Theatre

Peepshow

A play by Marie Brassard

Peepshow

Peepshow

© David Clermont-Béique

  • 1 h 25 min, without interval
  • In English

Past Dates

We would like to point out that Marie Brassard’s “Peepshow” doesn’t have anything to do with the play “Peepshow” by George Tabori which was written in 1984 for the Bochumer Schauspielhaus.

12 January after the performance app. 21:45, Kassenhalle
Brigitte Fürle talks to Marie Brassard
In English

Marie Brassard is Little Red Riding Hood, among other things. In a breathtaking kaleidoscope of intimate stories about temptation, flirtation and broken hearts she leads us into unfathomed landscapes of sexual fantasies, radical manipulation of the body and hallucinogenic drugs, working with sound to defamiliarize her manifold characters. As a «poetic documenter and chronicler of parallel worlds» she researches the phenomenon of social taboo against the backdrop of a society that is marked by religious fundamentalism.

“People would look amazing if when they met other people it would leave marks on their bodies. Their faces would bear the traces of all the kisses, all the bites, and all the hands that ran through their hair. People would be beautiful. They would be wearing the marks of others for everyone to see.”
Marie Brassard

With her multimedia Peepshow Marie Brassard presents her third solo project at Berliner Festspiele. In 2002 and 2003 she already presented Jimmy and La Noirceur at the Festwochen.

Cast

Written and directed by Marie Brassard
Sound Design and Music Alexander MacSween
Stage and Lighting Design Simon Guilbault

With Marie Brassard and Alexander MacSween

Production Infrarouge, Montréal
Coproduction with spielzeiteuropa | Berliner Festspiele, Harbourfront Centre Toronto, Festival de théâtre des Amériques Montréal, Le Théâtre français du Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa, Göteborg Dance & Theatre Festival and Wiener Festwochen
Supported by the Canadian Embassy and the representation of the government of Québec

Theater

Peepshow

Ein Stück von Marie Brassard

Peepshow

Peepshow

© David Clermont-Béique

  • 1 h 25 min, ohne Pause
  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Wir weisen darauf hin, dass Marie Brassards „Peepshow“ nichts mit dem Theaterstück „Peepshow“ zu tun hat, das George Tabori 1984 für das Bochumer Schauspielhaus geschriebenen und uraufgeführt hat und das seither vielfach an anderen Theatern gespielt worden ist.

12. Januar im Anschluss an die Vorstellung ca. 21:45, Kassenhalle
Brigitte Fürle im Gespräch mit Marie Brassard
in englischer Sprache

Marie Brassard ist Rotkäppchen, unter anderem. In einem atemberaubenden Kaleidoskop intimer Geschichten über Versuchungen, Flirts und gebrochene Herzen entführt sie, soundtechnisch verfremdet zu verschiedensten Figuren, in unerforschte Landschaften sexueller Phantasien, radikaler Körper-Manipulationen und halluzinogener Drogen. Als „poetische Dokumentaristin und Chronistin paralleler Wirklichkeiten“ erforscht sie das Phänomen sozialer Tabus vor dem Hintergrund einer von religiösen Fundamentalismen geprägten Gesellschaft.

„People would look amazing if when they met other people it would leave marks on their bodies. Their faces would bear the traces of all the kisses, all the bites, and all the hands that ran through their hair. People would be beautiful. They would be wearing the marks of others for everyone to see.“
Marie Brassard

„Eine Frau auf der Bühne genügt, bloß die Stimme wird am Mischpult live verändert – und wir sind gebannt: Das Phantasiegespinst aus Märchen und Sehnsucht, aus Traum und Alptraum berührt und betört.“
Die Welt

Mit ihrer multimedialen Peepshow ist Marie Brassard bereits zum dritten Mal mit einem Soloprojekt bei den Berliner Festspielen zu Gast. Im Rahmen der Festwochen zeigte sie hier 2002 Jimmy, créature de rêve und 2003 La Noirceur.

Besetzung

Text und Regie Marie Brassard
Sounddesign und Musik Alexander MacSween
Bühne und Lichtdesign Simon Guilbault

Mit Marie Brassard und Alexander MacSween

Produktion Infrarouge, Montréal
In Koproduktion mit spielzeiteuropa | Berliner Festspiele, Harbourfront Centre Toronto, Festival de théâtre des Amériques Montréal, Le Théâtre français du Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa, Göteborg Dance & Theatre Festival und Wiener Festwochen
Unterstützt von der Botschaft von Kanada und der Vertretung der Regierung von Québec