Dance

Erna Ómarsdóttir

Erna Ómarsdóttir / Reykjavik
“We saw monsters”
A choreographic piece involving monsters, death and devils
German premiere

We saw monsters

We saw monsters

© Bjarni Grimsson

  • Length 1h 30, no interval

Past Dates

Artist talk
07 October 2012, following the performance

Concert
“Lazyblood” (Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson)
06 October 2012, 22:00, Sophiensaele, foyer

Monster, fairy, angel and devil: all these descriptions have been applied to the Icelandic dancer and force of nature, Erna Ómarsdóttir. On the stage of “We saw monsters”, Erna and her troupe fling themselves about on stage in a mixture of rock concert, horror film, danse macabre and orgy. To the music of Valdimar Jóhannsson (who plays in a heavy metal band called Lazyblood together with Erna Ómarsdóttir) two blonde sisters in knee-high socks dance over specular surfaces of water, death seduces his victim, forests flourish like paradise, rivers of blood flow, and hands fly through the air. There is masturbation, transvestism, nudity, incest, torture and self-destruction. Dance, music and visual art combine to form opulent, symbolic images, and grace and violence go hand in hand. Monsters, says Erna Ómarsdóttir, are created in our heads out of fear of nature, darkness, the unknown and death. They are the dark side of our rationality.

Artistic Director Erna Ómarsdóttir
Concept Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson
Music Valdimar Jóhannsson
Costume design Gabríela Friđriksdóttir, Hrafnhildur Hólmgeirsdóttir
Dramaturgy Karen María Jónsdóttir
Lighting design Larus Björnsson, Sylvain Rausa
Sound Lieven Dousselaere
Head of production Esther Welger-Barboza

With
Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson, Sigríđur Soffía Níelsdóttir, Sigtryggur Berg Sigmarsson, Ásgeir Helgi Magnússon, Lovísa Ósk Gunnarsdóttir

A production of shalala ehf, in coproduction with La Biennale di Venezia, Berliner Festspiele / Foreign Affairs, CNDC Centra national de danse contemporaine Angers as part of “accueil studio/Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication”, National Theatre Iceland, Reykjavíks Arts Festival and the city of Kópavogur.

With support of ENPARTS – European Network of Performing Arts / Biennale di Venezia as part of the culture programme of the European Commission, the Icelandic Ministry of Culture, WP Zimmer / Antwerp, PAF and CC De Warande in Turnhout

Tanz

Erna Ómarsdóttir

Erna Ómarsdóttir / Reykjavik
„We saw monsters“
Eine Choreografie für Monster, Tod und Teufel
Deutsche Erstaufführung

We saw monsters

We saw monsters

© Bjarni Grimsson

  • Dauer 1h 30, keine Pause

Vergangene Termine

Artist Talk
07. Oktober 2012, im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

Konzert
„Lazyblood“ (Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson)
06. Oktober 2012, 22:00 Uhr, Sophiensaele, Foyer

Monster, Fee, Engel und Teufel, so ist die isländische Tänzerin Erna Ómarsdóttir beschrieben worden: eine Naturgewalt. Auf der Bühne von „We saw monsters“ stürzt sich dieses Element namens Erna mit ihrer Truppe in eine Mischung aus Rockkonzert und Horrorfilm, Totentanz und Orgie. Zur Musik von Valdimar Jóhannsson (mit dem Erna Ómarsdóttir zusammen in der Heavy Metal Band Lazyblood spielt) tanzen zwei blonde Schwestern in Kniestrümpfen über spiegelnde Flächen, verführt der Tod sein Opfer, wuchern die paradiesischen Wälder, fließt jede Menge Blut, fliegen Hände durch die Luft, gibt es Masturbation, Travestie, Nacktheit, Inzest, Folter und Selbstzerstörung. Tanz, Musik, bildende Kunst verbinden sich zu opulent-symbolistischen Bildern, Grazie und Gewalt gehen Hand in Hand. Monster, sagt Erna Ómarsdóttir, entstehen in unserem Kopf, aus Angst vor Natur, Dunkelheit, dem Unbekannten, dem Tod. Sie sind der Albtraum unserer Vernunft.

Künstlerische Leitung Erna Ómarsdóttir
Konzept Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson
Musik Valdimar Jóhannsson
Kostüme Gabríela Friđriksdóttir, Hrafnhildur Hólmgeirsdóttir
Dramaturgie Karen María Jónsdóttir
Lichtdesign Larus Björnsson, Sylvain Rausa
Ton Lieven Dousselaere
Produktionsleitung Esther Welger-Barboza

Mit
Erna Ómarsdóttir, Valdimar Jóhannsson, Sigríđur Soffía Níelsdóttir, Sigtryggur Berg Sigmarsson, Ásgeir Helgi Magnússon, Lovísa Ósk Gunnarsdóttir

Eine Produktion von shalala ehf in Koproduktion mit La Biennale di Venezia, Berliner Festspiele / Foreign Affairs, CNDC Centre national de danse contemporaine Angers im Rahmen von „accueil studio/Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication“, Isländisches Nationaltheater, Reykjavíks Arts Festival und der Stadt Kópavogur

Mit Unterstützung von ENPARTS – European Network of Performing Arts / Biennale di Venezia im Rahmen des Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Kommission, des isländischen Kulturministeriums, WP Zimmer / Antwerpen, PAF und CC De Warande in Turnhout