Günther Uecker

Twenty Chapters

11 March to 6 June 2005

Poster of the exhibition “Günther Uecker – Twenty Chapters”

Poster of the exhibition “Günther Uecker – Twenty Chapters”

Design: Steenbrink Vormgeving, Berlin

Günther Uecker is one of the important German artists of the second half of the 20th century who continues to work with unflagging intensity and he is one of the few who have enjoyed uninterrupted international recognition. The fact that his works are collected and exhibited by both Western and Eastern museums can not only be seen as a mark of quality; it also has to do with his vita and the universal validity of his art which has grown out of his humanistic sense of values.

Born in 1930 in Mecklenburg, the artist came from the GDR to the Federal Republic in 1955 at an early age and studied at the Düsseldorf art academy, where he later worked as a professor until retiring in 1995. By the late 1950s Uecker was at the forefront of international artistic innovation as, among other things, a member of the legendary avant-garde group ZERO. With a radical transformation from painted panels to nail objects he managed to find a tool suited to his artistic intentions (as well as a trademark that has never left him), with which he commenced his ever increasing preoccupation with natural means in producing his art. Uecker has participated in major exhibitions since the middle of the 1960s, such as the Biennale in Venice and the documenta, and has been awarded numerous prizes, including the Imperial Ring of the City of Goslar. He has recently been named a member of the Pour le Mérite Order in Berlin.

The theme of his works in the 1980s and 1990s was always the “vulnerability of people at the hands of people”, as he himself put it. His awareness of the dangers to which nature and people are exposed has led him to produce very disturbing sculptures and installations that touch on existential aspects of our lives.

Berlin, a city searching for a new role in promoting understanding between East and West, is an ideal venue for this long overdue retrospective of Uecker’s work and tribute to the life’s work of one of the really great “all-German” artists on the occasion of his 75th birthday.

The exhibition consists of 20 chapters. 19 of them will be displayed in the Martin-Gropius-Bau in 18 rooms of the ground floor (and the atrium). Divided into thematic groups, they comprise outstanding examples from five decades of his work that trace Uecker’s artistic development. Chapter 20 will be on display from 20 April 2005 in the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin. The tour will present the following series of works, among others: early drawings, light media, permutations, nailed objects, structure fields and progressions, kinetics, “blackspace-whitespace”, sand spirals, “On the Silence of Writing”, “Black Mesa”, ash pictures and tree objects, violations and connections, cloth objects, “Letter to Peking”, nailed painting, dialogue of cultures and new current works.

The exhibition consists of loans of the highest quality from public and private collections as well as of objects from the artist’s own collection, some of which have never been exhibited.

Catalogues

Günther Uecker – Twenty Chapters
Günther Uecker – Watercolours
Ed.: Alexander Tolnay, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
Texts: Alexander Dückers, Alexander Tolnay
96 pages, approx. 50 colour illustrations
Hatje Cantz Verlag, € 19

Organizer: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in cooperation with the Neue Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.
Made possible by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin
Principal sponsor: Deutsche Bank AG
Curator: Alexander Tolnay, Berlin

Ausstellung

Günther Uecker

Zwanzig Kapitel

11. März bis 6. Juni 2005

Plakat zur Ausstellung „Günther Uecker – Zwanzig Kapitel“

Plakat zur Ausstellung „Günther Uecker – Zwanzig Kapitel“

Gestaltung: Steenbrink Vormgeving, Berlin

Günther Uecker zählt zu den wichtigsten, mit unveränderter Intensität arbeitenden deutschen Künstlern der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts und den wenigen, die in dieser Zeit kontinuierlich internationale Anerkennung gefunden haben. Dass seine Werke von westlichen wie östlichen Museen gleichermaßen gesammelt und ausgestellt wurden, ist nicht nur als Gütezeichen von Qualität zu werten, sondern hat auch mit seiner Vita und mit der auf einem humanistischen Lebensideal beruhenden Allgemeingültigkeit seiner Kunst zu tun.

Der 1930 in Mecklenburg geborene Künstler kam 1955 als junger Mensch aus der DDR in die Bundesrepublik und studierte an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie, wo er später bis zu seiner Emeritierung 1995 auch als Professor tätig war. Bereits Ende der 1950er Jahre stand Uecker, u.a. als Mitglied der legendären Avantgarde-Gruppe ZERO, in den vorderen Reihen der internationalen Kunsterneuerung. Mit dem radikalen Wechsel vom gemalten Tafelbild zum Nagel-Objekt gelang es ihm, ein seinen künstlerischen Absichten gemäßes Werkzeug zu finden (nebenbei auch ein seitdem an ihm haftendes Markenzeichen), womit er seine in den Folgejahren immer intensivere Hinwendung zu naturhaften Arbeitsmitteln in der Kunst einleitete. Seit Mitte der 1960er Jahre war Uecker beteiligt an wichtigen Großausstellungen, wie an der Biennale Venedig oder der documenta, und erhielt zahlreiche Preise, wie den Kaiserring der Stadt Goslar. Er ist auch Mitglied im Orden „Pour le Mérite“.

Das Thema seiner Werke in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren war stets die „Verletzbarkeit der Menschen durch den Menschen“, wie er es selbst formulierte. Das Wissen um das Gefährdetsein von Natur und Mensch führte ihn zu betroffen machenden Bildwerken und Installationen, die existenzielle Aspekte unseres Lebens berühren.

Gerade Berlin, eine Stadt, die ihre neue Rolle in der Ost-West-Verständigung sucht, war prädestiniert, die längst fällige Retrospektive Ueckers auszurichten und damit das Lebenswerk eines der ganz großen „gesamtdeutschen“ Künstler anlässlich seines 75. Geburtstages zu würdigen.

Die Ausstellung bestand aus 20 Kapiteln. 19 dieser Kapitel wurden im Martin-Gropius-Bau gezeigt, aufgeteilt in thematische Gruppierungen, mit herausragenden Beispielen aus fünf Jahrzehnten, die den künstlerischen Weg Ueckers nachzeichnen. Kapitel 20 war ab dem 20. April 2005 in der Neuen Nationalgalerie zu sehen. Die Ausstellung besand aus hochkarätigen Leihgaben öffentlicher und privater Sammlungen sowie teils noch nie gezeigten Exponaten aus dem Besitz des Künstlers. Zur Ausstellung wurde ein breit gefächertes Begleitprogramm mit Führungen, Vorträgen, Gesprächen, Filmvorführungen und spezieller Betreuung von Besuchergruppen angeboten.

Veranstalter: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in Zusammenarbeit der Neuen Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. Ermöglicht durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds.
Hauptsponsor Deutsche Bank AG.
Kurator: Alexander Tolnay, Berlin