Concert

Riot Ensemble

Gísladóttir / Thurley / Morgan-Williams / Paxton

Playfully, versatile, poetic: Riot Ensemble performs four compositions – by Bára Gísladóttir, Bethan Morgan-Williams, Alex Paxton and Oliver Thurley.

Riot Ensemble

Riot Ensemble

© Matthew Johnson

“Animals of your pasture” by Bára Gísladóttir is based on the thought of all kinds of animals existing together in a flock that functions as an organism on its own. The piece plays with the idea of following this flock from various angles and views (close-up, extreme long shot, in focus, out of focus, in fragments, slow motion, etc.) on various occasions like running over endless miles of prairies, fighting, dancing, napping or singing. This concept is intertwined with an unclear thought where wild chaos is allowed to be wild chaos, with no parts stepping in to take or gain control, with no attempts to structure or systemise something that just is . The title itself, and two of the movement titles, are borrowed from Hilda Hilst’s “With my Dog-Eyes” which Gísladóttir was genuinely influenced by while writing the piece.

Oliver Thurleys “the heart is a knot” stands for trepidation, delicate touch, the grain of flesh and bow and softly traced harmonic lines. The performance focuses on the microscopic detail and boundaries of unstable harmonics. The double bassist Marianne Schofield entangles herself in points of friction, tremors, turbulence and the grain of a body moving with the instrument. The entire piece is tranquil and located in the space between the end of the fingerboard and the bridge. Pitches are not explicitly notated in the score. Instead, pitch zones act as areas in which to navigate various stable, unstable and dead points. For each string, this space is divided into three approximate zones: low, medium, and high.

With the title “Gêmdis”, Bethan Morgan-Williams combines the Welsh words for “game” and “dice”. The work moves through a series of different moods, with some returning cyclically, thus defining the pieces’ structural foundations. There are five “beginnings”. This beginning material is frantic and ferocious but is followed by a playful, more fragile version of itself. How this delicate, giocoso-type material evolves is different each time. Sometimes it simply drifts away; other times, it grows into a new and distinct “substance”. These newly-developed “substances” present juxtaposing eventualities in connection with the opening material while giving space and depth to the piece as a whole.

Alex Paxton and Riot Ensemble first collaborated in a co-commission for “Shrimp BIT babyface” at Klangspuren Schwaz 2022. On the back of this premiere, Riot and Alex will now join forces on stage for the first time. In this new commission for MaerzMusik 2023, Alex Paxton will perform as a soloist and take full advantage of Riot Ensemble’s instrumentation – using both percussionists and three keyboards inside a large ensemble that builds into a wall of live and electroacoustic sound that embodies all the usual energy and virtuosic demands of his music.

Programme

Bára Gísladóttir (*1989)
Animals of your Pasture
for ensemble (2021)

Oliver Thurley
the heart is a knot
double bass, entangled
for Marianne, quietly, a soft glaze. (2021)

Bethan Morgan-Williams (*1992)
Gêmdis (2020)

Alex Paxton (*1990)
New work commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik
World premiere

Cast

Riot Ensemble
Alex Paxton solo trombone
Aaron Holloway-Nahum conductor

With friendly support of the

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung and the null

Konzert

Riot Ensemble

Gísladóttir / Thurley / Morgan-Williams / Paxton

Spielerisch, vielseitig, poetisch: Das Riot Ensemble präsentiert vier Kompositionen von Bára Gísladóttir, Bethan Morgan-Williams, Alex Paxton und Oliver Thurley.

Riot Ensemble

Riot Ensemble

© Matthew Johnson

Der Ausgangspunkt für Bára Gísladóttirs „Animals of your Pasture“ ist die Idee, dass alle existierenden Tierarten gemeinsam in einer Herde leben, die als eigenständiger Organismus funktioniert. Die Komposition spielt mit der Vorstellung, diese Herde in verschiedenen Situationen aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln und Einstellungen (Nahaufnahme, extreme Totale, scharf, unscharf, fragmentarisch, in Zeitlupe …) zu beobachten: beim Laufen durch endlose Prärien, beim Kämpfen, Tanzen, Schlafen oder Singen. Dieses Konzept ist mit dem unbestimmten Gedanken verwoben, dem Chaos zu erlauben, chaotisch zu sein – ohne Kontrollinstanz und ohne den Versuch, etwas zu strukturieren oder zu systematisieren, das einfach existiert. Der Titel des Werks sowie die Bezeichnungen zweier Sätze sind Hilda Hilsts Buch „With my Dog-Eyes“ entnommen, von dem Gísladóttir beim Komponieren des Stücks stark beeinflusst war.

Oliver Thurleys „the heart is a knot“ verkörpert Beklemmung, zarte Berührung, die Struktur eines Körpers und Streicherbogens sowie weich gezogene, harmonische Linien. Die Aufführung konzentriert sich auf die mikroskopischen Details und Grenzen einer instabilen Harmonik. Kontrabassistin Marianne Schofield verfängt sich in Momenten von Reibung, Erschütterung, Turbulenzen und der Textur eines sich mit dem Instrument bewegenden Körpers. Das Stück ist geprägt von Ruhe und in dem Raum zwischen dem Ende des Griffbretts und dem Steg angesiedelt. Die Tonhöhen sind in der Partitur nicht explizit notiert. Stattdessen fungieren Tonhöhenzonen als Bereiche, in denen verschiedene stabile, instabile und tote Punkte durchlaufen werden können. Für jede Saite wird dieser Raum in drei ungefähre Zonen unterteilt: tief, mittel und hoch.

Im Titel ihrer Arbeit „Gêmdis“ verknüpft Bethan Morgan-Williams die walisischen Wörter für Spiel und Würfel. Das Werk durchläuft eine Reihe unterschiedlicher Stimmungen, von denen einige zyklisch wiederkehren und so die Grundstruktur des Stücks markieren. Es gibt fünf „Anfänge“. Dieses Anfangsmaterial ist hektisch und wild, wird allerdings von einer spielerischen und fragileren Version seiner selbst abgelöst. Wie sich dieses zarte, giocoso-hafte Material entwickelt, verhält sich jedes Mal anders. Manchmal driftet es einfach ab, dann wieder wächst es zu einer neuen und eigenständigen „Substanz“ heran. Diese neu entwickelten „Substanzen“ stellen verschiedene Möglichkeiten in Bezug auf das Ausgangsmaterial dar und geben dem Stück als Ganzem Raum und Tiefe.

Alex Paxton und das Riot Ensemble arbeiteten erstmals im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Auftrags für „Shrimp BIT babyface“ bei Klangspuren Schwaz 2022 zusammen. Daran anknüpfend werden das Riot Ensemble und Paxton nun erstmals gemeinsam auf der Bühne stehen. In diesem neuen Auftragswerk für MaerzMusik 2023 wird Paxton selbst als Solist auftreten und die instrumentalen Möglichkeiten des Riot Ensemble in vollem Umfang ausnutzen (zwei Schlagzeuger, drei Keyboards), um eine Kaskade aus Live- und elektroakustischen Klängen aufzubauen, die die gewohnte Energie und die virtuosen Anforderungen seiner Musik unterstützen.

Programm

Bára Gísladóttir (*1989)
Animals of your Pasture
für Ensemble (2021)

Oliver Thurley
the heart is a knot
für Kontrabass („entangled“)
for Marianne, quietly, a soft glaze. (2021)

Bethan Morgan-Williams (*1992)
Gêmdis (2020)

Alex Paxton (*1990)
Neue Arbeit im Auftrag von Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik
Uraufführung

Besetzung

Riot Ensemble
Alex Paxton Posaune solo
Aaron Holloway-Nahum Dirigent

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung und von null