Hartmut Geerken / Christian Brückner

© Wilfried Petzi / Uwe Tölle

Jazz & Poetry

Famoudou Don Moye · Hartmut Geerken / Christian Brückner & The Lone World Trio

Jazz & Poetry

Since decades the organic alliance of spoken word and improvised sound has been a challenge for the jazz world. Hartmut Geerken is predestinated for this high aim because he is a poet, a musician and a researcher in one person. As a percussionist and sound artist, he has been touring with John Tchicai and Sun Ra amongst others.

Famoudou Don Moye is the famed long-time drummer of the Art Ensemble of Chicago and also works in other projects where he acts as the director of spectacular sound performances – with an emphasis on the dialogue between the living and the ancestors.
The duo Geerken/Moye promises an alluring show with contemporary poetry and sonic magic from ancient times.

Hartmut Geerken homepage
Famoudou Don Moye @ Wikipedia

__________

He is the German voice of Robert De Niro, and has – with his unmistakable timbre – also dubbed actors like Warren Beatty, Peter Fonda or Harvey Keitel, to name a few. Sometimes his powerful yet empathic synchronisations are so convincing that they threaten to outshine the originals.
Christian Brückner always had a soft spot for jazz and has worked with big outfits like the WDR Big Band as well as with intimate ensembles often including his son, guitarist Kai Brückner. In this recent version of his project Brückner Beat he gathers three main players of the contemporary Berlin jazz scene.

Christian Brückner @ IMDB
Frank Möbus homepage
Jan von Klewitz @ Wikipedia (German only)

Famoudou Don Moye · Hartmut Geerken
Famoudou Don Moye, drums, percussion
Hartmut Geerken, poetry, various instruments

Brückner Beat
Christian Brückner & The Lone World Trio

Christian Brückner, voice
Frank Möbus, guitar
Johannes Gunkel, bass
Jan von Klewitz, sax

Hartmut Geerken / Christian Brückner

© Wilfried Petzi / Uwe Tölle

Jazz & Poetry

Famoudou Don Moye · Hartmut Geerken / Christian Brückner & The Lone World Trio

Jazz & Poetry

Seit Jahrzehnten gehört die organische Verbindung von gesprochenem Wort und improvisiertem Klang zu den speziellen Herausforderungen des Jazz. Hartmut Geerken ist für diese Aufgabe prädestiniert, denn er begreift sich als Dichter, Musiker und Forscher. Als Perkussionist und Klangerfinder war er unter anderem mit Sun Ra und John Tchicai unterwegs.

Famoudou Don Moye ist nicht nur langjähriger Drummer des Art Ensemble of Chicago, er versteht sich auch in anderen Projekten als Regisseur spektakulärer Klanginszenierungen im fortwährenden Dialog der Lebenden mit den Vorfahren. Im Duo von Geerken und Moye gehen aktuelle Poesie und Jahrtausende alte Klangmagie eine verführerische Liaison ein.

Hartmut Geerken Homepage
Famoudou Don Moye bei Wikipedia

__________

Er ist die deutsche Stimme von Robert De Niro, aber auch Warren Beatty, Peter Fonda und Harvey Keitel hat Christian Brückner sein unverwechselbares Timbre verliehen. Seine charakterstarken Synchronisationen sind so einfühlsam, dass die Originale im Vergleich zuweilen regelrecht zu verblassen scheinen.
Seit jeher hat Brückner auch ein Faible für den Jazz. Er hat mit großen Ensembles wie der WDR Big Band gearbeitet, aber auch mit kleineren Besetzungen, an denen oft sein Sohn, der Gitarrist Kai Brückner beteiligt war. In der aktuellen Version von Brückner Beat umgibt er sich mit drei Hauptvertretern der gegenwärtigen Berliner Jazz-Szene.

Christian Brückner bei IMDB
Frank Möbus Homepage
Jan von Klewitz bei Wikipedia

Famoudou Don Moye · Hartmut Geerken
Famoudou Don Moye, drums, percussion
Hartmut Geerken, poetry, various instruments

Brückner Beat
Christian Brückner & The Lone World Trio

Christian Brückner, voice
Frank Möbus, guitar
Johannes Gunkel, bass
Jan von Klewitz, sax