Auditorium during the Berlinale

The auditorium during the Berlinale

© Berliner Festspiele

Film

63rd Berlin International Film Festival

In 2013, the Haus der Berliner Festspiele will be the venue for Competition, Berlinale Special and the new special series “NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema”.

The 2013 Berlinale will see the launch of a special series devoted to the cinematic story-telling of Indigenous peoples worldwide: “NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema.” The programme will introduce audiences to the milestones of Indigenous filmmaking and includes features, documentaries and short films.

With the help of Indigenous film experts, curator Maryanne Redpath is putting together a diverse programme which will be shown at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Discussions between experts, filmmakers and audiences before and following the films will give greater insight into the culturally diverse and politically, economically and artistically charged history of Indigenous cinema and its creators.

The regional focus of the first year’s programme will be on the four pillars of Indigenous cinematic culture: Australia, New Zealand/Oceania, Canada and the United States. The special series will also draw attention to Indigenous film productions in all of the Festival's sections and sidebars.

With NATIVe, the Berlinale aims to show its appreciation of Indigenous cinematic heritage and demonstrate its relevance beyond tribe and nation.

Information about the Festival and the programm at www.berlinale.de
All films in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Zuschauerraum während der Berlinale

Der Zuschauerraum während der Berlinale

© Berliner Festspiele

Film

63. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin

Das Haus der Berliner Festspiele ist 2013 Veranstaltungsort für die Wettbewerbswiederholungen, Berlinale Special und die neue Sonderreihe „NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema“.

Die Sonderreihe „NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema“ ist eine Initiative der Berlinale und widmet sich ab der Berlinale 2013 den filmischen Erzählungen indigener Völker auf der ganzen Welt. In einem Programm aus Spiel-, Dokumentar- und Kurzfilmen werden Meilensteine indigenen Filmschaffens präsentiert.

Beraten von Experten der indigenen Filmkultur stellt die Kuratorin Maryanne Redpath ein vielfältiges Programm zusammen, das im Haus der Berliner Festspiele gezeigt wird. Gespräche vor und nach den Filmen zwischen Experten, Filmschaffenden und Publikum bieten die Möglichkeit, die kulturell vielfältige, politisch, wirtschaftlich und künstlerisch geladene Geschichte des indigenen Kinos und seiner Macher sichtbar und erlebbar zu machen.

Der regionale Fokus liegt im ersten Jahr auf den Grundpfeilern indigener Filmkultur: Australien, Neuseeland/Ozeanien, Kanada und die USA. Darüber hinaus wird die Sonderreihe auf aktuelle indigene Filmproduktionen in allen Festivalsektionen aufmerksam machen.

Die Berlinale zeigt mit diesem Programm ihre Wertschätzung des indigenen Filmerbes und demonstriert dessen Relevanz über Stammes- und Landesgrenzen hinaus.

Informationen zum Festival und zum genauen Programm finden Sie unter www.berlinale.de
Alle Filme im Haus der Berliner Festspiele