Exhibition

Portraits of Viennese

A Homage in the Spirit of Nestroy

28 October to 5 December 2004

Many of the works of photographers working in Vienna reflect the mentality characteristic of the popular comedies of the famous Austrian satirist Johann Nestroy (1801-1862). It is in the individual, often “crypto-ethnographic” methods and the critical ironic view with which the Viennese photographers regard their for the most part anonymous fellow citizens where Nestroy’s spirit and view of mankind are most clearly mirrored. His mocking, sometimes malicious intentions and ability to ferret out hidden and familiar human weaknesses seem to come alive in these works once again. This perception informs the exhibition “Pictures of the Viennese”.

Almost all of the photos selected display a high degree of ironic distance, a Nestroyan heritage, as it were, for in their typological series, their reportages and also in the individual pictures, the pictures document social realities, and sometimes psychical borderline situations or social fringe elements.

The show, put together from the collection of the Department of Culture of the City of Vienna (“Museum auf Abruf”), is to be understood in the spirit of Nestroy as a homage to the people of Vienna, a fresh attempt, this time by means of photographs, to document the anonymous Viennese in their variety, their wit, their peculiarity, their contradictions, but also in their charm and amiability.

Represented in the exhibition are the photographers Andreas Baumann, Heinz Cibulka, Sepp Dreissinger, Marianne Greber, Franz Hubmann, Leo Kandl, Nikolaus Korab, Barbara Krobath, Erich Lessing, Ernst Logar, Reinhard Mandl, Emil Mayer, Marcelo Perocco, Josef Polleross, Cora Pongracz, Didi Sattmann, Curt Stenvert, Christian Wachter, Harry Weber and Flora Zimmeter.

Organizer: Museumspädagogischer Dienst MD Berlin
On the occasion of the “Month of Photography”

Ausstellung

Bilder von Wienern - Fotografien

Eine Hommage im Geiste Nestroys

28. Oktober bis 5. Dezember 2004

In zahlreichen Werken von in Wien arbeitenden Fotografen spiegelt sich jene Mentalität wider, die auch den Volkskomödien des großen österreichischen Satirikers Johann Nestroy (1801-1862) zu eigen ist. Es sind die individuellen, oft „krypto-ethnografischen“ Methoden, es ist der kritisch-ironische Blick, mit dem sich die Wiener Dokumentationsfotografen ihren meist anonymen Mitbürgern zuwenden, worin ganz offenbar Nestroys Geist und seine Sicht des Menschen nach wie vor Gültigkeit haben. Seine spöttischen, auch von deftiger Bosheit geleiteten Intentionen, seine Fähigkeit, versteckte und vertraute menschliche Schwächen aufzuspüren, scheinen dort weiter zu leben. Aus dieser Erkenntnis entstand die Ausstellung „Bilder von Wienern“.

Fast alle ausgewählten Fotografen verfügen über ein hohes Maß an ironischer Distanz, gleichsam ein nestroysches Erbe, denn in ihren typologischen Serien, ihren Reportagen und auch in Einzelbildern dokumentieren sie gesellschaftliche Realitäten, bisweilen psychische Grenzsituationen oder soziale Randzonen.

Die Schau, zusammengestellt aus der Sammlung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien (Museum auf Abruf), war im Sinne Johann Nestroys als Hommage an die Menschen dieser Stadt zu verstehen, als neuerlicher Versuch, diesmal von Fotografen, den anonymen Wiener in seiner Vielfalt, seinem Witz, seiner Absonderlichkeit, seinen Widersprüchen, aber auch in seiner Liebenswürdigkeit zu dokumentieren.

In der Ausstellung waren mit Arbeiten vertreten:
Andreas Baumann, Heinz Cibulka, Sepp Dreissinger, Marianne Greber, Franz Hubmann, Leo Kandl, Nikolaus Korab, Barbara Krobath, Erich Lessing, Ernst Logar, Reinhard Mandl, Emil Mayer, Marcelo Perocco, Josef Polleross, Cora Pongracz, Didi Sattmann, Curt Stenvert, Christian Wachter, Harry Weber, Flora Zimmeter

Veranstalter: Museumspädagogischer Dienst MD Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum auf Abruf (Kulturabteilung des Magistrats der Stadt Wien)
Im Rahmen des „Monats der Fotografie“.