrhundert widerspiegelt. Deshalb habe ich fünf Komponist*innen mit afrikanischem und europäischem Background eingeladen, Werke zu komponieren, die von Wynters Texten und Ideen inspiriert sind, und die von mir und dem Ensemble MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik aufgeführt werden. Jedes dieser Werke stellt Fragen: über die Bedeutung des Menschseins; über den Wettstreit zwischen den westlichen Vorstellungen von „Mensch“ vs. „menschlich“; über den Einfluss dieses Wettstreits auf die strukturelle Ungerechtigkeit in unserer Welt. Die Komponist*innen haben darauf reagiert, indem sie vielschichtige Werke komponiert haben, die zahlreiche kreative und intellektuelle Ausdrucksformen umfassen: Hoffnung, Schmerz, Freude ...

Um eine einstündige Aufführung zu konzipieren, bei der sowohl ich als auch das Ensemble im Raum agieren würden, zog ich meinen langjährigen Mitstreiter hinzu, den vietnamesisch-amerikanischen Choreografen und Regisseur Dam Van Huynh. Gemeinsam mit zwei Mitgliedern seiner Tanzkompanie hat er den Raum geschaffen und geformt – was ich als die Funktionsweise des Stückes ansehe – und so in Verbindung mit meinen Vokalimprovisationen ermöglicht, die verschiedenen Teile des Werkes zu einem kohärenten Ganzen zusammenzufügen.

Unsere Gruppe hat auf Wynters verblüffende Rekonzeptualisierung des Menschlichen und ihre Versuche, das Menschliche als Praxis zu rehistorisieren, kreativ reagiert. Die Tötung von George Floyd, die weltweite Demonstrationen zur Unterstützung von Black Lives Matter in Gang setzte, der Klimaaktivismus sowie die Demonstrationen für soziale Gerechtigkeit machten das Werk noch aktueller. Die musikalische Erforschung des Menschseins kann auch als eine Freilegung des Selbst erlebt werden, indem wir unsere Masken (die in unserer (Post?-)Covid-19-Welt existentiell und real sind) abnehmen und unsere Verwundbarkeiten und Stärken offenlegen: um sie zurückzunehmen, wiederherzustellen, zu erneuern und wieder ins Gleichgewicht zu bringen. – Elaine Mitchener

„Menschliche Wesen sind magisch. Bios und Logos. Worte machen Fleisch, Muskeln und Knochen, animiert von Hoffnung und Verlangen, Glauben materialisiert als Taten, Taten, die unsere Aktualitäten kristallisieren. [...] Und die Karten der Quelle müssen immer neu gezeichnet werden, in ungewagten Formen.“ (Sylvia Winter, 1995: 35, in Anlehnung an Aimé Césaire)

Programm

Live-Premiere

Jason Yarde
THE PROBLEM WITH HUMANS Volume 1 – An Overview From Under (2020)
für Stimme und Ensemble

Matana Roberts
Gasping for air / considering your purpose / Dissolving (2020)
für Stimme und Ensemble

Laure M. Hiendl
It’s Called White Radiance™ (the brand name) (2020)
für Stimme, Ensemble und Elektronik

Tansy Davies
The Rule is Love (2019)
ein Liedzyklus für Altstimme und Kammerensemble
1. Music Began
2. High Priestess
3. Bios and Logos
4. Spinning in Infinity

George Lewis
H. narrans (2020)
für Stimme und Ensemble

Besetzung

Elaine Mitchener Gesamtkonzept, Vokalsolistin (Alt)
Dam Van Huynh Choreografie, Regie
Ieva Navickaite Tanz
Tommaso Petrolo Tanz
Michael Picknett Lichtdesign

MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik:

Heather Roche Klarinette
Paul Hübner Trompete
Sabrina Ma Schlagzeug
Sarah Saviet Violine
Caleb Salgado Kontrabass

Eine Koproduktion von Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik und des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD
Gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR.

Das Projekt wurde von den Donaueschinger Musiktagen 2020 in Auftrag gegeben und ist bisher noch nicht live vor Publikum präsentiert worden.